Corinne Duyvis On the Edge of Gone

ISBN 13 : 9781419719035

On the Edge of Gone

Note moyenne 3,94
( 1 490 avis fournis par Goodreads )
 
9781419719035: On the Edge of Gone

A thrilling, thought-provoking novel from one of young-adult literature’s boldest new talents.
 January 29, 2035. That’s the day the comet is scheduled to hit—the big one. Denise and her mother and sister, Iris, have been assigned to a temporary shelter outside their hometown of Amsterdam to wait out the blast, but Iris is nowhere to be found, and at the rate Denise’s drug-addicted mother is going, they’ll never reach the shelter in time. A last-minute meeting leads them to something better than a temporary shelter—a generation ship, scheduled to leave Earth behind to colonize new worlds after the comet hits. But everyone on the ship has been chosen because of their usefulness. Denise is autistic and fears that she’ll never be allowed to stay. Can she obtain a spot before the ship takes flight? What about her mother and sister? When the future of the human race is at stake, whose lives matter most?

Les informations fournies dans la section « Synopsis » peuvent faire référence à une autre édition de ce titre.

About the Author :

Corinne Duyvis is a novelist and short story writer and an editor of the website Disability in Kidlit. She’s a graduate of the Clarion West writer’s workshop and lives in Amsterdam. Her first novel, Otherbound, received four starred reviews, and Horn Book called it “a humdinger of an adventure that contains the agony of loyalty, the allure of magic, and, most gratifyingly, the element of surprise.” www.corinneduyvis.net.

Review :

**STARRED REVIEW**
"...what makes this a winner is the nerve-racking adventure. Life-affirming science fiction with spaceships, optimism in the apocalypse, and a diverse cast that reflects the real world."  (Kirkus)

"Denise’s fear is palpable throughout, which helps to push this sci-fi novel into thriller territory... Duyvis’ attention to detail and strong descriptions will recommend this to fans of the genre." (Booklist)

***STARRED REVIEW***
"Insightful, suspenseful, and unsettling in its plausibility, this novel is sure to stick with readers long after the last page has been turned. VERDICT A high level of believability and excellent writing make this diverse apocalyptic novel a recommended selection for any young adult collection." (School Library Journal)

“Readers are immersed in the tics and tactile aspects of Denise's condition as Duyvis (Otherbound) skillfully incorporates an exploration of complex mental conditions, addiction, and gender identity into her narrative. It's a riveting apocalyptic thriller with substantial depth.” (Publishers Weekly)

**STARRED REVIEW**
“This novel offers an edge-of-your-seat survival plot and a compelling narrative. It subtly raises questions about the value of a human life without didacticism or easy answers, and the diverse cast, including a biracial heroine and characters of various races, religions, and sexualities, gives the novel real-world authenticity and impact. Duyvis deftly balances broader social elements with a powerful family story...A worthy readalike for North’s Starglass, this near-future scifi will gain fans amongst those who want a story that is simultaneously heartbreaking and thought-provoking." (BCCB)

"There is a great level of diversity in this book, which raises questions of who is worth saving and what makes a person have value." (School Library Connection)

Les informations fournies dans la section « A propos du livre » peuvent faire référence à une autre édition de ce titre.

Meilleurs résultats de recherche sur AbeBooks

1.

Duyvis, Corinne
Edité par AMULET (2016)
ISBN 10 : 1419719033 ISBN 13 : 9781419719035
Neuf(s) Soft Cover Edition originale Quantité : 1
Vendeur
BuyBuyBooks
(Manhasset, NY, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre AMULET, 2016. Soft Cover. État : New. First PRINTING. This is an advance reading, SOFTCOVER uncorrected proof copy.THESE EDITIONS ARE HIGHLY COLLECTIBLE SINCE ARCS ARE PUBLISHED IN VERY LIMITED EDITIONS AND ARE OFTEN MARKED AS FIRST EDITIONS.FULL COLOR COVER . Advanced Reading Copy (ARC). N° de réf. du libraire 0904104

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 6,19
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 3,82
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

2.

Corinne Duyvis
ISBN 10 : 1419719033 ISBN 13 : 9781419719035
Neuf(s) Quantité : > 20
Vendeur
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre État : New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. N° de réf. du libraire 97814197190350000000

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 10,38
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

3.

