Image de l'éditeur

The Dream Lover: A Novel

Berg, Elizabeth

4 571 avis par Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0812993152 / ISBN 13: 9780812993158
Edité par Random House, U.S.A., 2015
Etat : As New Couverture rigide
Vendeur Reader's Corner, Inc. (Raleigh, NC, Etats-Unis)

Vendeur AbeBooks depuis 11 janvier 2000

Quantité : 1

Acheter D'occasion
Prix: EUR 17,56 Autre devise
Livraison : EUR 2,98 Vers Etats-Unis Destinations, frais et délais
Ajouter au panier

A propos de cet article

This is a fine, as new, hardcover first edition, first printing copy in a fine mylar protected DJ, brownish spine. Flat signed by the author on the title page. With a round white AUTOGRAPHED COPY sticker on the DJ. Size: 8vo - over 7¾" - 9¾" tall. N° de réf. du libraire 071867

Poser une question au libraire

Détails bibliographiques

Titre : The Dream Lover: A Novel

Éditeur : Random House, U.S.A.

Date d'édition : 2015

Reliure : Hard Cover

Etat du livre :As New

Etat de la jaquette : As New

Signé : Signed By Author

Edition : First Edition, First Printing.

A propos de ce titre

Synopsis :

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER · NAMED ONE OF THE TEN BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY USA TODAY · Elizabeth Berg has written a lush historical novel based on the sensuous Parisian life of the nineteenth-century writer George Sand—which is perfect for readers of Nancy Horan and Elizabeth Gilbert.

At the beginning of this powerful novel, we meet Aurore Dupin as she is leaving her estranged husband, a loveless marriage, and her family’s estate in the French countryside to start a new life in Paris. There, she gives herself a new name—George Sand—and pursues her dream of becoming a writer, embracing an unconventional and even scandalous lifestyle.

Paris in the nineteenth century comes vividly alive, illuminated by the story of the loves, passions, and fierce struggles of a woman who defied the confines of society. Sand’s many lovers and friends include Frédéric Chopin, Gustave Flaubert, Franz Liszt, Eugène Delacroix, Victor Hugo, Marie Dorval, and Alfred de Musset. As Sand welcomes fame and friendship, she fights to overcome heartbreak and prejudice, failure and loss. Though considered the most gifted genius of her time, she works to reconcile the pain of her childhood, of disturbing relationships with her mother and daughter, and of her intimacies with women and men. Will the life she longs for always be just out of reach—a dream?
 
Brilliantly written in luminous prose, and with remarkable insights into the heart and mind of a literary force, The Dream Lover tells the unforgettable story of a courageous, irresistible woman.

Praise for The Dream Lover

“Exquisitely captivating . . . Sand’s story is so timely and modern in an era when gender and sexual roles are upended daily.”USA Today

“Fantastic . . . a provocative and dazzling portrait . . . Berg tells a terrific story, while simultaneously exploring sexuality, art, and the difficult personal choices women artists in particular made—then and now—in order to succeed. . . . The book, imagistic and perfectly paced, full of dialogue that clips along, is a reader’s dream.”The Boston Globe

“Absorbing . . . an armchair traveler’s delight . . . Berg rolls out the wonders of nineteenth-century Paris in cinematic bursts that capture its light, its street life, its people and sounds. . . . The result is an illuminating portrait of a magnificent woman whose story is enriched by the delicate brush strokes of Berg’s colorful imagination.”Chicago Tribune

“There is authority and confidence in the storytelling that makes the pages fly.”The New York Times

“Berg weaves an enchanting novel about the real life of George Sand.”Us Weekly

“Lavishly described . . . Berg uses her own skill as a writer to graphically present the reader with a clear picture of a brilliant, yet flawed woman.”—Fredericksburg Free Lance–Star

“[A] beautiful, imaginative re-creation . . . Berg’s years-long immersion in the writings of and about Sand has resulted in a remarkable channeling of Sand’s voice.”Library Journal (starred review)

“Berg offers vivid, sensual detail and a sensitive portrayal of the yearning and vulnerability behind Sand’s bold persona.”Publishers Weekly

“A thoroughly pleasant escape . . . [Sand is] intoxicating, beautiful, gifted, desirous, unconventional and heartbroken.”Kirkus Reviews

About the Author:

Elizabeth Berg is the author of many bestselling novels, including Tapestry of Fortunes, The Last Time I Saw You, Home Safe, The Year of Pleasures, and Dream When You’re Feeling Blue, as well as two collections of short stories and two works of nonfiction. Open House was an Oprah’s Book Club selection, Durable Goods and Joy School were selected as ALA Best Books of the Year, Talk Before Sleep was short-listed for an Abby Award, and The Pull of the Moon was adapted into a play. Berg has been honored by both the Boston Public Library and the Chicago Public Library. She is a popular speaker at venues around the country, and her work has been translated into twenty-seven languages. She is the founder of Writing Matters, a reading series designed to serve author, audience, and community. She divides her time between Chicago and San Francisco.

Les informations fournies dans la section « A propos du livre » peuvent faire référence à une autre édition de ce titre.

Description de la librairie

The Reader's Corner is such fun,it's too bad you have to buy our books on line. We have eight foot tall outside bookshelves across the entire front of the store. There is a money slot in the door for night sales, which go to support National Public Radio. Inside, which can be too crowded at times, are surprisingly good books, only 1% are ever listed on-line. We also sell records, music cd's, comic books, mags, computer software and games. Best of all is the found art decorating every spare spot. The motto on the front door: NO SHOOTING, NO SMOKING, NO MOONING THE MANAGEMENT.

Visitez la page d?accueil du vendeur

Conditions de vente :

Visa, Mastercard, Amex, Discover, Paypal or check. Shipping by USPS Priority Mail $6.50 first volume/$4 each add. vol.This is for octavo sized books only, oversize books will be more. USPS bookrate $3.50 first vol/$1.75 each add. vol. (I cover all Dust Jackets with Brodart Mylar protectors).(For EU: Reader's Corner, 3201 Hillsborough Street, Raleigh N.C., 27607, readcorner@aol.com)

Conditions de livraison :

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.

Afficher le catalogue du vendeur

Modes de paiement
acceptés par le vendeur

Visa Mastercard American Express Carte Bleue

Chèque PayPal