Billy Baldwin: The Great American Decorator

Note moyenne 0
( 0 avis fournis par GoodReads )
 
9780847833672: Billy Baldwin: The Great American Decorator

Book by Lewis Adam

Les informations fournies dans la section « Synopsis » peuvent faire référence à une autre édition de ce titre.

Présentation de l'éditeur :

The definitive book on the legendary decorator Billy Baldwin, known as the "Dean of American Decorating," famous for his classical taste, streamlined modernism, and brilliant use of color. In the tradition of Rizzoli’s Albert Hadley and David Hicks, this is the first fully illustrated account of the career of Billy Baldwin (1903–1983), one of the most important decorators of the twentieth century, whose work has influenced contemporary designers from Bunny Williams to Jeffrey Bilhuber. A native of Baltimore, Baldwin’s work caught the eye of eminent New York decorator Ruby Ross Wood. She invited him to join her firm, saying his work stood out "like a beacon of light in the boredom of the houses around it." Baldwin’s style was a revelation—simultaneously classical and modernist, tailored and clean, yet dramatically colored, and above all American. An enemy of clutter and conspicuous wealth, he favored natural materials and comfortable furniture. The drama in his rooms often came from color, as seen in the dark brown lacquered walls of Cole Porter’s library or the scarlet cotton print that covered Diana Vreeland’s apartment. Immensely charming, Baldwin was a popular addition to the high society of New York. His clients included Bill and Deeda Blair, Babe and Bill Paley, and Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis. With a foreword by Baldwin’s former student Albert Hadley, and enriched by never-before-published transcripts of four 1974 lectures that Baldwin gave at the Cooper-Hewitt, this is an important book for anyone interested in interior design.

Revue de presse :

"Adam Lewis's new book, 'Billy Baldwin: The Great American Decorator' (Rizzoli), surveys the life and career of the man whose pared-down versions of the slipper chair and brass bookshelves became famous, and whose work continues to influence designers long after his death in 1983... The book, which has an affectionate foreword by Albert Hadley, Baldwin's former student, is a welcome addition to the two (out-of-print and increasingly expensive) volumes on the decorator's work..." ~ New York Times, T Magazine Blog

Les informations fournies dans la section « A propos du livre » peuvent faire référence à une autre édition de ce titre.

Meilleurs résultats de recherche sur AbeBooks

1.

Adam Lewis
Edité par Rizzoli (2010)
ISBN 10 : 0847833674 ISBN 13 : 9780847833672
Neuf(s) Couverture rigide Quantité : 3
Vendeur
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Rizzoli, 2010. Hardcover. État : New. N° de réf. du libraire P110847833674

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 144,10
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 2,78
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

2.

Adam Lewis
Edité par Rizzoli (2010)
ISBN 10 : 0847833674 ISBN 13 : 9780847833672
Neuf(s) Couverture rigide Quantité : 1
Vendeur
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Rizzoli, 2010. Hardcover. État : New. N° de réf. du libraire DADAX0847833674

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 272,21
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 3,71
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

3.

Adam Lewis
Edité par Rizzoli (2010)
ISBN 10 : 0847833674 ISBN 13 : 9780847833672
Neuf(s) Couverture rigide Quantité : 1
Vendeur
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Rizzoli, 2010. État : New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: "Adam Lewis's new book, 'Billy Baldwin: The Great American Decorator' (Rizzoli), surveys the life and career of the man whose pared-down versions of the slipper chair and brass bookshelves became famous, and whose work continues to influence designers long after his death in 1983. The book, which has an affectionate foreword by Albert Hadley, Baldwin's former student, is a welcome addition to the two (out-of-print and increasingly expensive) volumes on the decorator's work." ~New York Times, T Magazine Blog. N° de réf. du libraire ABE_book_new_0847833674

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 276,02
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

4.

Adam Lewis
Edité par Rizzoli (2010)
ISBN 10 : 0847833674 ISBN 13 : 9780847833672
Neuf(s) Couverture rigide Quantité : 1
Vendeur
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Rizzoli, 2010. Hardcover. État : New. book. N° de réf. du libraire 847833674

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 334,74
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais