Fiction Christopher Priest The Islanders

ISBN 13 : 9780575070042

The Islanders

Note moyenne 3,69
( 1 137 avis fournis par Goodreads )
 
9780575070042: The Islanders

Reality is illusory and magical in the stunning new literary SF novel from the multiple award-winning author of The Prestige—for fans of Haruki Murakami and David Mitchell A tale of murder, artistic rivalry, and literary trickery; a Chinese puzzle of a novel where nothing is quite what it seems; a narrator whose agenda is artful and subtle; a narrative that pulls you in and plays an elegant game with you. The Dream Archipelago is a vast network of islands. The names of the islands are different depending on who you talk to, their very locations seem to twist and shift. Some islands have been sculpted into vast musical instruments, others are home to lethal creatures, others the playground for high society. Hot winds blow across the archipelago and a war fought between two distant continents is played out across its waters. The Islanders serves both as an untrustworthy but enticing guide to the islands; an intriguing, multi-layered tale of a murder; and the suspect legacy of its appealing but definitely untrustworthy narrator. It shows Christopher Priest at the height of his powers and illustrates his undiminished power to dazzle.

Les informations fournies dans la section « Synopsis » peuvent faire référence à une autre édition de ce titre.

About the Author :

Christopher Priest's novels have built him an inimitable dual reputation as a contemporary novelist and a leading figure in modern SF and fantasy. His novel The Prestige is unique in winning both a major literary prize, The James Tait Black Award, and a major genre prize, The World Fantasy Award. It was also made into a 2006 Academy Award-nominated film directed by Christopher Nolan. His other awards have included the Arthur C. Clarke Award and four Hugo nominations.

Review :

"Christopher Priest has long been the sort of author critics tend to whip out the serious descriptors for. . . . Judging only on the basis of this mesmeric travel guide to "an endless sprawl of lovely islands," I would not for a second hesitate to declare Priest a giant of the genre."  —Strange Horizons

"One of the most complex, challenging and satisfying fictions from one of our finest novelists."  —Telegraph

"Priest demonstrates once more his ability to surprise and dazzle with this twisty novel in which nothing is ever as straightforward as it appears."  —Library Journal 

"Entirely unforgettable."  —Publishers Weekly

Les informations fournies dans la section « A propos du livre » peuvent faire référence à une autre édition de ce titre.

Meilleurs résultats de recherche sur AbeBooks

1.

Priest, Christopher
Edité par Gollancz (2012)
ISBN 10 : 0575070048 ISBN 13 : 9780575070042
Neuf(s) Couverture rigide Quantité : 13
Vendeur
Superlative Selections
(franklin, TN, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Gollancz, 2012. Hardcover. État : New. New In-Stock Ships Same Day May Have Small Sticker on Book We Ship 7 Days A Week. N° de réf. du libraire mon0000219085

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 8,45
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 3,44
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

2.

Christopher Priest
Edité par Gollancz (2012)
ISBN 10 : 0575070048 ISBN 13 : 9780575070042
Neuf(s) Couverture rigide Quantité : 1
Vendeur
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Gollancz, 2012. Hardcover. État : New. book. N° de réf. du libraire 0575070048

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 17,39
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

3.

Christopher Priest
Edité par Gollancz (2012)
ISBN 10 : 0575070048 ISBN 13 : 9780575070042
Neuf(s) Couverture rigide Quantité : 1
Vendeur
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Gollancz, 2012. Hardcover. État : New. 1. N° de réf. du libraire DADAX0575070048

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 15,23
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 3,43
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

4.

Christopher Priest
ISBN 10 : 0575070048 ISBN 13 : 9780575070042
Neuf(s) Quantité : 1
Vendeur
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre État : Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. N° de réf. du libraire 97805750700421.0

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 18,65
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 3,43
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

5.

Priest, Christopher
Edité par Gollancz (2012)
ISBN 10 : 0575070048 ISBN 13 : 9780575070042
Neuf(s) Couverture rigide Quantité : 2
Vendeur
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Gollancz, 2012. Hardcover. État : New. N° de réf. du libraire P110575070048

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 34,84
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 2,57
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

6.

Priest, Christopher
Edité par Gollancz
ISBN 10 : 0575070048 ISBN 13 : 9780575070042
Neuf(s) Couverture rigide Quantité : 1
Vendeur
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Gollancz. Hardcover. État : New. 0575070048 New Condition. N° de réf. du libraire NEW6.1199542

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 53,09
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 4,29
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais