Fiction & Literature Stephanie Gertler Drifting

ISBN 13 : 9780525947356

Drifting

Note moyenne 3,32
( 196 avis fournis par Goodreads )
 
9780525947356: Drifting

Readers and reviewers alike fell in love with Jimmy's Girl and The Puzzle Bark Tree. In her new novel, Drifting, Stephanie Gertler once again reveals her gift for exploring the ways in which families experience love and loss.

In the coastal town of Drifting, Connecticut, in a Victorian inn perched at the ocean's edge, Claire lives with her husband, Eli. Although her own children are grown, Claire is still haunted by the absence of her mother, who abandoned her when she was a baby. When Nicholas Pierce and his blind seven-year-old daughter, Kayla, come to stay at the inn, the young child's affinity for Claire begins to resonate within her. Unwittingly, Claire finds herself drawn into a struggle to save Kayla when dark truths begin to emerge about Nicholas. Ultimately, the challenge to save Kayla unleashes Claire's own need to find her missing mother.

Fearlessly plumbing the hidden depths of the heart, Stephanie Gertler has crafted a wise and moving novel that tests the bonds of mothers and daughters and their ability to transcend any obstacle.

Les informations fournies dans la section « Synopsis » peuvent faire référence à une autre édition de ce titre.

About the Author :

Stephanie Gertler is the author of Jimmy's Girl and The Puzzle Bark Tree. She writes a monthly lifestyle column for two Connecticut newspapers and lives in New York with her husband, three children and five dogs. Visit her website at www stephaniegertler.com

From Booklist :

When beautiful, restless Sulie abandons Jack and their two-year-old, Claire, the adoring father rises to the occasion, giving Claire an extraordinarily happy childhood, which is followed by her happy marriage to handsome Eli and the devoted mothering of two children. After Jack's death, Claire and Eli move to a seaside Connecticut town. Claire works part-time as a psychologist and manages a little inn in the summer, but she finds herself at loose ends after her youngest goes off to college. She becomes fascinated with a single father and his blind daughter, lodgers at the inn. Eli senses something wrong with the dad, but Claire colors these guests with her memories of her relationship with Jack. Gentler enriches a conventional plot with beautifully realized details, such as the blind child's navigation of unfamiliar spaces. If everything about the book doesn't work--Eli is too perfect, shifts in narration are occasionally too abrupt--its rich emotional tone and the durable themes are definitely rewarding. An excellent choice for fans of Charlotte Vale Allen and Luanne Rice. Roberta Johnson
Copyright © American Library Association. All rights reserved

Les informations fournies dans la section « A propos du livre » peuvent faire référence à une autre édition de ce titre.

Meilleurs résultats de recherche sur AbeBooks

1.

Stephanie Gertler
Edité par Dutton Adult (2003)
ISBN 10 : 0525947353 ISBN 13 : 9780525947356
Neuf(s) Couverture rigide Quantité : 1
Vendeur
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Dutton Adult, 2003. Hardcover. État : New. N° de réf. du libraire DADAX0525947353

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 9,44
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 3,42
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

2.

Stephanie Gertler
Edité par Dutton Adult (2003)
ISBN 10 : 0525947353 ISBN 13 : 9780525947356
Neuf(s) Couverture rigide Quantité : 1
Vendeur
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Dutton Adult, 2003. Hardcover. État : New. book. N° de réf. du libraire 0525947353

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 24,04
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

3.

Stephanie Gertler
ISBN 10 : 0525947353 ISBN 13 : 9780525947356
Neuf(s) Quantité : 1
Vendeur
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre État : Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. N° de réf. du libraire 97805259473561.0

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 63,97
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 3,42
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais