Image de l'éditeur

By His Own Rules: The Story of Donald Rumsfeld

Graham, Bradley

40 avis par Goodreads
ISBN 10: 1586484214 / ISBN 13: 9781586484217
Edité par Public Affairs, LLC, New York, New York, U.S.A., 2009
Etat : As New Couverture rigide
Vendeur DBookmahn's Used and Rare Military Books (Burke, VA, Etats-Unis)

Vendeur AbeBooks depuis 9 avril 2001

Quantité : 1

A propos de cet article

803pp/illus. An epic examination of the life of one of the most confounding American political figures of the past half century . Once considered among the best and brightest of his generation, Donald Rumsfeld was exceptionally prepared by successful careers in politics and business to assume the Pentagon's top job in 2001. Yet six years later, he left office as the most controversial Defense Secretary since Robert McNamara, widely criticized for his management of the Iraq war and for his difficult relationships with Congress, administration colleagues, and military officers. Was he really the arrogant, errant, overcontrolling Pentagon leader frequently portrayed or as his supporters contend, a brilliant, hardcharging visionary caught in a whirl of polarized Washington politics, dysfunctional federal bureaucracy, and bad luck? Clean. N° de réf. du libraire 009722

Poser une question au libraire

Détails bibliographiques

Titre : By His Own Rules: The Story of Donald ...

Éditeur : Public Affairs, LLC, New York, New York, U.S.A.

Date d'édition : 2009

Reliure : Cloth

Etat du livre :As New

Etat de la jaquette : As New

Edition : 1st Printing

A propos de ce titre

Synopsis :

Once considered among the best and brightest of his generation, Donald Rumsfeld was exceptionally prepared by successful careers in politics and business to assume the Pentagon's top job in 2001. Yet six years later, he left office as the most controversial Defense Secretary since Robert McNamara, widely criticized for his management of the Iraq war and for his difficult relationships with Congress, administration colleagues, and military officers. Was he really the arrogant, errant, over-controlling Pentagon leader frequently portrayed—or as his supporters contend, a brilliant, hard-charging visionary caught in a whirl of polarized Washington politics, dysfunctional federal bureaucracy, and bad luck?

Bradley Graham, a longtime Washington Post reporter who closely covered Rumsfeld's challenging tenure at the Pentagon, offers an insightful biography of a complex personality. In the tradition of Karen DeYoung's Soldier and Bart Gellman's Angler, By His Own Rules is a layered and revealing portrait of a man whose impact on U.S. national security affairs will long outlive him.

About the Author:

Bradley Graham has spent more than twenty-five years at The Washington Post in various reporting and editing assignments focused on military and foreign affairs. The author of Hit to Kill: The New Battle Over Shielding America From Missile Attack, he lives in Washington, D.C.

Les informations fournies dans la section « A propos du livre » peuvent faire référence à une autre édition de ce titre.

Description de la librairie

We specialize in quality military history books both new and old. Let us help you find that book that seems to be eluding you! We give you that friendly personal touch that is hard to find amidst the hustle and bustle of daily life. We also buy quality used military history books. Our customer-centered internet mail order business was established in 1997. Since that time, we have sold thousands of books, in all 50 states and around the world. Our speciality is quality used and rare military history books covering all periods from the American Revolution to the Gulf War. Emphasis on German military, Civil War, World Wars I & II and Soviet Union/Imperial Russia. In addition to our military books, we have an eclectic selection of other titles available for sale. We have a number of books on Ethnology particularly as it relates to the Negro in America, railroad histories, biographies, old books on ski-ing and much more. SEE OUR SITE OR EMAIL US FOR A CURRENT CATALOGUE OF SOME OF OUR MILITARY HISTORY TITLES In addition to our military titles on our home page, we are constantly expanding our books online here at ABE. Please check our inventory below!

Visitez la page d?accueil du vendeur

Conditions de vente :

Check or money order in US$ payable to DBookmahn with order. We also accept Credit
Card payments through Paypal. Will hold book for seven days with email request.

DBookmahn's Used & Rare Military Books, P.O. Box 10826, Burke, VA. 22009.
Returnable within 14 days, if not fully satisfied.

Want lists accepted. We also sell new Schiffer and Fedorowicz books for 20% off list
price. We can order any in print Schiffer and Fedorowicz book for you at the discounted
price.

Conditions de livraison :

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.

Afficher le catalogue du vendeur

Modes de paiement
acceptés par le vendeur

Visa Mastercard American Express Carte Bleue

Chèque Mandat postal PayPal Traite bancaire