Packaging Girlhood: Rescuing Our Daughters from Marketers' Schemes

Note moyenne 3,65
( 518 avis fournis par Goodreads )
 
9780312352509: Packaging Girlhood: Rescuing Our Daughters from Marketers' Schemes

The stereotype-laden message, delivered through clothes, music, books, and TV, is essentially a continuous plea for girls to put their energies into beauty products, shopping, fashion, and boys. This constant marketing, cheapening of relationships, absence of good women role models, and stereotyping and sexualization of girls is something that parents need to first understand before they can take action.

Lamb and Brown teach parents how to understand these influences, give them guidance on how to talk to their daughters about these negative images, and provide the tools to help girls make positive choices about the way they are in the world.

In the tradition of books like Reviving Ophelia, Odd Girl Out, Queen Bees and Wannabees that examine the world of girls, this book promises to not only spark debate but help parents to help their daughters.

Les informations fournies dans la section « Synopsis » peuvent faire référence à une autre édition de ce titre.

From the Back Cover :

Advance praise for Packaging Girlhood
 
"Be prepared to be shocked and saddened as you come to see the world of sex, shopping, media, body-fat, and self-esteem through the wide eyes of today's American girls. Be prepared, also, to find invaluable guidance and insight from authors Sharon Lamb and Lyn Brown who know our daughters from inside out.  This is a must-read for parents and teachers who want to steer girls away from marketing schemes that distort female power and authority, and towards true self-acceptance and authentic empowerment."
-Polly Young-Eisendrath, author of Women and Desire and The Resilient Spirit
 
"Lyn Mikel Brown and Sharon Lamb have that rare gift of translating cutting edge research and analysis into strategies and information that every parent (and every girl) can use in daily life. In Packaging Girlhood, they provide solid ways for families to help girls stay rooted in reality while buffeted by the powerful winds of commercialism. In the process, we parents learn more than a little about staying rooted in reality ourselves. This is the kind of guidance that families need, especially if they think they are immune from marketers' schemes."
-Joe Kelly, President, Dads and Daughters
 
"With compassion, insight, and humor,[Lamb and Brown] unravel and demystify the messages girls confront throughout their development, and they offer adults useful tools to help girls resist their powerful pull. Packaging Girlhood is filled with useful information and practical suggestions for adults wishing to help girls critique and rewrite consumer culture's narrow and toxic portrayals of girls. Never judgmental and always illuminating, Packaging Girlhood reflects Lamb and Brown's deep respect for girls and their first-hand understanding of the dilemmas of parenting."
-Lynn M. Phillips, Ph.D., Department of Communications, University of Massachusetts at Amherst
 
"A tour de force of excellent scholarship put in a very readable context and chock full of practical suggestions to parents for change!  In Packaging Girlhood, Lamb and Brown expose the manner in which our daughters whom we believed had been newly reinforced with "girl power" actually remain enslaved in the gender straitjacket of a narrow and distorted set of messages about what being a "real girl "or young adult female is all about. 
A must read for anyone who teaches, works with or wishes to support girls (from tots to teens) in our society and for every parent of a daughter who wants to give her child a legacy of meaningful possibilities instead of a prepackaged world of inhibiting stereotypes."
-William S. Pollack, Ph.D., author of Real Boys: Rescuing Our Sons from the Myths of Boyhood

From the Inside Flap :

“Packaging Girlhoodis a must read for anyone who cares about the health and well-being of girls. It exposes the marketing industry’s assault on pre-teens and is filled with helpful suggestions for beleaguered parents.”
-Susan Linn, Associate Director of the Media Center at Judge Baker Children’s Center and Instructor in Psychiatry, Harvard Medical School

Sexy. Diva. Boy-crazy. Shopper.

