From the Barrel of a Gun: The United States and the War Against Zimbabwe, 1965-1980 (Paperback)

Gerald Horne

Edité par The University of North Carolina Press, 2001
ISBN 10: 0807849030 / ISBN 13: 9780807849033
Ancien(s) ou d'occasion / Paperback / Quantité : 0
Disponible auprès d'autres vendeurs
Afficher tous les  exemplaires de ce livre

Au sujet du livre

Ce livre n'est malheureusement plus disponible. AbeBooks dispose cependant de millions de livres. Ci-dessous, nous vous proposons une liste de livres pouvant correspondre à votre recherche.

Description :

Language: English . Brand New Book. America s ambivalent role in an African liberation struggle In November 1965, lan Smith s white minority government in Southern Rhodesia (now Zimbabwe) made a unilateral declaration of independence, breaking with Great Britain. With a European population of a few hundred thousand dominating an African majority of several million, Rhodesia s racial structure echoed the apartheid of neighboring South Africa. Smith s declaration sparked an escalating guerrilla war that claimed thousands of lives. Across the Atlantic, President Lyndon B. Johnson nervously watched events in Rhodesia, fearing that racial conflict abroad could inflame racial discord at home. Although Washington officially voiced concerns over human rights violations, an attitude of tolerance generally marked U.S. relations with the Rhodesian government: sanctions were imposed but not strictly enforced, and hundreds, perhaps thousands, of American mercenaries joined white Rhodesia s side in battle with little to fear from U.S. laws. Despite such tacit U.S. support, Smith s regime fell in 1980, and the independent state of Zimbabwe was born. The first comprehensive account of American involvement in the war against Zimbabwe, this compelling work also explores how our relationship with Rhodesia shaped interracial dynarnics in the United States, and vice versa. N° de réf. du libraire

A propos du livre :

Book ratings provided by Goodreads) :
3,7 note moyenne
(10 avis)

Synopsis : In November 1965, Ian Smith's white minority government in Southern Rhodesia (now Zimbabwe) made a unilateral declaration of independence, breaking with Great Britain. With a European population of a few hundred thousand dominating an African majority of several million, Rhodesia's racial structure echoed the apartheid of neighboring South Africa. Smith's declaration sparked an escalating guerrilla war that claimed thousands of lives. Across the Atlantic, President Lyndon B. Johnson nervously watched events in Rhodesia, fearing that racial conflict abroad could inflame racial discord at home. Although Washington officially voiced concerns over human rights violations, an attitude of tolerance generally marked U. S. relations with the Rhodesian government: sanctions were imposed but not strictly enforced, and hundreds, perhaps thousands, of American mercenaries joined white Rhodesia's side in battle with little to fear from U. S. laws. Despite such tacit U. S. support, Smith's regime fell in 1980, and the independent state of Zimbabwe was born. The first comprehensive account of American involvement in the war against Zimbabwe, this compelling work also explores how our relationship with Rhodesia helped define interracial dynamics in the United States, and vice versa.

Book Description: "In the tradition of Walter Rodney, Gerald Horne brilliantly writes black history in a comparative and Pan-African context. From the Barrel of a Gun provides the best historical study to date on the African struggle to overthrow the white minority rule in Zimbabwe. Horne convincingly documents the central role of the United States in delaying the decolonization of Zimbabwe. This is an impressive and comprehensive study of modern African political history."--Manning Marable, Columbia University

Les informations fournies dans la section « A propos du livre » peuvent faire référence à une autre édition de ce titre.

Détails bibliographiques

Titre : From the Barrel of a Gun: The United States ...
Éditeur : The University of North Carolina Press
Date d'édition : 2001
Reliure : Paperback
Etat du livre : New
Edition : 1st New edition.

Meilleurs résultats de recherche sur AbeBooks

1.

ISBN 10 : 0807849030 ISBN 13 : 9780807849033
Ancien(s) ou d'occasion Quantité : 1
Vendeur
AAGoods
(North Highlands, CA, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre État : Good. Fast Shipping. N° de réf. du libraire 3VCCFH000HE9

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter D'occasion
EUR 3,53
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 3,43
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

2.

