Image de l'éditeur


Christopher Bollen

Edité par Blackstone Audiobooks, United States, 2015
ISBN 10: 1504611020 / ISBN 13: 9781504611022
Neuf(s) / CD-Audio / Quantité : 1
Vendeur The Book Depository US (London, Royaume-Uni)
Disponible auprès d'autres vendeurs
Afficher tous les  exemplaires de ce livre
Ajouter au panier
Prix conseillé :
Prix: EUR 54,67
Autre devise
Livraison : EUR 0
De Royaume-Uni vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

Mettre de côté

Au sujet du livre

Détails bibliographiques

Titre : Orient

Éditeur : Blackstone Audiobooks, United States

Date d'édition : 2015

Reliure : CD-Audio

Etat du livre : New

Edition : Unabridged.

Description :

Language: English Brand New. A gripping novel of culture clash and murder: as summer draws to a close, a small Long Island town is gripped by a series of mysterious deaths and one young man, a loner taken in by a local, tries to piece together the crimes before his own time runs out.Orient is an isolated town on the north fork of Long Island, its future as a historic village newly threatened by the arrival of wealthy transplants from Manhattan many of them artists. One late summer morning, the body of a local caretaker is found in the open water; the same day, a monstrous animal corpse is found on the beach, presumed a casualty from a nearby research lab. With rumors flying, eyes turn to Mills Chevern a tumbleweed orphan newly arrived in town from the west with no ties and a hazy history. As the deaths continue and fear in town escalates, Mills is enlisted by Beth, an Orient native in retreat from Manhattan, to help her uncover the truth. With the clock ticking, Mills and Beth struggle to find answers, faced with a killer they may not be able to outsmart.Rich with character and incident yet deeply suspenseful, Orient marks the emergence of a novelist of enormous talent. N° de réf. du libraire AAS9781504611022

A propos du livre :

Synopsis : Suspenseful and haunting, Bollen's thrilling novel Orient is a provocative take on the troubled American dream, in the vein of Lionel Shriver or AM Homes. At the eastern edge of Long Island, far from the hustle of New York City, stands Orient, a village that has been home to a few families for hundreds of years and is now - reluctantly - opening up to wealthy weekenders and artists from the city. On the last day of summer, a young man with a hazy past appears, and not long after comes a series of events that shatters the peace in this isolated community. A strange, twisted creature washes ashore on the Sound and then a human corpse is found floating in the water. A woman dies in bizarre circumstances and a house fire erupts out of nowhere. Fear and suspicion mount until everyone's secrets threaten to be exposed. But who is Mills Chevern? What is his real name and why is he here? As all eyes shift towards the orphan drifter, Mills elicits the support of Beth Shepherd, an Orient native who is hiding a secret of her own.

Critique: 'Orient is not as pleasant as it seems, and Christopher Bollen will hold you spellbound as he reveals its secrets. A truly well-crafted murder mystery that recalls the worlds of both PD James and Twin Peaks' Nelson DeMille

Secrets, parochial gossiping, casual xenophobia, proximity to a large water and a decent body count: what more could you need from a thriller. Bollen s rich novel has all the right ingredients and he serves them up suspensefully as he tears down his version of the American dream -- Fiona Wilson, The Times

Christopher Bollen writes expansive, psychologically probing novels in the manner of Updike, Eugenides and Franzen, but he is also an avowed disciple of Agatha Christie... Bollen s melodramatic twist on reality follows the pattern laid down by a score of Christie novels: the tensions between a community s long-standing residents and its incomers end up exploding in murder... The generic and literary pleasures of this novel sit well together and are of the highest order Jake Kerridge, Daily Telegraph

Bollen s blend of killer thriller and social satire is certainly classy... the elegant portrayal of adultery and envy on American s East Coast can t fail to recall John Updike John Dugdale, Sunday Times

Deeply seductive... Orient is like Donna Tartt novelising Twin Peaks while F. Scott Fitzgerald fixes cocktails. Bollen s characterisation is pin-sharp and his treatment of his themes mature and multi-layered John O Connell, Guardian

Almost mesmerically gripping. Yet Bollen also achieves something richer and more thoughtful than one would usually expect from a literary thriller -- Matthew Adams, Independent

Les informations fournies dans la section « A propos du livre » peuvent faire référence à une autre édition de ce titre.

Librairie et conditions de vente

Modes de paiement

Le libraire accepte les modes de paiement suivants :

  • American Express
  • Carte Bleue
  • EuroCard/MasterCard
  • Visa

[Chercher dans le catalogue du libraire]

[Afficher le catalogue du vendeur]

[Poser une question au libraire]

Libraire : The Book Depository US
Adresse : London, Royaume-Uni

Vendeur AbeBooks depuis : 10 septembre 2013
Evaluation du vendeur : Evaluation 5 étoiles

Conditions de vente :

All books are shipped in New condition promptly, we are happy to accept returns up to 30 days from purchase. Orders usually ship within 1-2 business days. Domestic Shipments are sent by Royal Mail, and International by Priority Airmail. We are happy to accept returns up to 30 days from purchase. Please contact the seller directly if you wish to return an order. Name of business : The Book Depository Ltd Form of legal entity : A Limited Company Business address: The Book Depository, 60 Holborn Vi...

[Pour plus d'information]

Conditions de livraison :

Orders usually ship within 1-2 business days. Domestic Shipments are sent by Royal Mail, and International by Priority Airmail. We are happy to accept returns up to 30 days from purchase. Please contact the seller directly if you wish to return an order.

Description de la librairie : Book Depository is an international bookseller. We ship our books to over 100 countries around the globe and we are always looking to add more countries to the list. We really, really love books and offer millions of titles, currently over 10 million of them, with this figure increasing daily. Living by our motto, 'Bookseller to the World', we focus on offering as many titles as possible to as many customers as possible. Most of our titles are dispatched within 2 business days of your order. Apart from publishers, distributors and wholesalers, we even list and supply books from other retailers! We hope you enjoy our selection and discover your new favorite book.