Image de l'éditeur

A World of Thieves

Blake, James Carlos

Edité par Morrow, 2002
ISBN 10: 0380977508 / ISBN 13: 9780380977505
Ancien(s) ou d'occasion / Hardcover / Quantité : 1
Vendeur Bill Leone, Bookseller, ABAA (Palos Verdes Estates, CA, Etats-Unis)
Disponible auprès d'autres vendeurs
Afficher tous les  exemplaires de ce livre
Ajouter au panier
Prix: EUR 33,16
Autre devise
Livraison : EUR 3,63
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

Mettre de côté

Au sujet du livre

Détails bibliographiques

Titre : A World of Thieves

Éditeur : Morrow

Date d'édition : 2002

Reliure : Hardcover

Etat du livre : Fine

Etat de la jaquette : Fine

Signé : Signed by Author

Edition : 1st Edition.

Description :

First Edition (first printing). A novel by the author of IN THE ROGUE BLOOD, the story ofa young man who becomes involved in several robberies during the Roaring Twenties. Fine/Fine. Signed by Blake on the title page. N° de réf. du libraire 32702

A propos du livre :

Book ratings provided by GoodReads) :
3,93 note moyenne
(121 avis)

Synopsis :

James Carlos Blake writes literary novels of adventure -- of daring exploits and desperate hearts, of men and women whose characters shape their fate. Now, in A World of Thieves, he renders a story of crime and love in the closing years of the Roaring Twenties.

In 1928 New Orleans, eighteen-year-old Sonny LaSalle is a top prep student and champion amateur boxer -- and he venerates his fraternal twin uncles, Buck and Russell, armed robbers who love their profession. Sonny secretly believes that he, too, is a natural outlaw and persuades his uncles to take him on as a partner. Their early robberies go smoothly, and Sonny begins an affair with Brenda Marie, a rich and free-spirited art dealer in the French Quarter. But when a bank job goes bad, Sonny is sent to jail, where he unintentionally kills a policeman, the son of the most feared lawman in Louisiana who is widely known as "John Bones." After nine months in the infamous Angola penitentiary, Sonny makes a harrowing escape and reunites with Buck and Russell -- unaware that he is being hunted by the vengeful John Bones.

Sonny and his uncles head for the boomtowns of West Texas, where the money flows as freely as the oil. But after one of their robberies erupts in a gunfight, one uncle is badly wounded and the other is arrested and sentenced to a prison road gang. As Sonny sets out to free his imprisoned uncle, he finds himself caught between conflicting loyalties, and the story hurtles toward a thundering climax as the relentless John Bones catches up with Sonny at last.

A jazz-age story of vibrant joy and violent conflict, reckless passion, and an implacable nemesis, A World of Thieves is at heart the tale of a young man's reckoning with the truth of his own soul.

Critique: Penzler Pick, December 2001: James Carlos Blake has written several novels, but this is the first that can be categorized wholeheartedly as a mystery. Set in the Southwest of 1928, it tells the story of three men who go on a journey of robbery and unintentional murder throughout Louisiana and Texas.

Sonny LaSalle is only a few years younger than his twin uncles, Russell and Buck, and he adores them and their way of life, which involves mostly robbing banks and rigging gambling scams. When he suggests that they take him on as a third partner, they indulge him and let him drive the getaway car on a bank robbery. Sonny is immediately caught and put in a holding cell where a fight breaks out. When Sonny hits a rookie cop who is trying to break up the fight, he inadvertently kills him and is sent to the infamous Angola prison in Louisiana for the long haul. But it's not in Sonny's nature to stay cooped up for long, and he soon escapes, doing what only a few have done before him: running along the levee to freedom and back to his uncles.

From then on, these charming felons career across the landscape stealing just enough money to keep them comfortable, meeting women, and helping damsels in distress. What these carefree villains do not know, but the reader does, is that the rookie cop's father, John Isley Bonham, is not going to simply let Sonny go free. Bonham is a longtime deputy sheriff near retirement. His life has been tragic, and the only joy he ever had was through his son. Bonham is said to have killed more men than any cop in the state. Although he's always claimed self- defense, rumor has it that some of the killings were, in fact, executions. Now he starts his slow, relentless campaign to hunt Sonny down and kill him. Russell, Buck, and Sonny do kill some innocent people, it's true, but compared to Bonham they are amateurs--and Bonham is closing in on them.

For fans of Daniel Woodrell, James Lee Burke, and Robbers, last year's exceptional first novel by Christopher Cook, this book is a must. --Otto Penzler

Les informations fournies dans la section « A propos du livre » peuvent faire référence à une autre édition de ce titre.

Librairie et conditions de vente

Modes de paiement

Le libraire accepte les modes de paiement suivants :

  • American Express
  • Carte Bleue
  • Chèque
  • EuroCard/MasterCard
  • Mandat postal
  • PayPal
  • Visa

[Chercher dans le catalogue du libraire]

[Afficher le catalogue du vendeur]

[Poser une question au libraire]

Libraire : Bill Leone, Bookseller, ABAA
Adresse : Palos Verdes Estates, CA, Etats-Unis

Vendeur AbeBooks depuis : 22 septembre 1998
Evaluation du vendeur : Evaluation 5 étoiles

Conditions de vente :

This is a single proprietorship, owned and operated by William C Leone Jr, 2408 Chelsea Road, Palos Verdes Estates, CA 90274, USA. The email address is and phone number is 310-377-2628. Payment by check, money order, VISA, MasterCard, American Express or PayPal. Member, ABAA. California residents add 9.00% sales tax.

Conditions de livraison :

Orders usually ship within 2 business days. Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required. The dust jacket for every book shipped is covered with mylar/plastic. Every item is shipped in a sturdy box with bubble-wrap to ensure safe delivery.

Description de la librairie : An on-line and by-appointment-only bookseller specializing in modern first editions and signed books.