Image de l'éditeur

DJSturbia (PRISTINE, MINT, HARDCOVER UNREAD COPY)--SIGNED LIMITED EDITION

David J. Schow

4 avis par Goodreads
ISBN 10: 1596067721 / ISBN 13: 9781596067721
Edité par Subterranean, 2016
Neuf(s) Etat : New Couverture rigide
Vendeur The Coven (Los Angeles, CA, Etats-Unis)

Vendeur AbeBooks depuis 16 février 1998

Quantité : 1

Acheter neuf
Prix conseillé : 40.00
Prix: EUR 57,40 Autre devise
Livraison : EUR 3 Vers Etats-Unis Destinations, frais et délais
Ajouter au panier

A propos de cet article

2016. Hardcover. First Edition (So stated)--First Printing. LIMITED EDITION OF 750 NUMBERED COPIES EACH SIGNED BY DAVID J. SCHOW, THIS BEING #101. 314 pp. Pristine, Mint, unread copy. Lovecraftian horrors. Extraterrestrial insects. Giant serpents. Gargoyles and ghosts. Gunfighters and assassins. The battlefield monstrosities known as Warbirds, the alien invaders called Black Widowers, and — oh, yes — a little critter named Bob. Classic monsters lurk here, too: That Creature from That Lagoon. That Thing from Another World. Monsters living, monsters dead and in-between. David J. Schow’s newest collection features his usual lucky thirteen short stories — shoot ‘em ups, horror noir, and surprises aplenty — plus, for the first time, a poison-candy sampler of thirteen additional essays covering everything from The Crow to live snake-handling. A World Fantasy Award winner for short fiction, DJS has come to escort you into the dark suburbs of his imagination — DJSturbia. Specially Illustrated Endpapers. Mint in Mint DJ with wraparound illustration. N° de réf. du libraire 9381

Poser une question au libraire

Détails bibliographiques

Titre : DJSturbia (PRISTINE, MINT, HARDCOVER UNREAD ...

Éditeur : Subterranean

Date d'édition : 2016

Reliure : Hardcover

Etat du livre :New

Etat de la jaquette : New

Signé : Signed by Author(s)

Edition : 1st Edition, Limited Edition

A propos de ce titre

Synopsis :

DJSturbia is home to monsters.
All kinds of monsters, from skyscraper-sized Godzilla (twice!) to the microscopic space germ known as the Andromeda Strain. Monsters human and inhuman, from fictional psycho killers to the real-life terrorists of 9/11. Lovecraftian horrors. Extraterrestrial insects. Giant serpents. Gargoyles and ghosts. Gunfighters and assassins. The battlefield monstrosities known as Warbirds, the alien invaders called Black Widowers, and—oh, yes—a little critter named Bob.

Classic monsters lurk here, too: That Creature from That Lagoon. That Thing from Another World. Monsters living, monsters dead...and in-between.

David J. Schow's newest collection features his usual lucky thirteen short stories—shoot 'em ups, horror noir, and surprises aplenty—plus, for the first time, a poison-candy sampler of thirteen additional essays covering everything from The Crow to live snake-handling.

A World Fantasy Award winner for short fiction, DJS has come to escort you into the dark suburbs of his imagination—DJSturbia.

From School Library Journal:

Schow, winner of the Bram Stoker and World Fantasy Awards, pairs 13 short stories with 13 essays in his newest collection, which circles around the idea of monsters, both real and fictional. The essays range in topic from the dangers of censorship after 9/11 to the history of science fiction conventions. Fans of the cult movie The Crow will relish reading about some of the extra features from the movie that are still unavailable. However, there is considerable time devoted to what Schow sees as a dumbing down of society and even a mention of "digital natives" not being interested in erudite literary pursuits, so any teens who are insulted by this argument will be turned off by the general attitude behind some of the essays. Teens will be more drawn to the content of the short stories, which are mostly modern horror with a classic feel: a revenge-seeking entity goes on a murdering spree in "The Finger"; "Blue Amber," a tale about killer bugs, would be a good read-alike for Andrew Smith's Grasshopper Jungle; and "The Chili Hunters" details the dangers of losing one's virginity under the stars. VERDICT A quirky selection of short stories and essays that will appeal to fans of imaginative horror tales, especially those with an interest in classic films such as Godzilla and The Thing.—Carrie Shaurette, Dwight-Englewood School, Englewood, NJ

Les informations fournies dans la section « A propos du livre » peuvent faire référence à une autre édition de ce titre.

Description de la librairie

Always have more titles than I can list in mystery, horror, suspense, and science fiction. Feel free to ask questions or send want lists. I'm small and really try to get to know my customers--and be as helpful as I can. Specialize in mystery, horror science fiction and review copies. Have quite a few signed copies

Visitez la page d?accueil du vendeur

Conditions de vente :

MUCH PREFER PAYMENT BY PERSONAL CHECK, MONEY ORDER, BANK CHECK OR PAY APAL WHICH
YOU CAN SIGN UP FOR AT WWW.PAYPAL.COM. (I CAN SOMETIMES OFFER FREE SHIPPING WHEN
YOU USE THESE FORMS OF PAYMENT--E-MAIL ME OR CALL DIRECTLY INSTEAD OF PRESSING
SHOPPING CAR ICON. BUT I CAN ALSO TAKE (THROUGH ABE PROCESSING) MASTERCARD AND
VISA --FOR THAT YOU NEED TO USE SHOPPING CART ICON.
PLEASE FEEL FREE TO CALL OR E-MAIL ME WITH ANY QUESTIONS.
Shipping is $3.50 for the first book. $.75 for each additional book up...

Pour plus d'information
Conditions de livraison :

Orders usually ship within 2 business days. Shipping costs are based on books
weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may
contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.
INTERNATIONAL SHIPPING: PLEASE NOTE THAT THE USPS HAS RECENTLY RAISED RATES AND
ELIMINATED ALTOGETHER SURFACE OR STANDARD INTERNATIONAL SHIPPING. THUS ALL BOOKS
HAVE TO GO BY AIRMAIL, FOR WHICH THE DEFAULT RATE IS $29.00 FOR THE FIRST BOOK
TO ALL COUNTRIES. THIS, HOWEVER, MAY BE ADJUSTED DUE TO THE DIMENSIONS AND
WEIGHT OF THE BOOK, IN WHICH CASE PLACE YOUR ORDER AND YOU WILL BE NOTIFIED IF
CHANGES APPLY. THANK YOU.

Afficher le catalogue du vendeur

Modes de paiement
acceptés par le vendeur

Visa Mastercard American Express Carte Bleue

Chèque Mandat postal En espèce PayPal Traite bancaire