Fiction Umberto Eco The Island of the Day Before

ISBN 13 : 9780151001514

The Island of the Day Before

Note moyenne 3,44
( 11 590 avis fournis par Goodreads )
 
9780151001514: The Island of the Day Before

In 1643 a castaway comes upon an abandoned ship anchored off a desert island. As he explores the vessel’s mysterious cargo, he revisits the events of his tempestuous youth-and limns his era’s obsession with science and navigation. Translated by William Weaver. A Helen and Kurt Wolff Book

Les informations fournies dans la section « Synopsis » peuvent faire référence à une autre édition de ce titre.

Book Description :

Published in hardcover by Harcourt, 1994, 0-15-100151-0
Published in paperback by Penguin, 1996, 0140259198

From the Back Cover :

"A profound and ingenious story artfully told . . . Renaissance battles, love poems, and sea journeys in the age of exploration." --The New York Times Book Review

Roberto della Griva is an Italian nobleman living in 1643. His mission is to travel the South Pacific and discover the means by which navigators can understand the mystery of longitude. After a violent storm, however, Roberto finds himself shipwrecked--on a ship. Swept from the Amaryllis, he has managed to pull himself aboard the Daphne, anchored in the bay of a beautiful island. The ship is fully provisioned, but the crew is missing.
As Roberto explores the different cabinets in the hold, he remembers chapters from his youth: Ferrante, his imaginary evil brother; the siege of Casale, that meaningless chess move in the Thirty Years' War in which he lost his father; and the lessons given him on fencing, blasphemy, and the writing of love letters. The Island of the Day Before is a fascinating, lyrical tale about a young dreamer's search for love and meaning.
"A masterpiece . . . intellectually stimulating and dramatically intriguing." --Chicago Tribune
"A story both thought provoking and surprisingly humorous." USA Today
"Umberto Eco . . . is the last of the great 20th century polymathic fabulists in the tradition of Joyce and Nabokov and Borges." The Wall Street Journal
UMBERTO ECO is a professor of semiotics at the University of Bologna and the bestselling author of numerous novels and collections of essays. He lives in Milan.
Translated from the Italian by William Weaver
"

Les informations fournies dans la section « A propos du livre » peuvent faire référence à une autre édition de ce titre.

Meilleurs résultats de recherche sur AbeBooks

1.

Umberto Eco
Edité par Harcourt Brace (1995)
ISBN 10 : 0151001510 ISBN 13 : 9780151001514
Neuf(s) Couverture rigide Quantité : 1
Vendeur
Pleasant Nights Bookshop
(Baltimore, MD, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Harcourt Brace, 1995. Hard Cover. État : New. Etat de la jaquette : New. N° de réf. du libraire 009035

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 4,58
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 3,39
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

2.

Umberto Eco
ISBN 10 : 0151001510 ISBN 13 : 9780151001514
Neuf(s) Hardcover Quantité : 1
Vendeur
Sharehousegoods
(Milwaukee, WI, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Hardcover. État : New. Our Ranking is Your Confidence! Fast Shipping - Safe and Secure Mailer - Our goal is to deliver a better item than what you are hoping for! If not we will make it right!. N° de réf. du libraire 1XGDJP001LA9_ns

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 4,78
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 3,38
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

3.

Eco, Umberto
Edité par Harcourt Brace & Company (1995)
ISBN 10 : 0151001510 ISBN 13 : 9780151001514
Neuf(s) Couverture rigide Edition originale Quantité : 1
Vendeur
Renaissance Books
(Riverside, CA, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Harcourt Brace & Company, 1995. Hardcover. État : New. Etat de la jaquette : As New. 1st Edition. A novel of a shipwrecked sailor, living on an island on one side of the international date line. By the author of "The Name of the Rose". 513 pages. Published @ $25.00. N° de réf. du libraire 1290

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 12,16
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 2,54
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

4.

