Image de l'éditeur

Positively Fifth Street: Murderers, Cheetahs, and Binion's World Series of Poker [SIGNED]

McManus, James

Edité par NY: Farrar Straus & Giroux, 2003
ISBN 10: 0374236488 / ISBN 13: 9780374236489
Ancien(s) ou d'occasion / Hardcover / Quantité : 1
Vendeur Bookcount (Los Angeles, CA, Etats-Unis)
Disponible auprès d'autres vendeurs
Afficher tous les  exemplaires de ce livre
Ajouter au panier
Prix: EUR 85,10
Autre devise
Livraison : EUR 4,13
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

Mettre de côté

Au sujet du livre

Détails bibliographiques

Titre : Positively Fifth Street: Murderers, Cheetahs...

Éditeur : NY: Farrar Straus & Giroux

Date d'édition : 2003

Reliure : Hardcover

Etat du livre : As New

Etat de la jaquette : As New

Signé : Signed by Author(s)

Edition : 1st Edition

Description :

First edition, FIRST PRINTING, hardback, unread in AS NEW (Fine/Fine) condition (no marks, not book-club ed., not price-clipped, etc). This copy was SIGNED by JAMES McMANUS on the title page (simply signed, not inscribed to anyone). N° de réf. du libraire 5136

A propos du livre :

Book ratings provided by GoodReads) :
3,84 note moyenne
(2 075 avis)

Synopsis : Rough sex, black magic, murder, and the science?and eros?of gambling meet in the ultimate book about Las Vegas

James McManus was sent to Las Vegas by Harper?s to cover the World Series of Poker in 2000, especially the mushrooming progress of women in the $23 million event, and the murder of Ted Binion, the tournament?s prodigal host, purportedly done in by a stripper and her boyfriend with a technique so outré it took a Manhattan pathologist to identify it. Whether a jury would convict the attractive young couple was another story altogether.

McManus risks his entire Harper?s advance in a long-shot attempt to play in the tournament himself. Only with actual table experience, he tells his skeptical wife, can he capture the hair-raising brand of poker that determines the world champion. The heart of the book is his deliciously suspenseful account of the tournament itself?the players, the hand-to-hand combat, and his own unlikely progress in it.

Written in the tradition of The Gambler and The Biggest Game in Town, Positively Fifth Street is a high-stakes adventure, a penetrating study of America?s card game, and a terrifying but often hilarious account of one man?s effort to understand what Edward O. Wilson has called ?Pleistocene exigencies??the eros and logistics of our primary competitive instincts.

Critique: In 2000, novelist and poet James McManus was sent to Las Vegas, innocently enough, by Harper's magazine to write a story about the World Series of Poker held annually at Binion's Horseshoe. But then, as so often happens on trips to Sin City, something kind of ... happened. Rather than becoming an objective report, McManus's article evolved into a memoir as he put his entire advance on the line, got lucky with his cards and won a spot in the competition, and came much closer than anyone expected to winning the darn thing. The result, Positively Fifth Street, is just as dazzling, exciting, and disturbing as Vegas itself.

McManus details his battles not only against his opponents but also against "Bad Jim," the portion of his own personality that needs to get in on a poker game in spite of both common and fiscal sense. Besides telling his own story, he relates the considerably more unpleasant tale of Ted Binion, whose grisly death was blamed on Binion's former stripper-girlfriend and her ex-linebacker beau. In the hands of a lesser author, the pursuit of these separate through lines of poker and the seedy personal lives of wealthy casino heirs may have lead readers to wish the author had picked just one subject. But under McManus's careful watch, they're really pretty similar: steeped in adrenaline, mystery, deception, and skating on thrillingly thin ice. Each story underscores the other, a neat little "narrative as metaphor" device, while also painting a vivid picture of Vegas casino life. Poker, as anyone who has lost at it will tell you, is an intricate game and it's nice to see a top-notch author and player relate its finer points in an entertaining style that will appeal even to non-players. The author's hilariously self-aware and at times self-loathing style make Positively Fifth Street a fun read. But beyond that, his account of nearly winning the biggest poker tournament in the world and subsequently watching as the verdicts are announced for Binion's accused murderers makes for a great story. Even if it wasn't the one he was sent there to write. --John Moe

Les informations fournies dans la section « A propos du livre » peuvent faire référence à une autre édition de ce titre.

Librairie et conditions de vente

Modes de paiement

Le libraire accepte les modes de paiement suivants :

  • American Express
  • Carte Bleue
  • Chèque
  • EuroCard/MasterCard
  • Mandat postal
  • PayPal
  • Visa

[Chercher dans le catalogue du libraire]

[Afficher le catalogue du vendeur]

[Poser une question au libraire]

Libraire : Bookcount
Adresse : Los Angeles, CA, Etats-Unis

Vendeur AbeBooks depuis : 23 mai 2003
Evaluation du vendeur : Evaluation 5 étoiles

Conditions de vente :

All books are returnable within 7 days if condition is not as described.

Conditions de livraison :

Orders usually ship within 2 business days. Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.

Description de la librairie : Thanks for checking out our website.