Best Sellers HC Ivy Pochoda Visitation Street

ISBN 13 : 9780062249890

Visitation Street

Note moyenne 3,41
( 6 469 avis fournis par GoodReads )
 
9780062249890: Visitation Street

Book by Pochoda Ivy

Les informations fournies dans la section « Synopsis » peuvent faire référence à une autre édition de ce titre.

Revue de presse :

“A powerfully beautiful novel” - Marilyn Stasio, New York Times Book Review (New York Times Book Review)

“A stunner of a literary thriller. Grade A-” -Entertainment Weekly (Entertainment Weekly)

“Utterly transporting.”-People (People)

Visitation Street explores a community’s response to tragedy with crystalline prose, a dose of the uncanny, and an unblinking eye for both human frailty and resilience. Marvelous.” (Deborah Harkness, bestselling author of A Discovery of Witches)

“Ivy Pochoda makes the saltiness of Brooklyn’s Red Hook come to life so vividly that every time I looked up from the pages of this intoxicating novel, I was surprised not to be there. Visitation Street is imbued with mystery and danger. (Emma Straub, author of Laura Lamont's Life in Pictures)

Visitation Street is urban opera writ large. Gritty and magical, filled with mystery, poetry and pain, Ivy Pochoda’s voice recalls Richard Price, Junot Diaz, and even Alice Sebold, yet it’s indelibly her own.” (Dennis Lehane)

Visitation Street [is] beautiful, haunting. Ivy Pochoda brings forth the full palette of human emotions in this gripping urban drama, a story that hurts you on one page and gives you hope on the next. A marvelous novel.” (Michael Koryta, award winning author of So Cold the River)

“Pochoda’s premise is inspired, the novel that unfolds even more so. Rich characters, surprising shifts of plot and mood. I loved it.” -Lionel Shriver, award winning author of We Need to Talk About Kevin (Lionel Shriver, award winning author of We Need to Talk About Kevin)

“Rich with characters and mood . . . Red Hook itself feels like a character-hard-worn, isolated from the rest of New York, left behind and forgotten. A terrific story in the vein of Dennis Lehane’s fiction.” (Kirkus Reviews (starred review))

“Visitation Street has a wonderfully eerie and intriguing premise...but it’s the evocation of place, the spot-on rendering of a diverse cast of characters, and the poetic pitch of the writing that elevates the book into the sphere of literature.” (Library Journal)

“Exquisitely written, Pochoda’s poignant second novel examines how residents of Brooklyn’s Red Hook neighborhood deal with grief, urban development, loss, and teenage angst. … Pochoda couples a raw-edged, lyrical look at characters’ innermost fears with an evocative view of Red Hook.” (Publishers Weekly (starred review))

“[R]iveting...will keep readers enthralled until the final page. The prose is so lyrical and detailed that readers will easily imagine themselves in Red Hook. A great read for those who enjoy urban mysteries and thrillers with a literary flair.” (Library Journal (starred review))

“VISITATION STREET is a quiet, literary thriller told in lyrical, exacting prose. It’s in the vein of Donna Tartt’s “The Secret History” or Alice Sebold’s “The Lovely Bones”--Los Angeles Times” (Los Angeles Times)

Quatrième de couverture :

Summer in Red Hook, Brooklyn, an isolated blue-collar neighborhood where hipster gourmet supermarkets push against tired housing projects and the East River opens into the bay. Bored and listless, fifteen-year-olds June and Val are looking for fun. Forget the boys, the bottles, the coded whistles. Val wants to do something wild and a little crazy: take a raft out onto the bay. But on the water during the humid night, the girls disappear. Only Val survives, washing ashore in the weeds, bruised and unconscious.

This shocking event echoes through the lives of Red Hook's diverse residents. Fadi, the Lebanese bodega owner, hopes that his shop is a place to share neighborhood news, and he trolls for information about June's disappearance. Cree, just beginning to pull it together after his father's murder, unwittingly makes himself the chief suspect in the investigation, but an enigmatic and elusive guardian is determined to keep him safe. Val contends with the shadow of her missing friend and a truth she's buried deep inside. Her teacher Jonathan, a Juilliard dropout and barfly, wrestles with dashed dreams and a past riddled with tragic sins.

In Visitation Street, Ivy Pochoda combines intensely vivid prose with breathtaking psychological insight to explore a cast of solitary souls, pulled by family, love, betrayal, and hope, who yearn for a chance to break free.

