Louisa Hall Speak

ISBN 13 : 9780356506098

Speak

Note moyenne 3,6
( 2 608 avis fournis par Goodreads )
 
9780356506098: Speak

A young Puritan woman travels to the New World with her unwanted new husband. Alan Turing, the renowned mathematician and code breaker, writes letters to his best friend's mother. A Jewish refugee and professor of computer science struggles to reconnect with his increasingly detached wife. An isolated and traumatized young girl exchanges messages with an intelligent software program. A former Silicon Valley Wunderkind is imprisoned for creating illegal lifelike dolls. Each of these characters is attempting to communicate across gaps-- to estranged spouses, lost friends, future readers, or a computer program that may or may not understand them.

Les informations fournies dans la section « Synopsis » peuvent faire référence à une autre édition de ce titre.

Review :

An Amazon Best Book of July 2015: Because of Speak’s structure, it will draw comparisons to David Mitchell’s Cloud Atlas—but that’s selling both authors a little short. Speak is told from multiple points of view, mostly through letters and transcripts, but the voices accrue to present a profound and illuminating whole. This is a smart book, and Louisa Hall is tackling some big questions, namely what does it mean to be human? She builds her novel with characters collected through time—from an early pilgrim trapped in an unhappy marriage, to Alan Turing writing letters to a friend’s mother, to a 2040 Silicon Valley prodigy incarcerated for designing a “babybot” with illegal levels of artificial intelligence—and by doing so she draws out the shrinking gap that separates us (for now) from our rapidly encroaching technology, as well as the gaps that have always existed between us. This is a sensitive, beautiful, and timely novel that measures our very human need to speak against our possibly more vital need to be heard. Put down your phone for a while and read it. – Chris Schluep

From the Back Cover :

A thoughtful, poignant novel that explores the creation of artificial intelligence—illuminating the very human need for communication, connection, and understanding

In a narrative that spans geography and time, from the Atlantic Ocean in the seventeenth century to a correctional institution in Texas in the near future, told from the perspectives of five very different characters, Speak considers what it means to be human, and what it means to be less than fully alive.

A young Puritan woman travels to the New World with her unwanted new husband. Alan Turing, the renowned mathematician and code breaker, writes letters to his best friend's mother. A Jewish refugee and professor of computer science struggles to reconnect with his increasingly detached wife. An isolated and traumatized young girl exchanges messages with an intelligent software program. A former Silicon Valley wunderkind is imprisoned for creating illegally lifelike dolls.

All five characters are attempting to communicate—with estranged spouses, lost friends, future readers, or computer programs that may or may not understand them. Although each speaks from a distinct place and moment in time, they all share the need to express themselves while simultaneously wondering if they will ever be heard, or understood. In dazzling and electrifying prose, Louisa Hall explores how the chasm between computer and human—shrinking rapidly with today's technological advances—echoes the gaps that exist between ordinary people.

Les informations fournies dans la section « A propos du livre » peuvent faire référence à une autre édition de ce titre.

Meilleurs résultats de recherche sur AbeBooks

1.

Louisa Hall
Edité par Little, Brown Book Group, United Kingdom (2016)
ISBN 10 : 0356506096 ISBN 13 : 9780356506098
Neuf(s) Paperback Quantité : 10
Vendeur
The Book Depository
(London, Royaume-Uni)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Little, Brown Book Group, United Kingdom, 2016. Paperback. État : New. Language: English . Brand New Book. She cannot run. She cannot walk. She cannot even blink. As her batteries run down for the final time, all she can do is speak. Will you listen? From a pilgrim girl s diary, to a traumatised child talking to a software program; from Alan Turing s conviction in the 1950s, to a genius imprisoned in 2040 for creating illegally lifelike dolls: all these lives have shaped and changed a single artificial intelligence - MARY3. In Speak she tells you their story, and her own. It is the last story she will ever tell, spoken both in celebration and in warning. When machines learn to speak, who decides what it means to be human? TRANSFIXING New York Times BRILLIANT Huffington Post INCREDIBLE Buzzfeed HYPNOTIC Guardian A MASTERPIECE NPR. N° de réf. du libraire AA29780356506098

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 7,38
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
De Royaume-Uni vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

2.

