Image de l'éditeur

Chang and Eng

Strauss, Darin

Edité par Dutton, 2000
ISBN 10: 0525945121 / ISBN 13: 9780525945123
Ancien(s) ou d'occasion / Hardcover / Quantité : 1
Vendeur Bill Leone, Bookseller, ABAA (Palos Verdes Estates, CA, Etats-Unis)
Disponible auprès d'autres vendeurs
Afficher tous les  exemplaires de ce livre
Ajouter au panier
Prix: EUR 23,65
Autre devise
Livraison : EUR 3,63
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

Mettre de côté

Au sujet du livre

Détails bibliographiques

Titre : Chang and Eng

Éditeur : Dutton

Date d'édition : 2000

Reliure : Hardcover

Etat du livre : Fine

Etat de la jaquette : Fine

Signé : Signed by Author

Edition : 1st Edition.

Description :

First Edition (first printing). The debut novel by this New York writer, the fictional narrative of the lives of the Siamese twins Chang and Eng Bunker. Fine/Fine. Signed and dated 8/29/00 by Strauss on the title page. N° de réf. du libraire 2959

A propos du livre :

Book ratings provided by GoodReads) :
3,28 note moyenne
(1 545 avis)

Synopsis : Born attached at the chest, Chang and Eng Bunker were the Siamese twins for whom the term was coined, one of the nineteenth century's most fabled human oddities. Now Darin Strauss has rescued the twins from the sideshow of history, drawing from their extraordinary conjoined lives a first novel of exceptional beauty.

Taken from Thailand as adolescents, Chang and Eng toured the world's stages, quickly finding celebrity status while performing in a cage. Where Chang was coarse, gregarious, and prone to drinking spells, Eng was introverted, refined, and an advocate of temperance and education. During their lives they were greeted by royalty, toasted by London, and yet mocked by carnival crowds. The twins eventually married two sisters from North Carolina and settled down to a life of farming and raising two families, which they did with exceptional results by fathering twenty-one children. Though forever bound, they died at separate times. Chang passed away at age sixty-three, four hours before Eng--leaving his brother alone at last.

Narrated by Eng, Chang and Eng follows the twins from poverty to wealth, from solitude to boundless love, from the court of the King of Siam to the crowded bedroom of their North Carolina home. In the tradition of I Was Amelia Earhart and Memoirs of a Geisha, Chang and Eng is an unforgettable and sublimely moving story that reveals above all the longings and humanity of these remarkable twins.

Critique: Narrated by Eng, one of a pair of conjoined twins, Chang and Eng is a daring novel that constantly threatens to lose its balance. It's also one that would be hard to believe were it not rigorously grounded in historical fact. Like the (literally) inseparable protagonists of Darin Strauss's debut, Chang and Eng Bunker were born in the early 1800s in a rainy village on the shores of the Mekong Delta. Achieving instant fame as the "Siamese double boy," they toured freak shows throughout China, Europe, and North America. Eventually they settled in North Carolina (of all places), married a pair of sisters, and fathered 21 children between them.

This fictionalized version of their story is narrated by the stronger, more circumspect twin, Eng, who must continually urge Chang to restrain his tears, his burning sexual desires, and his fear of the King of Siam (who has promised to "kill the double-child, the bad omen"). From the beginning, Strauss masterfully delineates the brothers' differences. Yet it's the porous nature of their relationship that will fascinate readers even more. The twins, after all, must always sleep face to face, connected by a fleshy band and the knowledge of their shared monstrosity. The fact that they are neither "he" nor "we" allows the author myriad opportunities for wordplay and psychological riddles. Does Chang love his brother, or does he love himself? When he hates his brother, is it only a piece of himself he is hating? Might the connecting band be its own entity, a pet that the brothers must tend to and feed? When they were children, Eng recalls, the band

was about two inches long, and Chang loved it. He called it Tzon, or ripe banana, and wailed if ever I mentioned severing it. It was more taut then, and would crackle like an old knee when we inched closer or farther apart (no one had any idea the thing would grow with us, and one day allow lateral positioning). I often fidgeted with a stretch of brown leathery skin--a hairy birthmark--midway across it, and also a little brown dot, a charming dinky island that lived, insolently, just free from the shoreline of the larger birthmark.
The novel's agile prose is like a smooth, strong current, pulling the twins away from their awkward lives. To his great credit, Strauss spends very little time dwelling on Chang and Eng as monsters, and their freak-show existence surfaces only in short, painful flashbacks--a jeering interlude that the narrator would sooner forget. And Eng's voice is a compelling one, full of quips, insecurities, and jealousy. Indeed, at some moments he seems like a standard-issue Renaissance man, reading Shakespeare in the afternoon, dreaming about pretty women, recounting his extensive travels. Yet the tragic fact remains: no matter how many countries this cosmopolitan visits, he will never have a room to himself. --Emily White

Les informations fournies dans la section « A propos du livre » peuvent faire référence à une autre édition de ce titre.

Librairie et conditions de vente

Modes de paiement

Le libraire accepte les modes de paiement suivants :

  • American Express
  • Carte Bleue
  • Chèque
  • EuroCard/MasterCard
  • Mandat postal
  • PayPal
  • Visa

[Chercher dans le catalogue du libraire]

[Afficher le catalogue du vendeur]

[Poser une question au libraire]

Libraire : Bill Leone, Bookseller, ABAA
Adresse : Palos Verdes Estates, CA, Etats-Unis

Vendeur AbeBooks depuis : 22 septembre 1998
Evaluation du vendeur : Evaluation 5 étoiles

Conditions de vente :

This is a single proprietorship, owned and operated by William C Leone Jr, 2408 Chelsea Road, Palos Verdes Estates, CA 90274, USA. The email address is and phone number is 310-377-2628. Payment by check, money order, VISA, MasterCard, American Express or PayPal. Member, ABAA. California residents add 9.00% sales tax.

Conditions de livraison :

Orders usually ship within 2 business days. Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required. The dust jacket for every book shipped is covered with mylar/plastic. Every item is shipped in a sturdy box with bubble-wrap to ensure safe delivery.

Description de la librairie : An on-line and by-appointment-only bookseller specializing in modern first editions and signed books.