The Scientists: A Family Romance

Note moyenne 3,12
( 293 avis fournis par GoodReads )
 
9780374210281: The Scientists: A Family Romance

The Scientists With the precociousness expected of the only child of a doctor and a classical musician, Roth was able to share his parents' New York, a world centered around cultural and intellectual events. That world ended when his father started to suffer the worst effects of the AIDS virus. Full description

Les informations fournies dans la section « Synopsis » peuvent faire référence à une autre édition de ce titre.

Présentation de l'éditeur :

Marco Roth s book about his father is a farewell to a bygone culture polygot, intellectual, Europhile, psychoanalytic and simultaneously a renewal of that culture. It s moving, tough-minded, and distinctive, a memoir the likes of which nobody elese could write. Benjamin Kunkel, author of  Indecision

With the precociousness expected of the only child of a doctor and a classical musician from the time he could get his toddler tongue to pronounce a word like deoxyribonucleic acid or recite a French poem Marco Roth was able to share his parents New York, a world centered around house concerts, a private library of literary classics, and dinner discussions of the latest advances in medicine. That world ended when his father began to suffer the worst effects of the AIDS virus that had infected him in the early 1980s.

What this family would not talk about for years came to dominate the lives of its surviving members, often in unexpected ways. The Scientists is a story of how we first learn from our parents and how we then learn to see them as separate individuals; it s a story of how preciousness can slow us down when it comes to understanding our desires and other people s. A memoir of parents and children in the tradition of Edmund Gosse, Henry Adams and J. R. Ackerley, The Scientists grapples with a troubled and emotional inheritance, in a style that is both elegiac and defiant.

Biographie de l'auteur :

MARCO ROTH was raised among the vanished liberal culture of Manhattan s Upper West Side. After studying comparative literature at Columbia and Yale, he helped found the magazine n+1 in 2004 with Chad Harbach and Benjamin Kunkel. The recipient of the 2011 Shattuck Prize for literary criticism, he lives in Philadelphia. This is his first book.

Les informations fournies dans la section « A propos du livre » peuvent faire référence à une autre édition de ce titre.

Meilleurs résultats de recherche sur AbeBooks

1.

Roth, Marco
Edité par Farrar Straus Giroux 2012-09-18 (2012)
ISBN 10 : 0374210284 ISBN 13 : 9780374210281
Neuf(s) Couverture rigide Quantité : > 20
Vendeur
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Farrar Straus Giroux 2012-09-18, 2012. Hardcover. État : New. Hardcover. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. N° de réf. du libraire 9780374210281B

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 4,72
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 7,80
De Canada vers France
Destinations, frais et délais

2.

Marco Roth
Edité par Farrar Straus Giroux, United States (2012)
ISBN 10 : 0374210284 ISBN 13 : 9780374210281
Neuf(s) Couverture rigide Quantité : 1
Vendeur
The Book Depository US
(London, Royaume-Uni)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Farrar Straus Giroux, United States, 2012. Hardback. État : New. 211 x 142 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. A frank, intelligent, and deeply moving debut memoir With the precociousness expected of the only child of a doctor and a classical musician--from the time he could get his toddler tongue to a pronounce a word like De-oxy ribonucleic acid, or recite a French poem--Marco Roth was able to share his parents New York, a world centered around house concerts, a private library of literary classics, and dinner discussions of the latest advances in medicine. That world ended when his father started to suffer the worst effects of the AIDS virus that had infected him in the early 1980s. What this family could not talk about for years came to dominate the lives of its surviving members, often in unexpected ways. The Scientists is a story of how we first learn from our parents and how we then learn to see them as separate individuals; it s a story of how precociousness can slow us down when it comes to knowing about our desires and other people s. A memoir of parents and children in the tradition of Edmund Gosse, Henry Adams, and J.R. Ackerley, The Scientists grapples with a troubled intellectual and emotional inheritance, in a style that is both elegiac and defiant. N° de réf. du libraire FLT9780374210281

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 20,48
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 1,42
De Royaume-Uni vers France
Destinations, frais et délais

3.

Marco Roth
Edité par Farrar Straus Giroux, United States (2012)
ISBN 10 : 0374210284 ISBN 13 : 9780374210281
Neuf(s) Couverture rigide Quantité : 1
Vendeur
The Book Depository
(London, Royaume-Uni)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Farrar Straus Giroux, United States, 2012. Hardback. État : New. 211 x 142 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. A frank, intelligent, and deeply moving debut memoir With the precociousness expected of the only child of a doctor and a classical musician--from the time he could get his toddler tongue to a pronounce a word like De-oxy ribonucleic acid, or recite a French poem--Marco Roth was able to share his parents New York, a world centered around house concerts, a private library of literary classics, and dinner discussions of the latest advances in medicine. That world ended when his father started to suffer the worst effects of the AIDS virus that had infected him in the early 1980s. What this family could not talk about for years came to dominate the lives of its surviving members, often in unexpected ways. The Scientists is a story of how we first learn from our parents and how we then learn to see them as separate individuals; it s a story of how precociousness can slow us down when it comes to knowing about our desires and other people s. A memoir of parents and children in the tradition of Edmund Gosse, Henry Adams, and J.R. Ackerley, The Scientists grapples with a troubled intellectual and emotional inheritance, in a style that is both elegiac and defiant. N° de réf. du libraire FLT9780374210281

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 20,57
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 1,43
De Royaume-Uni vers France
Destinations, frais et délais

4.

Roth, Marco
Edité par Farrar, Straus and Giroux (2012)
ISBN 10 : 0374210284 ISBN 13 : 9780374210281
Neuf(s) Couverture rigide Quantité : 1
Vendeur
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2012. Hardcover. État : New. book. N° de réf. du libraire 0374210284

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 16,24
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 11,01
De Etats-Unis vers France
Destinations, frais et délais

5.

Roth, Marco
Edité par Farrar, Straus and Giroux (2012)
ISBN 10 : 0374210284 ISBN 13 : 9780374210281
Neuf(s) Couverture rigide Quantité : 2
Vendeur
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2012. Hardcover. État : New. N° de réf. du libraire P110374210284

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 24,35
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 18,35
De Etats-Unis vers France
Destinations, frais et délais

6.

Marco Roth
ISBN 10 : 0374210284 ISBN 13 : 9780374210281
Neuf(s) Quantité : 1
Vendeur
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre État : Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. N° de réf. du libraire 97803742102811.0

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 25,94
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 22,95
De Etats-Unis vers France
Destinations, frais et délais

7.

Marco Roth
ISBN 10 : 0374210284 ISBN 13 : 9780374210281
Neuf(s) Quantité : 1
Vendeur
Grandisbooks
(Neptune, NJ, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre État : New. New and unused. Light shelfwear from storage with other items. 30 Day Satisfaction Guarantee. N° de réf. du libraire 3148LU0013MB

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 2,89
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 59,66
De Etats-Unis vers France
Destinations, frais et délais