A. Barrows The Truth According to Us

ISBN 13 : 9780399588440

The Truth According to Us

 
9780399588440: The Truth According to Us

Brand NEW. We ship worldwide

Les informations fournies dans la section « Synopsis » peuvent faire référence à une autre édition de ce titre.

Meilleurs résultats de recherche sur AbeBooks

1.

A. Barrows
ISBN 10 : 0399588442 ISBN 13 : 9780399588440
Neuf(s) Quantité : 5
Vendeur
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre État : New. N° de réf. du libraire 26451774-n

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 6,07
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 2,27
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

2.

Annie Barrows
Edité par Random House LCC US (2016)
ISBN 10 : 0399588442 ISBN 13 : 9780399588440
Neuf(s) Paperback Quantité : 10
Vendeur
The Book Depository US
(London, Royaume-Uni)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Random House LCC US, 2016. Paperback. État : New. Language: English . Brand New Book. NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER ? From the co-author of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society comes a wise, witty, and exuberant novel, perfect for fans of Lee Smith, that illuminates the power of loyalty and forgiveness, memory and truth, and the courage it takes to do what?s right.  Annie Barrows once again evokes the charm and eccentricity of a small town filled with extraordinary characters. Her new novel, The Truth According to Us, brings to life an inquisitive young girl, her beloved aunt, and the alluring visitor who changes the course of their destiny forever. In the summer of 1938, Layla Beck?s father, a United States senator, cuts off her allowance and demands that she find employment on the Federal Writers? Project, a New Deal jobs program. Within days, Layla finds herself far from her accustomed social whirl, assigned to cover the history of the remote mill town of Macedonia, West Virginia, and destined, in her opinion, to go completely mad with boredom. But once she secures a room in the home of the unconventional Romeyn family, she is drawn into their complex world and soon discovers that the truth of the town is entangled in the thorny past of the Romeyn dynasty. At the Romeyn house, twelve-year-old Willa is desperate to learn everything in her quest to acquire her favorite virtues of ferocity and devotion?a search that leads her into a thicket of mysteries, including the questionable business that occupies her charismatic father and the reason her adored aunt Jottie remains unmarried. Layla?s arrival strikes a match to the family veneer, bringing to light buried secrets that will tell a new tale about the Romeyns. As Willa peels back the layers of her family?s past, and Layla delves deeper into town legend, everyone involved is transformed?and their personal histories completely rewritten. Praise for The Truth According to Us ?As delightfully eccentric as Guernsey yet refreshingly different . . . an epic but intimate family novel with richly imagined characters . . . Willa?s indomitable spirit, keen sense of adventure and innate intelligence reminded me of two other motherless girls in literature: Scout Finch in Harper Lee?s To Kill a Mockingbird and Flavia de Luce in Alan Bradley?s big-hearted British mystery series.??The Washington Post ?The Truth According to Us has all the characteristics of a great summer read: A plot that makes you want to keep turning the pages; a setting that makes you feel like you?re inhabiting another time and place; and characters who become people you?re sad to leave behind?and thus who always stay with you.??Miami Herald ?It takes a brave author to make the heroine of a new novel an observant and feisty girl . . . like Scout Finch in To Kill a Mockingbird. . . . But Barrows . . . has created a believable and touching character in Willa.??USA Today ?[A] heartwarming coming-of-age novel [that] sparkles with folksy depictions of a tight-knit family and life in a small town . . . full of richly drawn, memorable characters.??The Seattle Times ?A big, juicy family saga with warm humor and tragic twists . . . The story gets more and more absorbing as it moves briskly along.??St. Louis Post-Dispatch ?Annie Barrows leaves no doubt that she is a storyteller of rare caliber, with wisdom and insight to spare. Every page rings like a bell.??Paula McLain, author of The Paris Wife From the Hardcover edition. N° de réf. du libraire LIB9780399588440

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 8,42
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
De Royaume-Uni vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

3.