The image of girls and girlhood that is being packaged and sold to your daughter isn’t pretty in pink. It is stereotypical, demeaning, limiting, and alarming. Girl Power has been co-opted by marketers of music, fashion, books, and television to mean the power to shop and attract boys. Girls are besieged by images in the media that encourage accessorizing over academics; sex appeal over sports; fashion over friendship. These stereotypes are everywhere, from Disney movies to Hip Hop lyrics, Nickelodeon cartoons to Seventeen Magazine.
Girls are consistently portrayed as a series of stereotypes: Little girls are “perfect little angels,” sometimes with a sassy twist; elementary school-aged girls are boy-crazy “tweens,” ready to be sold a version of mini-teendom that eclipses the wonderful years of childhood that truly belongs to them; middle school girls are full-fledged teenagers or at least teen-age wannabes and eager to conform to that CosmoGirl lifestyle . And high school girls? They’re sold an image of the sexually free model-diva-rock star that the younger girls are supposed to look up to.
Packaging Girlhoodexposes these stereotypes and the very limited choices presented of who girls are and what they can be. Lamb and Brown give you guidance on how to talk with your daughters about these negative images and provide you with tools and information on how to help your girls make more positive choices about the way they are in the world.

“Parents constantly complain that they have only a small shovel to hold back the avalanche of products and messages that erode children’s resilience and sap their self-esteem. Now they have this book. Sharon Lamb and Lyn Mikel Brown’s sharp analysis and patiently pragmatic advice is just what we need to sustain our daughter’s quests for healthy identities.”
-Michael Kimmel, author Manhood in America, Professor, SUNY Stony Brook

Les informations fournies dans la section « A propos du livre » peuvent faire référence à une autre édition de ce titre.

Meilleurs résultats de recherche sur AbeBooks

1.

Lamb, Sharon; Brown, Lyn Mikel
Edité par St. Martin's Press (2006)
ISBN 10 : 0312352506 ISBN 13 : 9780312352509
Neuf(s) Couverture rigide Edition originale Quantité : 1
Vendeur
Donald L King
(LYNN, MA, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre St. Martin's Press, 2006. Hardcover. État : New. Etat de la jaquette : New. First Edition. New in a New dustjacket. N° de réf. du libraire 20537

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 7,07
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 12,43
De Etats-Unis vers France
Destinations, frais et délais

2.

Sharon Lamb Ed.D., Lyn Mikel Brown
Edité par St. Martin's Press (2006)
ISBN 10 : 0312352506 ISBN 13 : 9780312352509
Neuf(s) Couverture rigide Quantité : 1
Vendeur
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre St. Martin's Press, 2006. Hardcover. État : New. N° de réf. du libraire DADAX0312352506

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 8,68
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 12
De Etats-Unis vers France
Destinations, frais et délais

3.

Sharon Lamb; Lyn Mikel Brown
Edité par St. Martin's Press (2006)
ISBN 10 : 0312352506 ISBN 13 : 9780312352509
Neuf(s) Couverture rigide Quantité : 1
Vendeur
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre St. Martin's Press, 2006. Hardcover. État : New. book. N° de réf. du libraire 0312352506

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 26,16
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 10,29
De Etats-Unis vers France
Destinations, frais et délais

4.

Sharon Lamb and Lyn Mikel Brown
ISBN 10 : 0312352506 ISBN 13 : 9780312352509
Neuf(s) Quantité : 1
Vendeur
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre État : Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. N° de réf. du libraire 97803123525091.0

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 21,19
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 21,44
De Etats-Unis vers France
Destinations, frais et délais

5.

Lamb, Sharon, Brown, Lyn Mikel
Edité par St. Martin's Press (2006)
ISBN 10 : 0312352506 ISBN 13 : 9780312352509
Neuf(s) Couverture rigide Quantité : 2
Vendeur
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre St. Martin's Press, 2006. Hardcover. État : New. N° de réf. du libraire P110312352506

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 28,95
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 17,14
De Etats-Unis vers France
Destinations, frais et délais

6.

Lamb, Sharon; Brown, Lyn Mikel
Edité par St. Martin's Press
ISBN 10 : 0312352506 ISBN 13 : 9780312352509
Neuf(s) Couverture rigide Quantité : 1
Vendeur
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre St. Martin's Press. Hardcover. État : New. 0312352506 New Condition. N° de réf. du libraire NEW6.1092982

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 61,81
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 34,29
De Etats-Unis vers France
Destinations, frais et délais