Soul Comes Home: A Celebration of Stax Records and Memphis Soul Music

9780738926261: Soul Comes Home: A Celebration of Stax Records and Memphis Soul Music

This DVD captures the once-in-a-lifetime concert held on April 30, 2003 to commemorate the grand opening of the Stax Museum of American Soul Music in Memphis, TN. This unique gathering of soul music’s biggest stars performing their greatest hits first aired as a successful PBS special beginning in August and now is available on DVD.

The Stax Museum of American Soul Music in Memphis is located on the original site of the Stax Records studios. It is dedicated to preserving, promoting and interpreting Soul music recorded in the 1960s and ‘70s. Located next door to the Stax Museum, the Stax Music Academy provides free music education to at-risk young people. A portion of the proceeds from the sales of the CD and DVD benefit the Stax Museum.

The DVD features all 16 of the performances seen in the PBS special as well as a bonus track featuring the Bar-Kays and Chuck D performing "Soul Finger."

Program Listing:
1. Eddie Floyd - Knock on Wood
2. Jean Knight - Mr. Big Stuff
3. William Bell -You Don't Miss Your Water
4. Percy Sledge - When A Man Loves A Woman
5. Isaac Hayes - Theme From Shaft
6. Rance Allen - That Will Be Good Enough For Me
7. Michael McDonald & Carla Thomas - When Something's Wrong With My Baby
8. Michael McDonald - (Sittin' On) The Dock Of The Bay
9. The Bar-Kays with Chuck D - Soul Finger
10. Little Milton and Jimmie Vaughan - That's What Love Will Make You Do
11. Al Green - Let’s Stay Together
12. Al Green- Love and Happiness
13. Booker T. & The MGs - Green Onions
14. Solomon Burke - Try A Little Tenderness
15. Solomon Burke with Mack Rice - Mustang Sally
16. Mavis Staples - Respect Yourself
17. Mavis Staples and Ensemble - I'll Take You There

Special Features:
5.1 audio
Widescreen/letterbox edition
Documentary features about the Stax Museum, Isaac Hayes, Otis Redding, Booker T. & The MGs and The Bar-Kays.

Les informations fournies dans la section « Synopsis » peuvent faire référence à une autre édition de ce titre.

Review :

The '60s and '70s soul-R&B revival rolls on with this entertaining 2003 tribute to Stax Records, the Memphis-based label responsible for so much great music during those two decades. Shows featuring the revue format, in which one artist after another performs a hit or two for a rapturous audience comprised largely of aging Baby Boomers, have become something of a cottage industry of late (indeed, this isn't even the first Stax-related tribute; Back to Stax: Memphis Soul was released in '02)--and it's easy to see why, what with the likes of Booker T. & the MGs, Al Green, Isaac Hayes, and Mavis Staples still around to deliver such classics as "Green Onions," "Let's Stay Together," "Theme from Shaft," and "Respect Yourself," respectively. There are few surprises here, and while that certainly doesn't seem to bother the boisterous crowd at Memphis' Orpheum Theater, the emphasis on pure nostalgia tends to make it all seem a bit predictable--all the more reason why the appearance of Public Enemy's Chuck D (who raps on the Bar-Kays' infectious "Soul Finger") is a welcome change of pace. Bonus material includes several short features focusing on the new Stax Museum, the greatness of the late Otis Redding, and so on. --Sam Graham

Les informations fournies dans la section « A propos du livre » peuvent faire référence à une autre édition de ce titre.

(Aucun exemplaire disponible)


Créez une demande

Si vous ne trouvez pas un livre sur AbeBooks, nous le rechercherons automatiquement pour vous parmi les livres quotidiennement ajoutés au catalogue.

Créez une demande