Louisa Hall
Edité par Little, Brown Book Group, United Kingdom (2016)
ISBN 10 : 0356506096 ISBN 13 : 9780356506098
Neuf(s) Paperback Quantité : 10
Vendeur
The Book Depository US
(London, Royaume-Uni)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Little, Brown Book Group, United Kingdom, 2016. Paperback. État : New. Language: English . Brand New Book. She cannot run. She cannot walk. She cannot even blink. As her batteries run down for the final time, all she can do is speak. Will you listen? From a pilgrim girl s diary, to a traumatised child talking to a software program; from Alan Turing s conviction in the 1950s, to a genius imprisoned in 2040 for creating illegally lifelike dolls: all these lives have shaped and changed a single artificial intelligence - MARY3. In Speak she tells you their story, and her own. It is the last story she will ever tell, spoken both in celebration and in warning. When machines learn to speak, who decides what it means to be human? TRANSFIXING New York Times BRILLIANT Huffington Post INCREDIBLE Buzzfeed HYPNOTIC Guardian A MASTERPIECE NPR. N° de réf. du libraire AA29780356506098

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 8,45
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
De Royaume-Uni vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

3.

Louisa Hall
ISBN 10 : 0356506096 ISBN 13 : 9780356506098
Neuf(s) Quantité : > 20
Vendeur
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre État : New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. N° de réf. du libraire 97803565060980000000

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 8,46
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

4.

Hall, Louisa
Edité par Orbit (2016)
ISBN 10 : 0356506096 ISBN 13 : 9780356506098
Neuf(s) Paperback Quantité : 2
Vendeur
TotnesBooks
(Totnes, Royaume-Uni)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Orbit, 2016. Paperback. État : New. BRAND NEW COPY - PLEASE SEE OUR OTHER TITLES BY THIS AUTHOR - TRUSTED DEVON (UK) BASED SELLER - IN STOCK -. N° de réf. du libraire mon0000682956

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 3,78
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 4,89
De Royaume-Uni vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

5.

Louisa Hall
Edité par Orbit 2016-02-25 (2016)
ISBN 10 : 0356506096 ISBN 13 : 9780356506098
Neuf(s) Paperback Quantité : 5
Vendeur
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, Royaume-Uni)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Orbit 2016-02-25, 2016. Paperback. État : New. N° de réf. du libraire NU-GRD-05332553

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 7,16
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 3,33
De Royaume-Uni vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

6.

Hall, Louisa
Edité par Orbit (2016)
ISBN 10 : 0356506096 ISBN 13 : 9780356506098
Neuf(s) Paperback Quantité : 14
Vendeur
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, Royaume-Uni)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Orbit, 2016. Paperback. État : New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. N° de réf. du libraire mon0001850522

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 9,58
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 1,06
De Royaume-Uni vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

7.

Hall, Louisa
Edité par Little, Brown Book Group (2016)
ISBN 10 : 0356506096 ISBN 13 : 9780356506098
Neuf(s) Couverture souple Quantité : 13
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Little, Brown Book Group, 2016. État : New. For fans of David Mitchell and Margaret Atwood comes this poignant novel from Waterstones Book Club author Louisa Hall, with a tale will make readers everywhere question what it really means to be human. Emily St. John Mandel, author of Station Eleven, calls Speak the 'rarest of finds'. Num Pages: 368 pages. BIC Classification: FL. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 198 x 126. . . 2016. Paperback. . . . . . N° de réf. du libraire V9780356506098

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 12,20
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
De Irlande vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

8.

Hall, Louisa
Edité par Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN 10 : 0356506096 ISBN 13 : 9780356506098
Neuf(s) Couverture souple Quantité : 13
Vendeur
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Little, Brown Book Group. État : New. For fans of David Mitchell and Margaret Atwood comes this poignant novel from Waterstones Book Club author Louisa Hall, with a tale will make readers everywhere question what it really means to be human. Emily St. John Mandel, author of Station Eleven, calls Speak the 'rarest of finds'. Num Pages: 368 pages. BIC Classification: FL. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 198 x 126. . . 2016. Paperback. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. N° de réf. du libraire V9780356506098

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 12,32
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

9.

Louisa Hall
Edité par Orbit (2016)
ISBN 10 : 0356506096 ISBN 13 : 9780356506098
Neuf(s) Couverture souple Quantité : 3
Vendeur
European-Media-Service Mannheim
(Mannheim, Allemagne)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Orbit, 2016. État : New. N° de réf. du libraire GH9780356506098

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 8,74
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 3,99
De Allemagne vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

10.

Louisa Hall
Edité par Little, Brown 2016-02-25, London (2016)
ISBN 10 : 0356506096 ISBN 13 : 9780356506098
Neuf(s) paperback Quantité : 5
Vendeur
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, Royaume-Uni)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Little, Brown 2016-02-25, London, 2016. paperback. État : New. N° de réf. du libraire 9780356506098

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 9,72
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 3,34
De Royaume-Uni vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

autres exemplaires de ce livre sont disponibles

Afficher tous les résultats pour ce livre