Articles liés à Chaos

Gleick, James Chaos

ISBN 13 : 9780749386061

Chaos

Note moyenne 4,02
( 34 294 avis fournis par Goodreads )
 
9780749386061: Chaos
Afficher les exemplaires de cette édition ISBN
 
 

This book brings together different work in the new field of physics called the chaos theory, an extension of classical mechanics, in which simple and complex causes are seen to interact. Mathematics may only be able to solve simple linear equations which experiment has pushed nature into obeying in a limited way, but now that computers can map the whole plane of solutions of non-linear equations a new vision of nature is revealed. The implications are staggeringly universal in all areas of scientific work and philosophical thought.

Les informations fournies dans la section « Synopsis » peuvent faire référence à une autre édition de ce titre.

Présentation de l'éditeur :

The million-copy bestseller by National Book Award nominee and Pulitzer Prize finalist James Gleick that reveals the science behind chaos theory
National bestseller

More than a million copies sold


A work of popular science in the tradition of Stephen Hawking and Carl Sagan, this 20th-anniversary edition of James Gleick’s groundbreaking bestseller Chaos introduces a whole new readership to chaos theory, one of the most significant waves of scientific knowledge in our time. From Edward Lorenz’s discovery of the Butterfly Effect, to Mitchell Feigenbaum’s calculation of a universal constant, to Benoit Mandelbrot’s concept of fractals, which created a new geometry of nature, Gleick’s engaging narrative focuses on the key figures whose genius converged to chart an innovative direction for science. In Chaos,Gleick makes the story of chaos theory not only fascinating but also accessible to beginners, and opens our eyes to a surprising new view of the universe.

Présentation de l'éditeur :

Uncover one of the most exciting frontiers of modern physics in this fascinating, insightful and accessible overview of Chaos theory.

‘An exceedingly readable introduction to a new intellectual world’ Observer

From the turbulence of the weather to the complicated rythmns of the human heart, ‘chaos’ is at the centre of our day to day lives. Cutting across several scientific disciplines, James Gleick explores and elucidates the science of the unpredicatable with an immensely readable narrative style and flair.

‘An awe-inspiring book. Reading Chaos gave me the sensation that someone had just found the light-switch’ Douglas Adams

Les informations fournies dans la section « A propos du livre » peuvent faire référence à une autre édition de ce titre.

EUR 12,80

Autre devise

Frais de port : Gratuit
De Royaume-Uni vers Etats-Unis

Destinations, frais et délais

Ajouter au panier

Autres éditions populaires du même titre

9780143113454: Chaos: Making a New Science

Edition présentée

ISBN 10 : 0143113453 ISBN 13 : 9780143113454
Editeur : Penguin Books, 2008
Couverture souple

9780670811786: Chaos: Making a New Science

Pengui..., 1987
Couverture rigide

9780140092509: Chaos: Making a New Science

Pengui..., 1988
Couverture souple

9789900165903: Chaos: Making a New Science

The Fo..., 2015
Couverture rigide

9781582881157: Chaos

Couverture rigide

Meilleurs résultats de recherche sur AbeBooks

Image de l'éditeur

James Gleick
Edité par Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2001)
ISBN 10 : 0749386061 ISBN 13 : 9780749386061
Neuf Paperback Quantité disponible : 10
Vendeur
The Book Depository
(London, Royaume-Uni)
Evaluation vendeur

Description du livre Paperback. Etat : New. Language: English. Brand new Book. Uncover one of the most exciting frontiers of modern physics in this fascinating, insightful and accessible overview of Chaos theory.'An exceedingly readable introduction to a new intellectual world' ObserverFrom the turbulence of the weather to the complicated rythmns of the human heart, 'chaos' is at the centre of our day to day lives. Cutting across several scientific disciplines, James Gleick explores and elucidates the science of the unpredicatable with an immensely readable narrative style and flair.'An awe-inspiring book. Reading Chaos gave me the sensation that someone had just found the light-switch' Douglas Adams. N° de réf. du vendeur AAZ9780749386061

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Contacter le vendeur

Acheter neuf
EUR 12,80
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
De Royaume-Uni vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais
Image de l'éditeur

James Gleick
Edité par Vintage 1997-02-24 (1997)
ISBN 10 : 0749386061 ISBN 13 : 9780749386061
Neuf Paperback Quantité disponible : > 20
Vendeur
International Bookstore
(Wallingford, OXON, Royaume-Uni)
Evaluation vendeur

Description du livre Paperback. Etat : New. N° de réf. du vendeur 6959-GRD-9780749386061

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Contacter le vendeur

Acheter neuf
EUR 14,20
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 0,59
De Royaume-Uni vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais
Image fournie par le vendeur

James Gleick
Edité par Vintage Publishing, London (1997)
ISBN 10 : 0749386061 ISBN 13 : 9780749386061
Neuf Paperback Quantité disponible : 1
Vendeur
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur

