Image de l'éditeur

The Used World

Kimmel, Haven

Edité par Free Press, Old Tappan, New Jersey, U.S.A., 2007
ISBN 10: 0743247787 / ISBN 13: 9780743247788
Ancien(s) ou d'occasion / Hard Cover / Quantité : 1
Vendeur Reader's Corner, Inc. (Raleigh, NC, Etats-Unis)
Disponible auprès d'autres vendeurs
Afficher tous les  exemplaires de ce livre
Ajouter au panier
Prix: EUR 23,65
Autre devise
Livraison : EUR 3,21
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

Mettre de côté

Au sujet du livre

Détails bibliographiques

Titre : The Used World

Éditeur : Free Press, Old Tappan, New Jersey, U.S.A.

Date d'édition : 2007

Reliure : Hard Cover

Etat du livre : Near Fine

Etat de la jaquette : Fine

Signé : Signed by Author

Edition : First Edition, First Printing

Description :

This is a near fine or better, hardcover first edition, first printing copy in a fine, mylar protected DJ, cream/black spine. Flat signed by the author on the title page. Round white AUTOGRAPHED COPY sticker on the DJ. N° de réf. du libraire 049206

A propos du livre :

Book ratings provided by GoodReads) :
3,63 note moyenne
(1 279 avis)

Synopsis :

Narrated with warmth and intelligence, ?The Used World? is the third novel from the bestselling author of ?The Solace of Leaving Early? and explores the interconnected lives of three women who work in an antiques emporium in Indiana

Hazel Hunnicutt is the proprietor of The Used World Emporium, a cavernous antiques store filled with the cast-offs of countless lives in the town of Jonah, Indiana. Knowing, witty and often infuriatingly stubborn, Hazel has lived in the town her whole life, daughter of the local doctor, and is keeper of many of its secrets. Working with her in the store are Claudia, a solitary soul since the death of her beloved parents and, at over 6 feet, an oddity to all who see her; and Rebekah, a young woman forced to leave the suffocating Christian sect she was born into, but adrift in the outside world.

It is shortly before Christmas and the lives of these three women are about to change irrevocably: for Claudia, who has hidden away from life since the death of her mother, a new arrival ? which comes to her in the most unexpected of ways ? will give her a second chance at happiness and a family to replace the one she has lost. Meanwhile Rebekah, abandoned by her feckless first boyfriend, must face up to an unplanned pregnancy and exile from her family home. Watching over Claudia and Rebekah is Hazel, whose own story of lost love is revealed in flashbacks. As their lives intertwine in ways they could never have imagined, and a dark chapter of history is revealed, the three women are forced to confront their pasts and face up to the future as this gripping and heart-warming novel reaches its dramatic climax.

Peopled with a delightfully idiosynchratic cast of characters and with a love story at its centre, ?The Used World? is a beautifully written and brilliantly told story, in the tradition of Fannie Flagg, Garrison Keillor and Ann Patchett.


'Kimmel writes with an Anne Tyler-like wryness.' Observer

'Arresting. She is a writer who understands that thinking and feeling are not mutually exclusive, and that people can do both at once.' Sunday Telegraph

'Kimmel's writing makes us care for her characters ? their intricate histories and unexpected connections.' Daily Telegraph

'A sweetly compelling tale of quiet, everyday happiness.' Daily Mail

'An amazing, humorous overview of small town life. Kimmel credits the reader with intelligence, making the novel a finely measured read with mesmerizing, original characters. Ultimately, this is a love story, but the most subtle, original one I have read for years.? Irish Examiner

?Kimmel's books are blessed with strong characters, beautiful writing, and a refusal to tie up neatly all the loose ends.' Sunday Business Post

Les informations fournies dans la section « A propos du livre » peuvent faire référence à une autre édition de ce titre.

Librairie et conditions de vente

Modes de paiement

Le libraire accepte les modes de paiement suivants :

  • American Express
  • Carte Bleue
  • Chèque
  • EuroCard/MasterCard
  • PayPal
  • Visa

[Chercher dans le catalogue du libraire]

[Afficher le catalogue du vendeur]

[Poser une question au libraire]

Libraire : Reader's Corner, Inc.
Adresse : Raleigh, NC, Etats-Unis

Vendeur AbeBooks depuis : 11 janvier 2000
Evaluation du vendeur : Evaluation 5 étoiles

Conditions de vente :

Visa, Mastercard, Amex, Discover, Paypal or check. Shipping by USPS Priority Mail $6.50 first volume/$4 each add. vol.This is for octavo sized books only, oversize books will be more. USPS bookrate $3.50 first vol/$1.75 each add. vol. (I cover all Dust Jackets with Brodart Mylar protectors).(For EU: Reader's Corner, 3201 Hillsborough Street, Raleigh N.C., 27607,

Conditions de livraison :

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.

Description de la librairie : The Reader's Corner is such fun,it's too bad you have to buy our books on line. We have eight foot tall outside bookshelves across the entire front of the store. There is a money slot in the door for night sales, which go to support National Public Radio. Inside, which can be too crowded at times, are surprisingly good books, only 1% are ever listed on-line. We also sell records, music cd's, comic books, mags, computer software and games. Best of all is the found art decorating every spare spot. The motto on the front door: NO SHOOTING, NO SMOKING, NO MOONING THE MANAGEMENT.