Functional Differential Geometry (MIT Press)

Note moyenne 3,57
( 7 avis fournis par Goodreads )
 
9780262019347: Functional Differential Geometry (MIT Press)

Physics is naturally expressed in mathematical language. Students new to the subject must simultaneously learn an idiomatic mathematical language and the content that is expressed in that language. It is as if they were asked to read Les Misérables while struggling with French grammar. This book offers an innovative way to learn the differential geometry needed as a foundation for a deep understanding of general relativity or quantum field theory as taught at the college level.

The approach taken by the authors (and used in their classes at MIT for many years) differs from the conventional one in several ways, including an emphasis on the development of the covariant derivative and an avoidance of the use of traditional index notation for tensors in favor of a semantically richer language of vector fields and differential forms. But the biggest single difference is the authors' integration of computer programming into their explanations. By programming a computer to interpret a formula, the student soon learns whether or not a formula is correct. Students are led to improve their program, and as a result improve their understanding.

Les informations fournies dans la section « Synopsis » peuvent faire référence à une autre édition de ce titre.

About the Author :

Gerald Jay Sussman is Panasonic (formerly Matsushita) Professor of Electrical Engineering in the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at MIT and the coauthor (with Hal Abelson) of Structure and Interpretation of Computer Programs (MIT Press).



Jack Wisdom is Professor of Planetary Science in the Department of Earth, Atmospheric, and Planetary Sciences at MIT. Sussman and Wisdom are the coauthors of Structure and Interpretation of Classical Mechanics (MIT Press).



Will Farr is a CIERA Fellow at Northwestern University.

Review :

Another gem in the tradition of Structure and Interpretation of Computer Programs and Structure and Interpretation of Classical Mechanics, providing for applied mathematics what the previous two books did for computer science and physics.

(Piet Hut, Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, New Jersey)

Les informations fournies dans la section « A propos du livre » peuvent faire référence à une autre édition de ce titre.

Meilleurs résultats de recherche sur AbeBooks

1.

Gerald Jay Sussman
ISBN 10 : 0262019345 ISBN 13 : 9780262019347
Neuf(s) Quantité : 2
Vendeur
Books_Universe
(Sugarland, TX, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre État : New. Brand New. US Edition Book. We do not ship to Military Addresses. Fast Shipping with Order Tracking. For Standard Shipping 7-8 business days & Expedite Shipping 4-6 business days, after shipping. N° de réf. du libraire 0262019345-RMX

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 35,64
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

2.

Gerald Jay Sussman
ISBN 10 : 0262019345 ISBN 13 : 9780262019347
Neuf(s) Quantité : 2
Vendeur
BooksForStudent
(West Bloomfield, MI, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre État : New. Brand New Book In Mint condition. Shipping with Trackable Method. No APO/FPO Addresses Please. N° de réf. du libraire 9780262019347NHS

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 39,83
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

3.

Gerald Jay Sussman; Jack Wisdom
Edité par The MIT Press (2013)
ISBN 10 : 0262019345 ISBN 13 : 9780262019347
Neuf(s) Couverture rigide Quantité : 1
Vendeur
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre The MIT Press, 2013. Hardcover. État : New. book. N° de réf. du libraire M0262019345

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 39,85
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

4.

Gerald Jay Sussman
ISBN 10 : 0262019345 ISBN 13 : 9780262019347
Neuf(s) Quantité : 2
Vendeur
firstbookstore
(New Delhi, Inde)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre État : Brand New. Brand New Original US Edition, Perfect Condition. Printed in English. Excellent Quality, Service and customer satisfaction guaranteed!. N° de réf. du libraire AIND-71621

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 45,16
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
De Inde vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

5.

SUSSMAN GERALD JAY ET.AL
ISBN 10 : 0262019345 ISBN 13 : 9780262019347
Neuf(s) Quantité : 1
Vendeur
Bookshub
(Karol Bagh, Inde)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre État : New. New. US edition. Perfect condition. Customer satisfaction our priority. N° de réf. du libraire ABE-FEB-28876

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 45,65
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
De Inde vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

6.

Gerald Jay Sussman
ISBN 10 : 0262019345 ISBN 13 : 9780262019347
Neuf(s) Quantité : 1
Vendeur
Bookshub
(Karol Bagh, Inde)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre État : New. New. US edition. Perfect condition. Customer satisfaction our priority. N° de réf. du libraire ABE-FEB-28875

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 45,65
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
De Inde vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

7.

SUSSMAN GERALD JAY ET.AL
ISBN 10 : 0262019345 ISBN 13 : 9780262019347
Neuf(s) Quantité : 1
Vendeur
EBOOKSTORE2010
(New Delhi, ND, Inde)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre État : Brand New. New. US edition. Customer Satisfaction guaranteed!!. N° de réf. du libraire SHUB28876

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 45,70
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
De Inde vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

8.

Gerald Jay Sussman
ISBN 10 : 0262019345 ISBN 13 : 9780262019347
Neuf(s) Quantité : 1
Vendeur
EBOOKSTORE2010
(New Delhi, ND, Inde)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre État : Brand New. New. US edition. Customer Satisfaction guaranteed!!. N° de réf. du libraire SHUB28875

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 45,70
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
De Inde vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

9.

Gerald Jay Sussman, Jack Wisdom
Edité par MIT Press Ltd, United States (2013)
ISBN 10 : 0262019345 ISBN 13 : 9780262019347
Neuf(s) Couverture rigide Quantité : 10
Vendeur
The Book Depository
(London, Royaume-Uni)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre MIT Press Ltd, United States, 2013. Hardback. État : New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Physics is naturally expressed in mathematical language. Students new to the subject must simultaneously learn an idiomatic mathematical language and the content that is expressed in that language. It is as if they were asked to read Les Miserables while struggling with French grammar. This book offers an innovative way to learn the differential geometry needed as a foundation for a deep understanding of general relativity or quantum field theory as taught at the college level. The approach taken by the authors (and used in their classes at MIT for many years) differs from the conventional one in several ways, including an emphasis on the development of the covariant derivative and an avoidance of the use of traditional index notation for tensors in favor of a semantically richer language of vector fields and differential forms. But the biggest single difference is the authors integration of computer programming into their explanations. By programming a computer to interpret a formula, the student soon learns whether or not a formula is correct. Students are led to improve their program, and as a result improve their understanding. N° de réf. du libraire AAH9780262019347

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 48,09
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
De Royaume-Uni vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

10.

Gerald Jay Sussman
ISBN 10 : 0262019345 ISBN 13 : 9780262019347
Neuf(s) Quantité : 2
Vendeur
Romtrade Corp.
(STERLING HEIGHTS, MI, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre État : New. Brand New Original US Edition.We Ship to PO BOX Address also. EXPEDITED shipping option also available for faster delivery. N° de réf. du libraire AUSBNEW-71621

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 48,12
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

autres exemplaires de ce livre sont disponibles

Afficher tous les résultats pour ce livre