Articles liés à The Poppy War: A Novel

Kuang, R. F The Poppy War: A Novel

ISBN 13 : 9780062662583

The Poppy War: A Novel

Note moyenne 4,06
( 88 337 avis fournis par Goodreads )
 
9780062662583: The Poppy War: A Novel
Afficher les exemplaires de cette édition ISBN
 
 
Présentation de l'éditeur :

“I have no doubt this will end up being the best fantasy debut of the year [...] I have absolutely no doubt that [Kuang’s] name will be up there with the likes of Robin Hobb and N.K. Jemisin.” -- Booknest

A Library Journal, Paste Magazine, Vulture, BookBub, and ENTROPY Best Books of 2018 pick!

Washington Post "5 Best Science Fiction and Fantasy Novel of 2018" pick!

A Bustle "30 Best Fiction Books of 2018" pick!

A brilliantly imaginative talent makes her exciting debut with this epic historical military fantasy, inspired by the bloody history of China’s twentieth century and filled with treachery and magic, in the tradition of Ken Liu’s Grace of Kings and N.K. Jemisin’s Inheritance Trilogy.

When Rin aced the Keju—the Empire-wide test to find the most talented youth to learn at the Academies—it was a shock to everyone: to the test officials, who couldn’t believe a war orphan from Rooster Province could pass without cheating; to Rin’s guardians, who believed they’d finally be able to marry her off and further their criminal enterprise; and to Rin herself, who realized she was finally free of the servitude and despair that had made up her daily existence. That she got into Sinegard—the most elite military school in Nikan—was even more surprising.

But surprises aren’t always good.

Because being a dark-skinned peasant girl from the south is not an easy thing at Sinegard. Targeted from the outset by rival classmates for her color, poverty, and gender, Rin discovers she possesses a lethal, unearthly power—an aptitude for the nearly-mythical art of shamanism. Exploring the depths of her gift with the help of a seemingly insane teacher and psychoactive substances, Rin learns that gods long thought dead are very much alive—and that mastering control over those powers could mean more than just surviving school.

For while the Nikara Empire is at peace, the Federation of Mugen still lurks across a narrow sea. The militarily advanced Federation occupied Nikan for decades after the First Poppy War, and only barely lost the continent in the Second. And while most of the people are complacent to go about their lives, a few are aware that a Third Poppy War is just a spark away . . .

Rin’s shamanic powers may be the only way to save her people. But as she finds out more about the god that has chosen her, the vengeful Phoenix, she fears that winning the war may cost her humanity . . . and that it may already be too late.

Revue de presse :

“The best fantasy debut of 2018...This year’s Potter.” (Wired)

“I have no doubt this will end up being the best fantasy debut of the year [...] I have absolutely no doubt that [Kuang’s] name will be up there with the likes of Robin Hobb and N.K. Jemisin.” (Booknest)

“The “year’s best debut” buzz around this one was warranted; it really is that good.” (B&N Sci-fi and Fantasy Blog)

“A thrilling, action-packed fantasy of gods and mythology...The ambitious heroine’s rise from poverty to ruthless military commander makes for a gripping read, and I eagerly await the next installment.” (Julie C. Dao, author of Forest of a Thousand Lanterns)

“A blistering, powerful epic of war and revenge that will captivate you to the bitter end.” (Kameron Hurley, author of The Stars are Legion)

“In The Poppy War, RF Kuang draws on history and myth to tell a relentlessly unforgiving story of war, vengeance, power and madness, with larger-than-life characters that evoke sympathy and rouse terror. Brace yourself.” (Fonda Lee, award-winning author of The Green Bone Saga)

“Battles. Bloodshed. Drugs. Amazing, amazing characters. Read it!” (Peng Shepherd, author of The Book of M)

“An original and engrossing tale of the coming of age of a talented young soldier amid the horrors of invasion and genocide.” (Anna Stephens, author of Godblind)

“A powerful, emotional journey, compellingly written.” (Adrian Tchaikovsky, award-winning author of The Children of Time)

“Debut novelist Kuang creates an ambitious fantasy reimagining of Asian history populated by martial artists, philosopher-generals, and gods [...] This is a strong and dramatic launch to Kuang’s career.” (Publishers Weekly)

Les informations fournies dans la section « A propos du livre » peuvent faire référence à une autre édition de ce titre.

