Image de l'éditeur

VENTUS

Schroeder, Karl

927 avis par Goodreads
ISBN 10: 031287197X / ISBN 13: 9780312871970
Edité par Tor [2000]., New York, 2000
Couverture rigide
Vendeur Currey, L.W. Inc. ABAA/ILAB (Elizabethtown, NY, Etats-Unis)

Vendeur AbeBooks depuis 7 juillet 1998

Quantité : 1

Acheter D'occasion
Prix: EUR 39,86 Autre devise
Livraison : EUR 23 De Etats-Unis vers France Destinations, frais et délais
Ajouter au panier

A propos de cet article

Octavo, boards. First edition. The author's first solo novel, preceded by THE CLAUS EFFECT, a fantasy novel written in collaboration with David Nickle. Broderick and Di Filippo, Science Fiction: The 101 Best Novels, 1985-2010 #66. A fine copy in fine dust jacket. (#109694). N° de réf. du libraire 109694

Poser une question au libraire

Détails bibliographiques

Titre : VENTUS

Éditeur : Tor [2000]., New York

Date d'édition : 2000

Reliure : Hardcover

Etat de la jaquette : Dust Jacket Included

Edition : 1st Edition

A propos de ce titre

Synopsis :

Ventus is a large-scale Hard SF adventure novel in the tradition of Larry Niven, Vernor Vinge, and Arthur C. Clarke. Karl Schroeder, a physicist and writer, is a winner of Canada's Aurora Award. His first novel was called the best first fantasy of the year by Science Fiction Chronicle, and now his first SF novel launches a major career in SF.

Young Jordan Mason, on the terraformed planet Ventus, has visions. Kidnapped by Calandria May--a human from offworld sent to investigate the AIs (the Winds) of Ventus--Jordan is desperate to find the meaning of his visions, desperate enough to risk calling down the Winds that destroy technology to protect the created environment, who descend and wreak havoc. As a result Jordan escapes from Calandria and sets out to discover his destiny on his own. Calandria and others, both human and AI, search for Jordan, who holds the key to catastrophe or salvation.

Ventus is an epic journey across a fascinating planet with a big mystery--why have the Winds fallen silent? It is one of the major, ambitious SF novels of the year and the international launch of an important new hard SF writer.

From the Back Cover:

“A fast-moving, entertaining, and intriguing novel.” --L. E. Modesitt, Jr.

Ventus

After terrifying and titanic struggles, a godlike artificial intelligence gone rogue has finally been destroyed. But not before it scattered seeds of itself throughout the galaxy.

On the terraformed planet Ventus, benign AIs -- the godlike Winds – which shaped and guarded its transformation, have fallen silent. Calandria May is sent down to the surface where she quickly finds that an extension of the rogue AI, a cyborg called Armiger, has planted a strange and powerful device in a young man named Jordan Mason. Jordan has visions. He is desperate to find their meaning and source -- desperate enough to risk awakening the Winds, perhaps invoking the power that can destroy technology to protect the environment they created.

Ventus is an epic journey across a fascinating planet with two big mysteries -- why have the Winds fallen silent? And is Armiger, or Jordan, carrying a Resurrection Seed?

“The glowing, intricate plot arises organically from [the] stunningly inventive backdrop
. . . . Delightful and engaging, both intellectually and viscerally: a superb achievement.” –Kirkus (starred review)

Les informations fournies dans la section « A propos du livre » peuvent faire référence à une autre édition de ce titre.

Description de la librairie

Mail and Internet sales only.

Visitez la page d?accueil du vendeur

Conditions de vente :

ALL ITEMS are subject to prior sale. Items may be reserved by telephone or e-mail. Available
items will be held for 7 days pending receipt of payment or submission of credit account details.
To help us identify your requested items, your inquiry/order should include the item identification
number, as well as author, title, and list price.

REMITTANCE: Payment for material ordered on the abebooks.com website must be made by credit card
(MASTERCARD or VISA only).

SHIPPING: Cost of shipment is charg...

Pour plus d'information
Conditions de livraison :

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.

Afficher le catalogue du vendeur

Modes de paiement
acceptés par le vendeur

Visa Mastercard American Express Carte Bleue