The Movement of Stars (Library Edition)

Amy Brill

Edité par Tantor Media, Inc, 2013
ISBN 10: 1452643318 / ISBN 13: 9781452643311
Ancien(s) ou d'occasion / CD-Audio / Quantité : 0
Disponible auprès d'autres vendeurs
Afficher tous les  exemplaires de ce livre

Au sujet du livre

Ce livre n'est malheureusement plus disponible. AbeBooks dispose cependant de millions de livres. Nous vous invitons à lancer une recherche ci-dessous afin de trouver des exemplaires similaires.

Description :

Language: English . Brand New. It is 1845, and Hannah Gardner Price has lived all twenty-four years of her life according to the principles of the Nantucket Quaker community in which she was raised, where simplicity and restraint are valued above all, and a woman s path is expected to lead to marriage and motherhood. But up on the rooftop each night, Hannah pursues a very different-and elusive-goal: discovering a comet and thereby winning a gold medal awarded by the King of Denmark, something unheard of for a woman.And then she meets Isaac Martin, a young, dark-skinned whaler from the Azores who, like herself, has ambitions beyond his expected station in life. Drawn to his intellectual curiosity and honest manner, Hannah agrees to take Isaac on as a student. But when their shared interest in the stars develops into something deeper, Hannah s standing in the community begins to unravel, challenging her most fundamental beliefs about work and love, and ultimately changing the course of her life forever.Inspired by the work of Maria Mitchell, the first professional female astronomer in America, The Movement of Stars is a richly drawn portrait of desire and ambition in the face of adversity. N° de réf. du libraire

A propos du livre :

Book ratings provided by GoodReads) :
3,53 note moyenne
(1 583 avis)

Synopsis :

Amy Brill's The Movement of Stars tells a story of illicit love and extraordinary ambition.

It is 1845, and Hannah Gardner Price dreams of a world infinitely larger than the small Quaker community where she has lived all 25 years of her life - for, as an amateur astronomer, she secretly hopes to discover a comet and win the King of Denmark's prize for doing so.

But she can only indulge her passion for astronomy as long as the men in her life - her father, brother and family friends - are prepared to support it, and so she treads a fine line between pursuing her dreams and submitting to the wishes and expectations of those around her. That line is crossed when Hannah meets Isaac Martin, a young black whaler from the Azores.

Isaac, like Hannah herself, has ambitions beyond his station. Drawn to him despite their differences, Hannah agrees to tutor him in the art of navigation. As their shared passion for the stars develops into something deeper, however, Hannah's standing in the community is called into question, and she has to choose: her dreams or her heart.

Loosely inspired by the work of Maria Mitchell, the first American woman to become a professional astronomer, The Movement of Stars is, at its heart, a glorious - and unusual - love story. With shades of Chocolat and Remarkable Creatures, it will appeal to fans of Tracy Chevalier, Joanne Harris and Rose Tremain.

'Blazes with real feeling and intensity. A terrifically poised and captivating debut' Paula McLain, author of The Paris Wife

'Spectacular . . . I cheered for Hannah Price, our feisty heroine, as she unraveled the mystery of her own desires while burning a trail for other women to follow' Hannah Tinti, author of The Good Thief

'A bittersweet story, movingly told' Daphne Kalotay, author of Russian Winter

Amy Brill lives in Brooklyn with her husband and two daughters. This is her first novel.

Critique: In Hannah, Amy Brill has fashioned an extraordinary character and quiet hero -- a woman who charts her own course, and who places knowledge and her own soul's independence up with the highest, brightest stars ( Paula McLain, author of The Paris Wife)

Amy Brill shines in her sparkling debut novel, The Movement of Stars, inspired by the work of a 19th-century female astronomer ( Vanity Fair)

A spectacular debut . . . I cheered for Hannah Price, our feisty heroine, as she unraveled the mystery of her own desires while burning a trail for other women to follow ( Hannah Tinti, author of The Good Thief)

Probing yet accessible, beautifully written and richly characterized ( Kirkus)

A bittersweet story, movingly told . . . Brill's uncluttered prose mirrors her heroine's clear eye and Quaker reserve as Hannah explores both the expanding universe and her burgeoning emotions -- amid increasingly binding circumstances. ( Daphne Kalotay, author of Russian Winter)

Compelling . . . A stirring historical drama ( Booklist)

Les informations fournies dans la section « A propos du livre » peuvent faire référence à une autre édition de ce titre.

Détails bibliographiques

Titre : The Movement of Stars (Library Edition)
Éditeur : Tantor Media, Inc
Date d'édition : 2013
Reliure : CD-Audio
Etat du livre : New
Edition : Library ed.

AbeBooks vous offre des millions de livres anciens, neufs, d'occasion et épuisés proposés par des milliers de vendeurs du monde entier. Acheter sur AbeBooks est simple, sûr et 100% sécurisé - effectuez votre recherche, passez commande sur notre site sécurisé et recevez votre ouvrage directement expédié par le vendeur.

Cherchez parmi des millions de livres proposés par des milliers de vendeurs

Livres anciens et de collection

Livres anciens et de collection

Livres rares, manuscrits, incunables ou livres signés, découvrez notre page consacrée aux livres anciens et de collection.

Livres anciens et de collection

Editions originales

Editions originales

Tirages limités, éditions spéciales ou numérotées, retrouvez notre sélection d’éditions originales.

Editions originales

Livres d'occasion

Livres d'occasion

Meilleures ventes, idées lecture et lauréats à prix réduits, faites des économies grâce à nos bonnes affaires et à la livraison gratuite.

Livres d'occasion

Découvrez d’autres livres :