Corinne Duyvis
Edité par Abrams, United States (2016)
ISBN 10 : 1419719033 ISBN 13 : 9781419719035
Neuf(s) Couverture rigide Quantité : 10
Vendeur
The Book Depository US
(London, Royaume-Uni)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Abrams, United States, 2016. Hardback. État : New. Language: English . Brand New Book. A thrilling, thought-provoking novel from one of young-adult literature s boldest new talents. January 29, 2035. That s the day the comet is scheduled to hit--the big one. Denise and her mother and sister, Iris, have been assigned to a temporary shelter outside their hometown of Amsterdam to wait out the blast, but Iris is nowhere to be found and at the rate Denise s drug-addicted mother is going, they ll never reach the shelter in time. A last-minute meeting leads them to something better than a temporary shelter--a generation ship, scheduled to leave Earth behind to colonize new worlds after the comet hits. But everyone on the ship has been chosen because of their usefulness. Denise is autistic and fears that she ll never be allowed to stay. Can she obtain a spot before the ship takes flight? What about her mother and sister? When the future of the human race is at stake, whose lives matter most?. N° de réf. du libraire AA29781419719035

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 10,75
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
De Royaume-Uni vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

4.

Corinne Duyvis
Edité par Abrams, United States (2016)
ISBN 10 : 1419719033 ISBN 13 : 9781419719035
Neuf(s) Couverture rigide Quantité : 10
Vendeur
The Book Depository
(London, Royaume-Uni)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Abrams, United States, 2016. Hardback. État : New. Language: English . Brand New Book. A thrilling, thought-provoking novel from one of young-adult literature s boldest new talents. January 29, 2035. That s the day the comet is scheduled to hit--the big one. Denise and her mother and sister, Iris, have been assigned to a temporary shelter outside their hometown of Amsterdam to wait out the blast, but Iris is nowhere to be found and at the rate Denise s drug-addicted mother is going, they ll never reach the shelter in time. A last-minute meeting leads them to something better than a temporary shelter--a generation ship, scheduled to leave Earth behind to colonize new worlds after the comet hits. But everyone on the ship has been chosen because of their usefulness. Denise is autistic and fears that she ll never be allowed to stay. Can she obtain a spot before the ship takes flight? What about her mother and sister? When the future of the human race is at stake, whose lives matter most?. N° de réf. du libraire AA29781419719035

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 10,76
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
De Royaume-Uni vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

5.

Duyvis, Corinne
Edité par Hachette Book Group
ISBN 10 : 1419719033 ISBN 13 : 9781419719035
Neuf(s) Quantité : > 20
Vendeur
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Hachette Book Group. État : New. Brand New. N° de réf. du libraire 1419719033

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 8,87
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 3,01
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

6.

Corinne Duyvis
Edité par Abrams Books 2016-03-08 (2016)
ISBN 10 : 1419719033 ISBN 13 : 9781419719035
Neuf(s) Couverture rigide Quantité : 3
Vendeur
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, Royaume-Uni)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Abrams Books 2016-03-08, 2016. Hardcover. État : New. N° de réf. du libraire NU-GRD-05358192

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 8,60
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 3,35
De Royaume-Uni vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

7.

Duyvis, Corinne
ISBN 10 : 1419719033 ISBN 13 : 9781419719035
Neuf(s) Quantité : 7
Vendeur
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre 2016. HRD. État : New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. N° de réf. du libraire IB-9781419719035

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 9,19
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 3,43
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

8.

Duyvis, Corinne
ISBN 10 : 1419719033 ISBN 13 : 9781419719035
Neuf(s) Quantité : > 20
Vendeur
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre 2016. HRD. État : New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. N° de réf. du libraire KB-9781419719035

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 9,31
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 3,43
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

9.

Duyvis, Corinne
ISBN 10 : 1419719033 ISBN 13 : 9781419719035
Neuf(s) Couverture rigide Quantité : 8
Vendeur
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Hardcover. État : New. N° de réf. du libraire 9827099

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 9,65
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 3,43
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

10.

Duyvis, Corinne
Edité par Abrams (2016)
ISBN 10 : 1419719033 ISBN 13 : 9781419719035
Neuf(s) Couverture rigide Quantité : 5
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Abrams, 2016. État : New. A young-adult novel about surviving the end of the world--but at what cost?--by the critically acclaimed author of Otherbound Num Pages: 464 pages. BIC Classification: 5AN; YFG. Category: (Y) Teenage / Young Adult. Dimension: 210 x 140. . . 2016. Hardcover. . . . . . N° de réf. du libraire V9781419719035

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 13,32
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
De Irlande vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

autres exemplaires de ce livre sont disponibles

Afficher tous les résultats pour ce livre