Image de l'éditeur

The Notebooks of Lana Skimnest.


Edité par Micah Publications, Marblehead, Mass., 1982
ISBN 10: 0916288331 / ISBN 13: 9780916288334
Ancien(s) ou d'occasion / Soft Cover / Quantité : 1
Vendeur Military History Bookshop (BROOKS, ME, Etats-Unis)
Disponible auprès d'autres vendeurs
Afficher tous les  exemplaires de ce livre
Ajouter au panier
Prix: EUR 18,93
Autre devise
Livraison : EUR 3,68
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

Mettre de côté

Au sujet du livre

Détails bibliographiques

Titre : The Notebooks of Lana Skimnest.

Éditeur : Micah Publications, Marblehead, Mass.

Date d'édition : 1982

Reliure : Soft Cover

Signé : Signed by Author(s)

Edition : First Edition

Description :

Illustrations are by Lana Skimnest. 240 pages, illustrations, pictoriial wraps, very good. Inscribed to Tom from Anselm 1992. Publisher's description: In the tradition of Joyce and Nabokov, language is pure joie d'esprit, the plot almost unthinkable as a lecherous monk tries to seduce the teenager, Lana, while her notebooks on ornithology seduce him. She proceeds to an orgy with a library of books. A fantastical, philosophical, satirical, irreverent chase after nature, sex and books for the intelligent lecher, the book is a burst of butterfly color that leads the reader on a mad chase. Lana Skimnest survives adolescence and her monk's passion and grows up to become a world famous ornithologist who helps discover Peking Man in China after maverick adventures among scientists and academicians. The book is structured around her entries into her notebooks and is a spoof on scholarship by an author who styles himself as a pedantic, crotchety classicist. A one-time Jesuit monk himself, he is now an accomplished stain glass artist, with a doctorate in Literature and Theology from Emory University. Anselm Atkins is familiar with the worlds he satirizes: academic, religious, scholarly. His articles have been published in theological journals, Commonweal, the Humanist, Free Inquiry, Journal of Religion, the Thomist, Cross Currents, Journal of Ecumenical Studies. He is an avid ornithologist and bird watcher, and edits Wingbars, the monthly newspaper of the Atlanta Audubon society. Reviews "An extraordinary piece of of the more memorable female characters I've seen." (Francois Camoin); ".wonderfully eccentric little book.some can write, and some simply can't. Anselm Atkins can, and more power to him." (The Literary Review); Signed by Author. N° de réf. du libraire 15308

A propos du livre :

Book ratings provided by GoodReads) :
0 note moyenne
(0 avis)

Synopsis : The unthinkable plot concerns a lecherous monk who tries to seduce the teenager, Lana, while her notebooks on butterflies seduce him. A fantastical, philosophical, satirical chase after nature, sex, and books. The book is a burst of butterfly color, recommended for the intelligent lecher.

A propos de l'auteur: Anselm Atkins had been a Trappist monk and talented artist and writer. He made his living designing stained glass art.

Les informations fournies dans la section « A propos du livre » peuvent faire référence à une autre édition de ce titre.

Librairie et conditions de vente

Modes de paiement

Le libraire accepte les modes de paiement suivants :

  • American Express
  • Carte Bleue
  • Chèque
  • EuroCard/MasterCard
  • Mandat postal
  • Visa

[Chercher dans le catalogue du libraire]

[Afficher le catalogue du vendeur]

[Poser une question au libraire]

Libraire : Military History Bookshop
Adresse : BROOKS, ME, Etats-Unis

Vendeur AbeBooks depuis : 24 avril 1998
Evaluation du vendeur : Evaluation 5 étoiles

Conditions de vente :

Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Paypal, checks and money orders accepted. All items offered subject to prior sale. Shipping within the U.S. $5 (by priority mail if book fits in flat-rate envelope, otherwise by media mail). Libraries will be invoiced upon request. Any material may be returned if found unsatisfactory for any reason. HOURS: By appointment only. Phone calls 8 AM to 8 PM (Eastern Standard Time).
Andrea McGuire, Military History Bookshop, PO Box 97, Brooks, ME 04921. Telephone: (2...

[Pour plus d'information]

Conditions de livraison :

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.

Description de la librairie : In business since 1968, we specialize in rare and out of print books in the areas of military, naval, maritime, aeronautics, China and the Far East, history and biography. We are in the process of transferring our inventory online and are adding books constantly. Owners Ray and Andrea McGuire can be contacted by by telephone at (207)722-3620. Location: the small town of Brooks (population 900) is 12 miles inland from the midcoast city of Belfast, Maine. Please call ahead as we do most of our business by telephone or Internet and do not have regular store hours.