Autres éditions populaires du même titre

9780062662569: The Poppy War: A Novel

Edition présentée

ISBN 10 : 0062662562 ISBN 13 : 9780062662569
Editeur : Harper Voyager, 2018
Couverture rigide

9780008239848: The Poppy War

Harper..., 2018
Couverture souple

9780008239800: The Poppy War

Harper..., 2018
Couverture rigide

9780008239817: The Poppy War

Harper..., 2018
Couverture souple

9780008455194: The Poppy War: Book 1

Harper..., 2020
Couverture rigide

Meilleurs résultats de recherche sur AbeBooks

Image de l'éditeur

Kuang, R. F
Edité par Harper Voyager (2019)
ISBN 10 : 0062662589 ISBN 13 : 9780062662583
Neuf Couverture souple Quantité disponible : 15
Vendeur
Lakeside Books
(Benton Harbor, MI, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur

Description du livre Etat : New. Brand New|VCF. N° de réf. du vendeur OTF-S-9780062662583

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Contacter le vendeur

Acheter neuf
EUR 7,95
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 3,42
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais
Image de l'éditeur

Kuang, R. F
Edité par Harper Voyager (2019)
ISBN 10 : 0062662589 ISBN 13 : 9780062662583
Neuf Couverture souple Quantité disponible : 1
Vendeur
Best Bates
(Bensalem, PA, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur

Description du livre Etat : New. . N° de réf. du vendeur 52YZZZ00MQSW_ns

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Contacter le vendeur

Acheter neuf
EUR 12,34
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais
Image de l'éditeur

Kuang, R. F
Edité par Harper Voyager (2019)
ISBN 10 : 0062662589 ISBN 13 : 9780062662583
Neuf Couverture souple Quantité disponible : 1
Vendeur
Mega Buzz
(Bensalem, PA, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur

Description du livre Etat : New. . N° de réf. du vendeur 531ZZZ00NRFN_ns

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Contacter le vendeur

Acheter neuf
EUR 12,34
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais
Image de l'éditeur

Kuang, R. F
Edité par Harper Voyager (2019)
ISBN 10 : 0062662589 ISBN 13 : 9780062662583
Neuf Couverture souple Quantité disponible : 1
Vendeur
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur

Description du livre Etat : New. . N° de réf. du vendeur 52ZZZZ00NPKI_ns

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Contacter le vendeur

Acheter neuf
EUR 12,44
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais
Image de l'éditeur

Kuang, R. F
Edité par Harper Voyager (2019)
ISBN 10 : 0062662589 ISBN 13 : 9780062662583
Neuf Couverture souple Quantité disponible : 1
Vendeur
PublisherOverstocks
(Taunton, MA, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur

Description du livre Etat : New. . N° de réf. du vendeur 533ZZZ00OH1T_ns

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Contacter le vendeur

Acheter neuf
EUR 12,44
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais
Image de l'éditeur

Kuang, R. F
Edité par Harper Voyager (2019)
ISBN 10 : 0062662589 ISBN 13 : 9780062662583
Neuf Couverture souple Quantité disponible : 1
Vendeur
Qwestbooks
(Philadelphia, PA, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur

Description du livre Etat : New. . N° de réf. du vendeur 535ZZZ00NPXY_ns

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Contacter le vendeur

Acheter neuf
EUR 12,44
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais
Image de l'éditeur

Kuang, R. F
Edité par Harper Voyager (2019)
ISBN 10 : 0062662589 ISBN 13 : 9780062662583
Neuf Couverture souple Quantité disponible : 1
Vendeur
Booklot
(Philadelphia, PA, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur

Description du livre Etat : New. . N° de réf. du vendeur 530ZZZ00RKWG_ns

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Contacter le vendeur

Acheter neuf
EUR 12,44
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais
Image de l'éditeur

Kuang, R. F
Edité par Harper Voyager (2019)
ISBN 10 : 0062662589 ISBN 13 : 9780062662583
Neuf Couverture souple Quantité disponible : 1
Vendeur
Bookhouse
(Philadelphia, PA, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur

Description du livre Etat : New. . N° de réf. du vendeur 532ZZZ00MU6S_ns

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Contacter le vendeur

Acheter neuf
EUR 12,44
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais
Image fournie par le vendeur

Kuang, R. F.
Edité par Harper Voyager 4/23/2019 (2019)
ISBN 10 : 0062662589 ISBN 13 : 9780062662583
Neuf Paperback or Softback Quantité disponible : 5
Vendeur
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur

Description du livre Paperback or Softback. Etat : New. The Poppy War. Book. N° de réf. du vendeur BBS-9780062662583

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Contacter le vendeur

Acheter neuf
EUR 12,81
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais
Image de l'éditeur

Kuang,R.F.
Edité par Thomas Nelson Publishers
ISBN 10 : 0062662589 ISBN 13 : 9780062662583
Neuf Quantité disponible : > 20
Vendeur
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur

Description du livre Etat : New. Brand New. N° de réf. du vendeur 0062662589

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Contacter le vendeur

Acheter neuf
EUR 9,53
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 3,42
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

autres exemplaires de ce livre sont disponibles

Afficher tous les résultats pour ce livre