Eco, Umberto
Edité par Harcourt (1994)
ISBN 10 : 0151001510 ISBN 13 : 9780151001514
Neuf(s) Couverture rigide Edition originale Quantité : 2
Vendeur
Dan Pope Books
(West Hartford, CT, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Harcourt, 1994. Hardcover. État : New. Etat de la jaquette : New. 1st Edition.... New York: Harcourt, 1994. First Edition. First printing. Hardbound. New in dust jacket. A perfect unread copy. Chosen as one of ten best books of year by NY Times Book review. Translated by William Weaver. 515 pages. A perfect new unopened copy. Pristine! 0.0. N° de réf. du libraire 4873

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 13,08
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 3,34
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

5.

Umberto Eco
Edité par U.S.A.: Harcourt Brace (1995)
ISBN 10 : 0151001510 ISBN 13 : 9780151001514
Neuf(s) Couverture rigide Edition originale Quantité : 1
Vendeur
Mima Mia Books
(Boston, MA, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre U.S.A.: Harcourt Brace, 1995. Hardcover. État : New. Etat de la jaquette : New. 1st Edition. Language: eng Language: eng Language: eng Language: eng Language: eng Language: eng. N° de réf. du libraire 2A-41-A

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 13,03
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 3,39
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

6.

Umberto Eco
Edité par U.S.A.: Harcourt Brace (1995)
ISBN 10 : 0151001510 ISBN 13 : 9780151001514
Neuf(s) Soft cover Edition originale Quantité : 1
Vendeur
Far Fetched Books
(Leavenworth, WA, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre U.S.A.: Harcourt Brace, 1995. Soft cover. État : New. No Jacket. 1st Edition. Advance Reading copy precedes publication with complete letter line (A-E). Unmarked, very bright, extremely tight, unread copy in pristine condition. A beautiful uncorrupted copy. Carefully bubble-wrapped and ships in sturdy box. N° de réf. du libraire 2601

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 13,95
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 3,38
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

7.

Eco, Umberto
Edité par Harcourt Brace, New York, U.S.A. (1995)
ISBN 10 : 0151001510 ISBN 13 : 9780151001514
Neuf(s) Couverture rigide Edition originale Quantité : 1
Vendeur
rarefirsts
(Charlotte Hall, MD, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Harcourt Brace, New York, U.S.A., 1995. Hardcover. État : New. Etat de la jaquette : New. 1st Edition. First Edition stated, with correct letterr line sequence, no writing, marks, underlining, or bookplates. No remainder marks. Spine is tight and crisp. Boards are flat and true and the corners are square. Dust jacket is not price-clipped. This collectible, " NEW" condition first edition/first printing copy is protected with a polyester archival dust jacket cover. Beautiful collectible copy. GIFT QUALITY. N° de réf. du libraire 002337

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 17,39
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 5,88
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

8.

Umberto Eco
Edité par Harcourt Brace (1995)
ISBN 10 : 0151001510 ISBN 13 : 9780151001514
Neuf(s) Couverture rigide Edition originale Quantité : 1
Vendeur
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Harcourt Brace, 1995. Hardcover. État : New. book. N° de réf. du libraire M0151001510

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 23,91
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

9.

Umberto Eco
Edité par U.S.A.: Harcourt Brace (1995)
ISBN 10 : 0151001510 ISBN 13 : 9780151001514
Neuf(s) Couverture rigide Edition originale Quantité : 1
Vendeur
3rd Man Books
(Los Angeles, CA, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre U.S.A.: Harcourt Brace, 1995. Hardcover. État : New. Etat de la jaquette : New. 1st Edition. new cloth.first printing. 513p. N° de réf. du libraire 02323

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 21,80
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 2,54
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

10.

Umberto Eco
Edité par Harcourt Brace (1995)
ISBN 10 : 0151001510 ISBN 13 : 9780151001514
Neuf(s) Couverture rigide Quantité : 2
Vendeur
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Harcourt Brace, 1995. Hardcover. État : New. N° de réf. du libraire P110151001510

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 24,58
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 1,68
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

autres exemplaires de ce livre sont disponibles

Afficher tous les résultats pour ce livre