Gerald Horne
Edité par The University of North Carolina Press (2001)
ISBN 10 : 0807849030 ISBN 13 : 9780807849033
Ancien(s) ou d'occasion Paperback Quantité : 1
Vendeur
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre The University of North Carolina Press, 2001. Paperback. État : Used: Good. N° de réf. du libraire SONG0807849030

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter D'occasion
EUR 5,40
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 3,43
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

3.

Horne, Gerald
Edité par The University of North Carolina Press
ISBN 10 : 0807849030 ISBN 13 : 9780807849033
Ancien(s) ou d'occasion PAPERBACK Quantité : 11
Vendeur
Midtown Scholar with FREE U.S. SHIPPING
(Harrisburg, PA, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre The University of North Carolina Press. PAPERBACK. État : Very Good. 0807849030 Crisp, clean, unread paperback with light shelfwear to the covers and a remainder mark to one edge - Nice!. N° de réf. du libraire Z0807849030Z2

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter D'occasion
EUR 9,49
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

4.

Gerald Horne
ISBN 10 : 0807849030 ISBN 13 : 9780807849033
Ancien(s) ou d'occasion Quantité : 1
Vendeur
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre État : Good. Book Condition: Good. N° de réf. du libraire 97808078490334.0

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter D'occasion
EUR 11,55
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 3,43
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

5.

Horne, Gerald
Edité par University of North Carolina Press, Chapel Hill, NC, U.S.A. (2001)
ISBN 10 : 0807849030 ISBN 13 : 9780807849033
Ancien(s) ou d'occasion Soft Cover Quantité : 1
Vendeur
Book Dispensary
(Vaughan, ON, Canada)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre University of North Carolina Press, Chapel Hill, NC, U.S.A., 2001. Soft Cover. État : Very Good. VERY GOOD softcover, no marks in text, uncreased spine, clean exterior. N° de réf. du libraire 093916

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter D'occasion
EUR 11,51
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 3,44
De Canada vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

6.

Gerald Horne
ISBN 10 : 0807849030 ISBN 13 : 9780807849033
Ancien(s) ou d'occasion Quantité : 1
Vendeur
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre État : Very Good. Book Condition: Very Good. N° de réf. du libraire 97808078490333.0

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter D'occasion
EUR 17,49
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 3,43
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

7.

Horne, Gerald
Edité par The University of North Carolina Press (2001)
ISBN 10 : 0807849030 ISBN 13 : 9780807849033
Ancien(s) ou d'occasion Paperback Quantité : 1
Vendeur
BookStore Independent
(Memphis, TN, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre The University of North Carolina Press, 2001. Paperback. État : Used: Good. N° de réf. du libraire 14032526

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter D'occasion
EUR 19,47
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 4,27
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

8.

Gerald Horne
Edité par The University of North Carolina Press 2001-06-25 (2001)
ISBN 10 : 0807849030 ISBN 13 : 9780807849033
Ancien(s) ou d'occasion Paperback Quantité : 1
Vendeur
Lost Books
(AUSTIN, TX, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre The University of North Carolina Press 2001-06-25, 2001. Paperback. État : good. 0807849030. N° de réf. du libraire 522132

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter D'occasion
EUR 21,88
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 3,43
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

9.

Gerald Horne
Edité par The University of North Carolina Press (2001)
ISBN 10 : 0807849030 ISBN 13 : 9780807849033
Neuf(s) Paperback Quantité : 1
Vendeur
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre The University of North Carolina Press, 2001. Paperback. État : New. book. N° de réf. du libraire 0807849030

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter neuf
EUR 30,42
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

10.

Horne, Gerald
Edité par The University of North Carolina Press (2001)
ISBN 10 : 0807849030 ISBN 13 : 9780807849033
Ancien(s) ou d'occasion Quantité : 1
Vendeur
Nearfine Books
(Brooklyn, NY, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre The University of North Carolina Press, 2001. État : very good. Gently used. Expect delivery in 2-3 weeks. N° de réf. du libraire 9780807849033-3

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter D'occasion
EUR 29,22
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 3,44
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

23 autres exemplaires de ce livre sont disponibles

Afficher tous les résultats pour ce livre