Les informations fournies dans la section « A propos du livre » peuvent faire référence à une autre édition de ce titre.

Meilleurs résultats de recherche sur AbeBooks

1.

Ivy Pochoda
ISBN 10 : 0062249894 ISBN 13 : 9780062249890
Neuf(s) Quantité : 2
Vendeur
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre État : New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. N° de réf. du libraire 97800622498900000000

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 6,03
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

2.

Pochoda, Ivy
Edité par Dennis Lehane Books/Ecco
ISBN 10 : 0062249894 ISBN 13 : 9780062249890
Neuf(s) Couverture rigide Quantité : 2
Vendeur
zeebooks
(Foley, AL, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Dennis Lehane Books/Ecco. Hardcover. État : New. 0062249894 Brand new. N° de réf. du libraire SKU1013204

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 2,32
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 4,10
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

3.

Ivy Pochoda
ISBN 10 : 0062249894 ISBN 13 : 9780062249890
Neuf(s) Quantité : 1
Vendeur
Grandisbooks
(Neptune, NJ, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre État : New. New and unused. 30 Day Satisfaction Guarantee. N° de réf. du libraire 3148LU001FHA

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 3,39
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 3,69
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

4.

Pochoda, Ivy
Edité par Dennis Lehane Books/Ecco (2013)
ISBN 10 : 0062249894 ISBN 13 : 9780062249890
Neuf(s) Couverture rigide Quantité : 1
Vendeur
Dionysos Books
(Arabi, LA, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Dennis Lehane Books/Ecco, 2013. Hardcover. État : New. New item. May have light shelf wear. N° de réf. du libraire 161105030

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 7,18
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

5.

Ivy Pochoda
ISBN 10 : 0062249894 ISBN 13 : 9780062249890
Neuf(s) Couverture rigide Quantité : 1
Vendeur
READERS PRIDE
(FREMONT, CA, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Hardcover. État : BRAND NEW. NEW Book in Mint Condition -- Great DEAL !! Fast Shipping -- Friendly Customer Service -- Buy with Confidence!. N° de réf. du libraire RP0062249894BN

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 5,70
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 3,64
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

6.

Pochoda, Ivy
Edité par U.S.A.: Dennis Lehane Books/Ecco (2013)
ISBN 10 : 0062249894 ISBN 13 : 9780062249890
Neuf(s) Couverture rigide Edition originale Quantité : 1
Vendeur
Frank Sincavage
(PHILA, PA, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre U.S.A.: Dennis Lehane Books/Ecco, 2013. Hardcover. État : New. Etat de la jaquette : New. 1st Edition. N° de réf. du libraire ABE-15309387631

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 5,70
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 3,68
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

7.

Pochoda, Ivy
Edité par U.S.A.: Dennis Lehane Books/Ecco (2013)
ISBN 10 : 0062249894 ISBN 13 : 9780062249890
Neuf(s) Couverture rigide Edition originale Quantité : 1
Vendeur
Frank Sincavage
(PHILA, PA, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre U.S.A.: Dennis Lehane Books/Ecco, 2013. Hardcover. État : New. Etat de la jaquette : New. 1st Edition. ist printing. N° de réf. du libraire 40585

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 5,70
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 3,68
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

8.

Ivy Pochoda
ISBN 10 : 0062249894 ISBN 13 : 9780062249890
Neuf(s) Quantité : 1
Vendeur
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre État : Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. N° de réf. du libraire 97800622498901.0

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 9,86
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 3,68
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

9.

Pochoda, Ivy
Edité par Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10 : 0062249894 ISBN 13 : 9780062249890
Neuf(s) Quantité : > 20
Vendeur
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Harper Collins Publishers. État : New. Brand New. N° de réf. du libraire 0062249894

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 13,66
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 3,23
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

10.

Pochoda, Ivy
Edité par Dennis Lehane Books/Ecco (2013)
ISBN 10 : 0062249894 ISBN 13 : 9780062249890
Neuf(s) Couverture rigide Quantité : 1
Vendeur
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Dennis Lehane Books/Ecco, 2013. Hardcover. État : New. book. N° de réf. du libraire 0062249894

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 19,19
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

autres exemplaires de ce livre sont disponibles

Afficher tous les résultats pour ce livre