Minette Walters The Shape of Snakes

ISBN 13 : 9780333902004

The Shape of Snakes

Note moyenne 3,77
( 3 425 avis fournis par GoodReads )
9780333902004: The Shape of Snakes
Présentation de l'éditeur :

From the internationally acclaimed, bestselling author of The Sculptress and The Breaker comes a brilliant new novel.

It is November 1978. The winter of discontent. Britain is on strike. The dead lie unburied, rubbish piles in the streets – and somewhere in West London a black woman dies in a rain-soaked gutter. She was known as “Mad Annie” and was despised by her neighbours.

Her passing would have gone unmourned and unnoticed but for Mrs. Ranelagh, the young woman who finds Annie as she dies and who believes – apparently against reason – that she was murdered.

Whatever the truth about Annie – whether she was as mad as her neighbours claimed, whether she lived in squalor as the police said, whether she cruelly mistreated the many cats found starving in her house – something passed between the two women in the moment of death which binds Mrs. Ranelagh to Annie’s cause for the next twenty years.

But why is she so convinced it was murder when, by her own account, Annie died without speaking? Why does the subject make her husband so angry that he refuses to talk about what happened that night? And why would any woman spend twenty years painstakingly uncovering the truth – unless her reasons are personal…?

A complex puzzle of deceit and discovery, The Shape of Snakes is Minette Walters at her most intriguing.

From the Hardcover edition.

Biographie de l'auteur :

The broadcast of the brilliant film adaptations of her novels on Showcase has crowned Minette Walters the new Canadian queen of British mystery writers. Her career has been little short of astonishing: With her debut novel, The Ice House, she won the British Crime Writers’ Association John Creasey Award for the best first crime novel of 1992. Her second mystery, The Sculptress, won the U.S. Edgar Allan Poe Award for the best crime novel published in 1993. In 1994, she achieved a unique triple when The Scold’s Bridle was awarded the CWA Gold Dagger for the best crime novel of the year. Her fourth novel, The Dark Room, received further critical acclaim when it appeared in 1995. The Echo, her fifth novel, was said by many reviewers to be her best, most intriguing mystery to date. Her sixth novel, The Breaker, was similarly praised and her seventh, The Shape of Snakes, was published to rave reviews. Minette Walters lives in Dorset, England.

Les informations fournies dans la section « A propos du livre » peuvent faire référence à une autre édition de ce titre.

Acheter neuf Afficher le livre
EUR 12,22

Autre devise

Frais de port : EUR 6,92
De Royaume-Uni vers Etats-Unis

Destinations, frais et délais

Ajouter au panier

Meilleurs résultats de recherche sur AbeBooks


Minette Walters
Edité par Macmillan Audio Books
ISBN 10 : 0333902009 ISBN 13 : 9780333902004
Neuf(s) Quantité : 1
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, Royaume-Uni)
Evaluation vendeur

Description du livre Macmillan Audio Books. Audio Cassette. État : Brand New. In Stock. N° de réf. du libraire zk0333902009

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 12,22
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 6,92
De Royaume-Uni vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais