The Invisible Enemy: A Natural History of Viruses

Note moyenne 3,84
( 122 avis fournis par GoodReads )
 
9780198503323: The Invisible Enemy: A Natural History of Viruses

Book by Crawford Dorothy

Les informations fournies dans la section « Synopsis » peuvent faire référence à une autre édition de ce titre.

Revue de presse :

Review from previous edition "The book is lovingly researched and packed with fascinating anecdotes and I found it extremely difficult to put down...No home is complete without this book, if only as a reminder to wash your hands." ( Press and Journal)

The Invisible Enemy is accessbile to the genereal reader, accurate and thought-provoking ( Ian Simmons, The Fortean Times)

"I recommend The Invisible Enemy to anyone with questions about the nature of viruses and their role in human diseases...The Invisible Enemy is a clear and powerful beacon that penetrates the increasingly dense fog of media reports, folklore and myths" ( New Scientist)

"Professor Crawford writes in a clear and accessible manner, which successfully conveys her fascination with the subject, and poses lots of interesting questions. Recommended reading for microbiologists; highly recommended for journalists, politicians and the public seeking understanding of big topical issues such as AIDS/HIV and BSE/CJD." ( Microbiology Today)

"...this fascinating book provides a rapid and accessible introduction to modern virology". ( Nature)

Présentation de l'éditeur :

Viruses are disarmingly small and simple. None the less, the smallpox virus killed over 300 million people in the 20th century prior to its eradication in 1980. The AIDS virus, HIV, is now the single most common cause of death in Africa. In recent years, the outbreaks of several lethal viruses such as Ebola and hanta virus have caused great public concern. In her fascinating and vividly written book, Dorothy Crawford describes all aspects of the natural history of these deadly parasites, explaining how they differ from other microorganisms. She looks at the havoc viruses have caused in the past, where they have come from, and the detective work involved in uncovering them. Finally, she considers whether a new virus could potentially wipe out the human race. This is an informative and highly readable book, which will be read by all those seeking a deeper understanding of these minute but remarkably efficient killers.

Les informations fournies dans la section « A propos du livre » peuvent faire référence à une autre édition de ce titre.

Meilleurs résultats de recherche sur AbeBooks

1.

Dorothy H. Crawford
Edité par Oxford University Press, USA (2000)
ISBN 10 : 0198503326 ISBN 13 : 9780198503323
Neuf(s) Couverture rigide Quantité : 1
Vendeur
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Oxford University Press, USA, 2000. Hardcover. État : New. 1. N° de réf. du libraire DADAX0198503326

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 45,99
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 13,13
De Etats-Unis vers France
Destinations, frais et délais

2.

Dorothy H. Crawford
Edité par Oxford University Press (2000)
ISBN 10 : 0198503326 ISBN 13 : 9780198503323
Neuf(s) Couverture rigide Quantité : 1
Vendeur
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Oxford University Press, 2000. Hardcover. État : New. book. N° de réf. du libraire 0198503326

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 51,67
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 8,44
De Etats-Unis vers France
Destinations, frais et délais

3.

Dorothy H. Crawford
Edité par Oxford University Press (2000)
ISBN 10 : 0198503326 ISBN 13 : 9780198503323
Neuf(s) Couverture rigide Quantité : 3
Vendeur
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Oxford University Press, 2000. Hardcover. État : New. N° de réf. du libraire P110198503326

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 52,36
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 18,75
De Etats-Unis vers France
Destinations, frais et délais

4.

Dorothy H. Crawford
ISBN 10 : 0198503326 ISBN 13 : 9780198503323
Neuf(s) Quantité : 1
Vendeur
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre État : Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. N° de réf. du libraire 97801985033231.0

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 67,71
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 23,45
De Etats-Unis vers France
Destinations, frais et délais

5.

Dorothy H. Crawford
Edité par Oxford University Press (2000)
ISBN 10 : 0198503326 ISBN 13 : 9780198503323
Neuf(s) Couverture rigide Quantité : 1
Vendeur
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Oxford University Press, 2000. État : New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: In the tradition of "The Hot Zone" and "The Coming Plague" comes a compelling scientific account of viruses, their history, and the dangers they pose to us now and in the future. The author is a professor of medical microbiology at the University of Edinburgh. 17 halftones. N° de réf. du libraire ABE_book_new_0198503326

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 49,82
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 70,34
De Etats-Unis vers France
Destinations, frais et délais