The Taste of Tomorrow: Dispatches from the Future of Food

Note moyenne 3,53
( 148 avis fournis par Goodreads )
 
9780061804212: The Taste of Tomorrow: Dispatches from the Future of Food

For fans of Michael Pollan and Mark Bittman, Josh Schonwald delivers a fascinating investigation into the trends and technologies that are transforming the world of food before our very eyes—from Alice Waters's micro farm to nanotechnology and beyond. Building upon the knowledge base we have gained from such books as The Omnivore’s Dilemma, Schonwald takes our contemporary conversation about food a step further, debunking myths, clarifying controversies (such as the current storm over GMOs, or genetically modified organisms), and exploring the wild possibilities that food science and chemical engineering are making realities today—from food pills to new species of scratch-built fish.

Les informations fournies dans la section « Synopsis » peuvent faire référence à une autre édition de ce titre.

From the Back Cover :

A fascinating look at the people, trends, and technologies transforming the food of today and tomorrow

In The Taste of Tomorrow, journalist Josh Schonwald sets out on a journey to investigate the future of food. His quest takes him across the country and into farms and labs around the globe. From Alice Waters' microfarm to a Pentagon facility that has quietly shaped American supermarkets, The Taste of Tomorrow is a rare, behind-the-scenes glimpse at what we eat today—and what we'll be eating tomorrow.

Schonwald introduces us to a motley group of mad scientists, entrepreneurs, renegade farmers, and food engineers who are revolutionizing the food we eat. We meet the Harvard-trained pedia-trician who wants to change the way humans raise fish; a New York chef who believes he's found the next great ethnic cuisine; a lawyer-turned-nanotechnologist who believes he can solve human nutritional needs without using food.

In this lively and fascinating book, Schonwald explains how new foods happen; why some foods explode on the scene virtually overnight while others take decades—and countless failures—to catch on. And he doesn't shy away from controversy. Although the book begins as a simple search for "the salad, meat, seafood, and pad Thai of the future," Schonwald becomes increasingly focused on finding environmentally friendly foods of the future. Ultimately, he comes to believe that emerging scientific breakthroughs—genetic engineering, nanotechnology, food processing—are essential to feeding the globe's expanding (and hungry) population.

About the Author :

Josh Schonwald has written for the New York Times, the Washington Post, and Salon. He lives in Evanston, Illinois, with his wife, children, and indoor aquaponic system.

Les informations fournies dans la section « A propos du livre » peuvent faire référence à une autre édition de ce titre.

Meilleurs résultats de recherche sur AbeBooks

1.

Josh Schonwald
Edité par Harper (2012)
ISBN 10 : 0061804215 ISBN 13 : 9780061804212
Neuf(s) Couverture rigide Quantité : 1
Vendeur
Dionysos Books
(Arabi, LA, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Harper, 2012. Hardcover. État : New. New item. May have light shelf wear. N° de réf. du libraire BK0114571

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 4,45
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

2.

Schonwald, Josh
Edité par Harper 2012-04-10 (2012)
ISBN 10 : 0061804215 ISBN 13 : 9780061804212
Neuf(s) Couverture rigide Quantité : 2
Vendeur
Ebooksweb COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Harper 2012-04-10, 2012. Hardcover. État : New. 0061804215. N° de réf. du libraire Z0061804215ZN

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 5,65
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

3.

Schonwald, Josh
Edité par Harper
ISBN 10 : 0061804215 ISBN 13 : 9780061804212
Neuf(s) Couverture rigide Quantité : 1
Vendeur
Vital Products COM LLC
(southampton, PA, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Harper. Hardcover. État : New. 0061804215. N° de réf. du libraire Z0061804215ZN

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 5,65
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

4.

Schonwald, Josh
Edité par Harper
ISBN 10 : 0061804215 ISBN 13 : 9780061804212
Neuf(s) Couverture rigide Quantité : 1
Vendeur
Booklot COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Harper. Hardcover. État : New. 0061804215. N° de réf. du libraire Z0061804215ZN

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 5,65
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

5.

Josh Schonwald
Edité par Harper (2012)
ISBN 10 : 0061804215 ISBN 13 : 9780061804212
Neuf(s) Couverture rigide Quantité : 1
Vendeur
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Harper, 2012. Hardcover. État : New. N° de réf. du libraire DADAX0061804215

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 6,77
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 3,43
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

6.

Josh Schonwald
ISBN 10 : 0061804215 ISBN 13 : 9780061804212
Neuf(s) Quantité : 1
Vendeur
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre État : Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. N° de réf. du libraire 97800618042121.0

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 8,39
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 3,43
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

7.

Josh Schonwald
ISBN 10 : 0061804215 ISBN 13 : 9780061804212
Neuf(s) Quantité : > 20
Vendeur
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre État : New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. N° de réf. du libraire 97800618042120000000

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 12,59
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

8.

Josh Schonwald
Edité par HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2012)
ISBN 10 : 0061804215 ISBN 13 : 9780061804212
Neuf(s) Couverture rigide Quantité : 10
Vendeur
The Book Depository
(London, Royaume-Uni)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2012. Hardback. État : New. Language: English . Brand New Book. For fans of Michael Pollan and Mark Bittman, Josh Schonwald delivers a fascinating investigation into the trends and technologies that are transforming the world of food before our very eyes-from Alice Waters s micro farm to nanotechnology and beyond. Building upon the knowledge base we have gained from such books as The Omnivore s Dilemma, Schonwald takes our contemporary conversation about food a step further, debunking myths, clarifying controversies (such as the current storm over GMOs, or genetically modified organisms), and exploring the wild possibilities that food science and chemical engineering are making realities today-from food pills to new species of scratch-built fish. N° de réf. du libraire AA89780061804212

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 13,21
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
De Royaume-Uni vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

9.

Josh Schonwald
Edité par HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2012)
ISBN 10 : 0061804215 ISBN 13 : 9780061804212
Neuf(s) Couverture rigide Quantité : 10
Vendeur
The Book Depository US
(London, Royaume-Uni)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2012. Hardback. État : New. Language: English . Brand New Book. For fans of Michael Pollan and Mark Bittman, Josh Schonwald delivers a fascinating investigation into the trends and technologies that are transforming the world of food before our very eyes-from Alice Waters s micro farm to nanotechnology and beyond. Building upon the knowledge base we have gained from such books as The Omnivore s Dilemma, Schonwald takes our contemporary conversation about food a step further, debunking myths, clarifying controversies (such as the current storm over GMOs, or genetically modified organisms), and exploring the wild possibilities that food science and chemical engineering are making realities today-from food pills to new species of scratch-built fish. N° de réf. du libraire AA89780061804212

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 13,21
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
De Royaume-Uni vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

10.

Schonwald, Josh
ISBN 10 : 0061804215 ISBN 13 : 9780061804212
Neuf(s) Quantité : 10
Vendeur
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre 2012. HRD. État : New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. N° de réf. du libraire VC-9780061804212

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 12,18
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 3,43
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

autres exemplaires de ce livre sont disponibles

Afficher tous les résultats pour ce livre