Annie Barrows
Edité par Random House LCC US (2016)
ISBN 10 : 0399588442 ISBN 13 : 9780399588440
Neuf(s) Paperback Quantité : 10
Vendeur
The Book Depository
(London, Royaume-Uni)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Random House LCC US, 2016. Paperback. État : New. Language: English . Brand New Book. NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER ? From the co-author of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society comes a wise, witty, and exuberant novel, perfect for fans of Lee Smith, that illuminates the power of loyalty and forgiveness, memory and truth, and the courage it takes to do what?s right.  Annie Barrows once again evokes the charm and eccentricity of a small town filled with extraordinary characters. Her new novel, The Truth According to Us, brings to life an inquisitive young girl, her beloved aunt, and the alluring visitor who changes the course of their destiny forever. In the summer of 1938, Layla Beck?s father, a United States senator, cuts off her allowance and demands that she find employment on the Federal Writers? Project, a New Deal jobs program. Within days, Layla finds herself far from her accustomed social whirl, assigned to cover the history of the remote mill town of Macedonia, West Virginia, and destined, in her opinion, to go completely mad with boredom. But once she secures a room in the home of the unconventional Romeyn family, she is drawn into their complex world and soon discovers that the truth of the town is entangled in the thorny past of the Romeyn dynasty. At the Romeyn house, twelve-year-old Willa is desperate to learn everything in her quest to acquire her favorite virtues of ferocity and devotion?a search that leads her into a thicket of mysteries, including the questionable business that occupies her charismatic father and the reason her adored aunt Jottie remains unmarried. Layla?s arrival strikes a match to the family veneer, bringing to light buried secrets that will tell a new tale about the Romeyns. As Willa peels back the layers of her family?s past, and Layla delves deeper into town legend, everyone involved is transformed?and their personal histories completely rewritten. Praise for The Truth According to Us ?As delightfully eccentric as Guernsey yet refreshingly different . . . an epic but intimate family novel with richly imagined characters . . . Willa?s indomitable spirit, keen sense of adventure and innate intelligence reminded me of two other motherless girls in literature: Scout Finch in Harper Lee?s To Kill a Mockingbird and Flavia de Luce in Alan Bradley?s big-hearted British mystery series.??The Washington Post ?The Truth According to Us has all the characteristics of a great summer read: A plot that makes you want to keep turning the pages; a setting that makes you feel like you?re inhabiting another time and place; and characters who become people you?re sad to leave behind?and thus who always stay with you.??Miami Herald ?It takes a brave author to make the heroine of a new novel an observant and feisty girl . . . like Scout Finch in To Kill a Mockingbird. . . . But Barrows . . . has created a believable and touching character in Willa.??USA Today ?[A] heartwarming coming-of-age novel [that] sparkles with folksy depictions of a tight-knit family and life in a small town . . . full of richly drawn, memorable characters.??The Seattle Times ?A big, juicy family saga with warm humor and tragic twists . . . The story gets more and more absorbing as it moves briskly along.??St. Louis Post-Dispatch ?Annie Barrows leaves no doubt that she is a storyteller of rare caliber, with wisdom and insight to spare. Every page rings like a bell.??Paula McLain, author of The Paris Wife From the Hardcover edition. N° de réf. du libraire LIB9780399588440

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 9,40
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
De Royaume-Uni vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

4.

Annie Barrows
Edité par Random House USA Inc (2016)
ISBN 10 : 0399588442 ISBN 13 : 9780399588440
Neuf(s) Couverture souple Quantité : 2
Vendeur
European-Media-Service Mannheim
(Mannheim, Allemagne)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Random House USA Inc, 2016. État : New. N° de réf. du libraire L9780399588440

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 7,26
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 3,99
De Allemagne vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

5.

A. Barrows
ISBN 10 : 0399588442 ISBN 13 : 9780399588440
Neuf(s) Quantité : 5
Vendeur
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, Royaume-Uni)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre État : New. N° de réf. du libraire 9780399588440

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 9,42
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 3,36
De Royaume-Uni vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

6.

Annie Barrows
Edité par The Dial Press Random House US Jun 2016 (2016)
ISBN 10 : 0399588442 ISBN 13 : 9780399588440
Neuf(s) Taschenbuch Quantité : 2
Vendeur
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre The Dial Press Random House US Jun 2016, 2016. Taschenbuch. État : Neu. Neuware - NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - From the co-author of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society comes a wise, witty, and exuberant novel, perfect for fans of Lee Smith, that illuminates the power of loyalty and forgiveness, memory and truth, and the courage it takes to do what's right. 480 pp. Englisch. N° de réf. du libraire 9780399588440

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 7,99
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 12,01
De Allemagne vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

7.

Annie Barrows
Edité par The Dial Press Random House US Jun 2016 (2016)
ISBN 10 : 0399588442 ISBN 13 : 9780399588440
Neuf(s) Taschenbuch Quantité : 2
Vendeur
AHA-BUCH GmbH
(Einbeck, Allemagne)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre The Dial Press Random House US Jun 2016, 2016. Taschenbuch. État : Neu. Neuware - NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - From the co-author of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society comes a wise, witty, and exuberant novel, perfect for fans of Lee Smith, that illuminates the power of loyalty and forgiveness, memory and truth, and the courage it takes to do what's right. 480 pp. Englisch. N° de réf. du libraire 9780399588440

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 7,99
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 29,52
De Allemagne vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais