Late for Tea at the Deer Palace: The Lost Dreams of My Iraqi Family

Note moyenne 3,69
( 275 avis fournis par Goodreads )
 
9780061240409: Late for Tea at the Deer Palace: The Lost Dreams of My Iraqi Family

“It’s an admirable endeavour to have Iraq addressed by someone who is in so many ways able to approach it from two worlds. . . . Tamara Chalabi has the stuff, in every sense, that is needful to undertake this.” —Christopher Hitchens

In the tradition of Jung Chang’s Wild Swans and Bhutto Benazir’s Reconciliation comes Tamara Chalabi’s unique memoir of returning to her family’s homeland, Iraq. In this epic story of one daughter’s journey through the annals of her family’s tumultuous history, Chalabi’s powerful voice and piercing vision illuminate her country and its people as never before.

Les informations fournies dans la section « Synopsis » peuvent faire référence à une autre édition de ce titre.

From the Back Cover :

Just ten days after Baghdad’s fall in 2003, Tamara Chalabi arrived in the city after a lifetime in exile—finally entering the homeland she’d known only through stories and her own imagination.

Investigating four generations of her family’s history at the forefront of Iraqi society, Chalabi offers a rich portrait of Middle Eastern life and a provocative look at a lost Iraq. Unforgettable characters provide glimpses of the end of the Ottoman Empire, the birth of the Iraqi state, the flowering of “the Paris of the Middle East,” and Iraq’s descent into chaos. At once intimate and magisterial, Chalabi’s memoir of return and reclamation vividly captures the rich history of a country shattered by war and a family that has never forgotten its past.

About the Author :

Tamara Chalabi holds a PhD in history from Harvard University. She has written for The Wall Street Journal, The New Republic, Slate, and The Sunday Times, among other publications.

Les informations fournies dans la section « A propos du livre » peuvent faire référence à une autre édition de ce titre.

Meilleurs résultats de recherche sur AbeBooks

1.

Chalabi, Tamara
Edité par Harper Perennial
ISBN 10 : 0061240400 ISBN 13 : 9780061240409
Neuf(s) Paperback Quantité : 1
Vendeur
Academic Book Solutions
(Medford, NY, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Harper Perennial. Paperback. État : New. New, unread, and unused. N° de réf. du libraire ABS-1444-1119

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 1,55
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 3,43
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

2.

Chalabi, Tamara
ISBN 10 : 0061240400 ISBN 13 : 9780061240409
Neuf(s) Paperback Quantité : 2
Vendeur
Big River Books
(Powder Springs, GA, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Paperback. État : New. Brand New! We ship daily Monday - Friday!. N° de réf. du libraire 1EY7SO002GDZ

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 2,72
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 3
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

3.

Chalabi, Tamara
Edité par Harper Perennial 2012-01-31 (2012)
ISBN 10 : 0061240400 ISBN 13 : 9780061240409
Neuf(s) Paperback Quantité : 1
Vendeur
ThriftTaco
(INDIAN TRAIL, NC, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Harper Perennial 2012-01-31, 2012. Paperback. État : New. Reprint. 0061240400 Brand new and ships pronto! 100% guarantee. Multiple quanities available. N° de réf. du libraire BOOKS92-9780061240409-11-8452

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 2,87
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 3,43
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

4.

Tamara Chalabi
ISBN 10 : 0061240400 ISBN 13 : 9780061240409
Neuf(s) Quantité : > 20
Vendeur
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre État : New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. N° de réf. du libraire 97800612404090000000

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 9,40
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

5.

Chalabi, Tamara
ISBN 10 : 0061240400 ISBN 13 : 9780061240409
Neuf(s) Quantité : > 20
Vendeur
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre 2012. PAP. État : New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. N° de réf. du libraire VC-9780061240409

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 7
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 3,43
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

6.

Chalabi, Tamara
Edité par Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10 : 0061240400 ISBN 13 : 9780061240409
Neuf(s) Quantité : > 20
Vendeur
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Harper Collins Publishers. État : New. Brand New. N° de réf. du libraire 0061240400

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 8,23
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 3,01
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

7.

Tamara Chalabi
Edité par HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2012)
ISBN 10 : 0061240400 ISBN 13 : 9780061240409
Neuf(s) Paperback Quantité : 1
Vendeur
The Book Depository
(London, Royaume-Uni)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2012. Paperback. État : New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. It s an admirable endeavour to have Iraq addressed by someone who is in so many ways able to approach it from two worlds. . . . Tamara Chalabi has the stuff, in every sense, that is needful to undertake this. --Christopher Hitchens In the tradition of Jung Chang s Wild Swans and Bhutto Benazir s Reconciliation comes Tamara Chalabi s unique memoir of returning to her family s homeland, Iraq. In this epic story of one daughter s journey through the annals of her family s tumultuous history, Chalabi s powerful voice and piercing vision illuminate her country and its people as never before. N° de réf. du libraire AAS9780061240409

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 11,70
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
De Royaume-Uni vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

8.

Tamara Chalabi
Edité par HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2012)
ISBN 10 : 0061240400 ISBN 13 : 9780061240409
Neuf(s) Paperback Quantité : 1
Vendeur
The Book Depository US
(London, Royaume-Uni)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2012. Paperback. État : New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. It s an admirable endeavour to have Iraq addressed by someone who is in so many ways able to approach it from two worlds. . . . Tamara Chalabi has the stuff, in every sense, that is needful to undertake this. --Christopher Hitchens In the tradition of Jung Chang s Wild Swans and Bhutto Benazir s Reconciliation comes Tamara Chalabi s unique memoir of returning to her family s homeland, Iraq. In this epic story of one daughter s journey through the annals of her family s tumultuous history, Chalabi s powerful voice and piercing vision illuminate her country and its people as never before. N° de réf. du libraire AAS9780061240409

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 11,70
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
De Royaume-Uni vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

9.

Tamara Chalabi
Edité par HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2012)
ISBN 10 : 0061240400 ISBN 13 : 9780061240409
Neuf(s) Paperback Quantité : 10
Vendeur
Book Depository hard to find
(London, Royaume-Uni)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2012. Paperback. État : New. Reprint. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. It s an admirable endeavour to have Iraq addressed by someone who is in so many ways able to approach it from two worlds. . . . Tamara Chalabi has the stuff, in every sense, that is needful to undertake this. --Christopher Hitchens In the tradition of Jung Chang s Wild Swans and Bhutto Benazir s Reconciliation comes Tamara Chalabi s unique memoir of returning to her family s homeland, Iraq. In this epic story of one daughter s journey through the annals of her family s tumultuous history, Chalabi s powerful voice and piercing vision illuminate her country and its people as never before. N° de réf. du libraire BTE9780061240409

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 12,27
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
De Royaume-Uni vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

10.

Tamara Chalabi
ISBN 10 : 0061240400 ISBN 13 : 9780061240409
Neuf(s) Quantité : 1
Vendeur
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre État : Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. N° de réf. du libraire 97800612404091.0

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 9,25
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 3,43
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

autres exemplaires de ce livre sont disponibles

Afficher tous les résultats pour ce livre