Image de l'éditeur


Stross, Charles

Edité par Tor [2004]., New York, 2004
ISBN 10: 0765309297 / ISBN 13: 9780765309297
Ancien(s) ou d'occasion / Hardcover / Quantité : 1
Vendeur Currey, L.W. Inc. ABAA/ILAB (Elizabethtown, NY, Etats-Unis)
Disponible auprès d'autres vendeurs
Afficher tous les  exemplaires de ce livre
Ajouter au panier
Prix: EUR 33,12
Autre devise
Livraison : EUR 3,67
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

Mettre de côté

Au sujet du livre

Détails bibliographiques


Éditeur : Tor [2004]., New York

Date d'édition : 2004

Reliure : Hardcover

Etat de la jaquette : Dust Jacket Included

Edition : 1st Edition

Description :

Octavo, boards. First edition. First book of the "Merchant Princes" series. A fine copy in fine dust jacket. (#141685). N° de réf. du libraire 141685

A propos du livre :

Book ratings provided by GoodReads) :
3,49 note moyenne
(4 150 avis)

Synopsis : A bold fantasy in the tradition of Roger Zelazny's Chronicles of Amber, The Merchant Princes is a sweeping new series from the hottest new writer in science fiction!

Miriam Beckstein is happy in her life. She's a successful reporter for a hi-tech magazine in Boston, making good money doing what she loves. When her researcher brings her iron-clad evidence of a money-laundering scheme, Miriam thinks she's found the story of the year. But when she takes it to her editor, she's fired on the spot and gets a death threat from the criminals she has uncovered.

Before the day is over, she's received a locket left by the mother she never knew-the mother who was murdered when she was an infant. Within is a knotwork pattern, which has a hypnotic effect on her. Before she knows it, she's transported herself to a parallel Earth, a world where knights on horseback chase their prey with automatic weapons, and where world-skipping assassins lurk just on the other side of reality - a world where her true family runs things.

The six families of the Clan rule the kingdom of Gruinmarkt from behind the scenes, a mixture of nobility and criminal conspirators whose power to walk between the worlds makes them rich in both. Braids of family loyalty and intermarriage provide a fragile guarantee of peace, but a recently-ended civil war has left the families shaken and suspicious.

Taken in by her mother's people, she becomes the star of the story of the century-as Cinderella without a fairy godmother. As her mother's heir, Miriam is hailed as the prodigal countess Helge Thorold-Hjorth, and feted and feasted. Caught up in schemes and plots centuries in the making, Miriam is surrounded by unlikely allies, forbidden loves, lethal contraband, and, most dangerous of all, her family. Her unexpected return will supercede the claims of other clan members to her mother's fortune and power, and whoever killed her mother will be happy to see her dead, too.

Behind all this lie deeper secrets still, which threaten everyone and everything she has ever known. Patterns of deception and interlocking lies, as intricate as the knotwork between the universes. But Miriam is no one's pawn, and is determined to conquer her new home on her own terms.

Blending the creativity and humor of Roger Zelazny, the adventure of H. Beam Piper and Philip Jose Farmer, and the rigor and scope of a science-fiction writer on the grandest scale, Charles Stross has set a new standard for fantasy epics.

A propos de l'auteur: Charles Stross is a full-time writer who was born in Leeds, England in 1964. He studied in London and Bradford, gaining degrees in pharmacy and computer science, and has worked in a variety of jobs, including pharmacist, technical writer, software engineer and freelance journalist. After gaining considerable attention with his short fiction, his first novel, Singularity Sky was published in 2003. He lives with his wife in Edinburgh, Scotland in a flat that is slightly older than the state of Texas.

Les informations fournies dans la section « A propos du livre » peuvent faire référence à une autre édition de ce titre.

Librairie et conditions de vente

Modes de paiement

Le libraire accepte les modes de paiement suivants :

  • American Express
  • Carte Bleue
  • EuroCard/MasterCard
  • Visa

[Chercher dans le catalogue du libraire]

[Afficher le catalogue du vendeur]

[Poser une question au libraire]

Libraire : Currey, L.W. Inc. ABAA/ILAB
Adresse : Elizabethtown, NY, Etats-Unis

Vendeur AbeBooks depuis : 7 juillet 1998
Evaluation du vendeur : Evaluation 5 étoiles

Conditions de vente :

ALL ITEMS are subject to prior sale. Items may be reserved by telephone or e-mail. Available
items will be held for 7 days pending receipt of payment or submission of credit account details.
To help us identify your requested items, your inquiry/order should include the item identification
number, as well as author, title, and list price.

REMITTANCE: Payment for material ordered on the website must be made by credit card

SHIPPING: Cost of shipment is charg...

[Pour plus d'information]

Conditions de livraison :

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.

Description de la librairie : Mail and Internet sales only.