Description du livre Paperback. Etat : new. Paperback. This book brings together different work in the new field of physics called the chaos theory, an extension of classical mechanics, in which simple and complex causes are seen to interact. Mathematics may only be able to solve simple linear equations which experiment has pushed nature into obeying in a limited way, but now that computers can map the whole plane of solutions of non-linear equations a new vision of nature is revealed. The implications are staggeringly universal in all areas of scientific work and philosophical thought. Brings together work in the field of chaos theory, an extension of classical mechanics, in which simple and complex causes are seen to interact. Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. N° de réf. du vendeur 9780749386061

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Contacter le vendeur

Acheter neuf
EUR 16,07
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais
Image de l'éditeur

James Gleick
Edité par Random House 1997-02-24, London (1997)
ISBN 10 : 0749386061 ISBN 13 : 9780749386061
Neuf paperback Quantité disponible : > 20
Vendeur
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, Royaume-Uni)
Evaluation vendeur

Description du livre paperback. Etat : New. Language: ENG. N° de réf. du vendeur 9780749386061

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Contacter le vendeur

Acheter neuf
EUR 11,47
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 4,70
De Royaume-Uni vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais
Image de l'éditeur

James Gleick
Edité par Vintage 1997-02-24 (1997)
ISBN 10 : 0749386061 ISBN 13 : 9780749386061
Neuf Paperback Quantité disponible : > 20
Vendeur
International Bookstore
(Wallingford, OXON, Royaume-Uni)
Evaluation vendeur

Description du livre Paperback. Etat : New. N° de réf. du vendeur 6959-PEN-9780749386061

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Contacter le vendeur

Acheter neuf
EUR 15,78
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 0,59
De Royaume-Uni vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais
Image de l'éditeur

James Gleick
Edité par Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2001)
ISBN 10 : 0749386061 ISBN 13 : 9780749386061
Neuf Paperback Quantité disponible : 1
Vendeur
Book Depository hard to find
(London, Royaume-Uni)
Evaluation vendeur

Description du livre Paperback. Etat : New. Language: English. Brand new Book. Uncover one of the most exciting frontiers of modern physics in this fascinating, insightful and accessible overview of Chaos theory.'An exceedingly readable introduction to a new intellectual world' ObserverFrom the turbulence of the weather to the complicated rythmns of the human heart, 'chaos' is at the centre of our day to day lives. Cutting across several scientific disciplines, James Gleick explores and elucidates the science of the unpredicatable with an immensely readable narrative style and flair.'An awe-inspiring book. Reading Chaos gave me the sensation that someone had just found the light-switch' Douglas Adams. N° de réf. du vendeur FOY9780749386061

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Contacter le vendeur

Acheter neuf
EUR 16,97
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
De Royaume-Uni vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais
Image de l'éditeur

Gleick, James
Edité par Minerva (1996)
ISBN 10 : 0749386061 ISBN 13 : 9780749386061
Neuf Paperback Quantité disponible : > 20
Vendeur
BooksDorm
(Wangara, WA, Australie)
Evaluation vendeur

Description du livre Paperback. Etat : New. Brand New Book. N° de réf. du vendeur BH-ABE-IPM-9780749386061

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Contacter le vendeur

Acheter neuf
EUR 21,20
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
De Australie vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais
Image fournie par le vendeur

James Gleick
Edité par Mandarin Paperbacks (1996)
ISBN 10 : 0749386061 ISBN 13 : 9780749386061
Neuf Couverture souple Quantité disponible : 1
Vendeur
My Books Store
(Tallahassee, FL, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur

Description du livre Etat : new. Book is in NEW condition. Satisfaction Guaranteed! Fast Customer Service!!. N° de réf. du vendeur MBSN0749386061

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Contacter le vendeur

Acheter neuf
EUR 18,23
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 3,53
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais
Image de l'éditeur

James Gleick
Edité par Minerva (1996)
ISBN 10 : 0749386061 ISBN 13 : 9780749386061
Neuf Couverture souple Quantité disponible : > 20
Vendeur
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, Royaume-Uni)
Evaluation vendeur

Description du livre Etat : New. N° de réf. du vendeur ria9780749386061_new

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Contacter le vendeur

Acheter neuf
EUR 13,89
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 8,24
De Royaume-Uni vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais
Image de l'éditeur

James Gleick
Edité par Vintage (1997)
ISBN 10 : 0749386061 ISBN 13 : 9780749386061
Neuf Paperback Quantité disponible : 2
Vendeur
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, Royaume-Uni)
Evaluation vendeur

Description du livre Paperback. Etat : Brand New. 368 pages. 7.76x5.08x0.87 inches. In Stock. N° de réf. du vendeur __0749386061

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Contacter le vendeur

Acheter neuf
EUR 12,80
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 11,78
De Royaume-Uni vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

autres exemplaires de ce livre sont disponibles

Afficher tous les résultats pour ce livre