Target Tirpitz: X-Craft, Agents and Dambusters - the Epic Quest to Destroy Hitler's Mightiest Warship

Note moyenne 4,13
( 248 avis fournis par Goodreads )
 
9780007319244: Target Tirpitz: X-Craft, Agents and Dambusters - the Epic Quest to Destroy Hitler's Mightiest Warship
Afficher les exemplaires de cette édition ISBN
 
 

Target Tirpitz A gripping account of the epic hunt for Hitler's most terrifying battleship - the legendary Tirpitz - and the brave men who risked their lives to attack and destroy this most potent symbol of the Nazi's fearsome war machine. Full description

Les informations fournies dans la section « Synopsis » peuvent faire référence à une autre édition de ce titre.

Revue de presse :

This is a great wartime story, gung-ho in its praise of the men who finally sank Tirpitz, yet compassionate towards her courageous crew. Already a bestselling war historian with his books on the RAF, Target Tirpitz proves that Bishop has sea legs, and this book should add another fleet of fans to his existing army of admirers.
Sunday Telegraph

The story of the successive British efforts to destroy [the Tirpitz] is remarkable indeed, and Bishop deploys all his splendid narrative gifts to do it justice. Max Hastings, Sunday Times

Spellbinding...While he is adept at explaining the strategic picture it is in his intense description of set-pieces and of the heroic dedication of their human participants that Bishop excels. Daily Express

Patrick Bishop wisely concentrates his splendid narrative on the many ingenious and extremely hazardous British attempts to destroy [the Tirpitz]...Bishop does this tale extraordinary justice...Elegantly written and exhaustively researched, Target Tirpitz is a fitting memorial to all those who perished in this relatively unknown chapter of naval warfare. Daily Telegraph

The story of the successive British efforts to destroy (the Tirpitz) is remarkable indeed, and Bishop deploys all his splendid narrative gifts to do it justice Sunday Times

--Sunday Times

Présentation de l'éditeur :

Target Tirpitz is gripping WW2 storytelling at its best and a return to the RAF territory of Patrick Bishop s bestselling Bomber Boys and Fighter Boys.

The Tirpitz, Hitler s greatest weapon, was reputed to be unsinkable and the battleship inflamed an Allied obsession: to destroy her at any cost.

More than thirty daring operations were launched against the 52,000 ton monster. Royal Navy midget submarines carried out an attack of extraordinary skill and courage against her when she lay deep in a Norwegian fjord in an operation that won VCs for two participants.

No permanent damage was done and the Fleet Air Arm was forced to launch full scale attacks through the summer of 1944 to try and finish her off. But still the Tirpitz remained a significant threat to Allied operations.

It was not until November 1944 that a brilliant operation by RAF Lancaster Bombers, under the command of one of Britain's greatest but least-known war heroes finally killed off Hitler s last battleship.

Full of colour, insight and drama, Target Tirpitz is an unputdownable account of one of the great epics of the Second World War.

Les informations fournies dans la section « A propos du livre » peuvent faire référence à une autre édition de ce titre.

EUR 11,66

Autre devise

Frais de port : Gratuit
De Royaume-Uni vers Etats-Unis

Destinations, frais et délais

Ajouter au panier

Autres éditions populaires du même titre

9780007319237: Target Tirpitz: X-Craft, Agents and Dambusters - the Epic Quest to Destroy Hitler's Mightiest Warship

Edition présentée

ISBN 10 :  0007319231 ISBN 13 :  9780007319237
Editeur : HarperPress, 2012
Couverture rigide

9780007431199: Target Tirpitz: X-Craft, Agents and Dambusters - the Epic Quest to Destroy Hitler's Mightiest Warship

Harper..., 2012
Couverture souple

9780007460014: Target Tirpitz: The Epic Quest to Sink Hitler's Last Battleship

Harper..., 2012
Couverture souple

Meilleurs résultats de recherche sur AbeBooks

1.

Patrick Bishop
Edité par HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2012)
ISBN 10 : 000731924X ISBN 13 : 9780007319244
Neuf Paperback Quantité disponible : 10
Vendeur
The Book Depository
(London, Royaume-Uni)
Evaluation vendeur

Description du livre HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2012. Paperback. Etat : New. Language: English. Brand new Book. A gripping account of the epic hunt for Hitler's most terrifying battleship - the legendary Tirpitz - and the brave men who risked their lives to attack and destroy this most potent symbol of the Nazi's fearsome war machine. Tirpitz was the pride of Hitler's navy. To Churchill, she was 'the Beast', a menace to Britain's supply lines and a threat to the convoys sustaining Stalin's armies. Tirpitz was said to be unsinkable, impregnable -no other target attracted so much attention. In total 36 major Allied operations were launched against her, including desperately risky missions by human torpedoes and midget submarines and near-suicidal bombing raids. Yet Tirpitz stayed afloat. It was not until November 1944 that she was finally destroyed by RAF Lancaster Bombers flown by 617 Squadron - the Dambusters - in a gruelling mission that tested the very limits of human endurance. The man who led the raid - Willie Tait - was one of the most remarkable figures of the war, flying missions almost continuously right from the start. Until now his deeds have been virtually unknown. With exclusive co-operation from Tait's family, Patrick Bishop reveals the extraordinary achievement of a man who shunned the spotlight but whose name will be renowned for generations to come. The book is a magnificent, accessibly written wartime adventure, perfect for fans of Ben Macintyre's 'Agent Zigzag' or 'Operation Mincemeat'. N° de réf. du vendeur AA89780007319244

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Contacter le vendeur

Acheter neuf
EUR 11,66
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
De Royaume-Uni vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

2.

Patrick Bishop
Edité par HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2012)
ISBN 10 : 000731924X ISBN 13 : 9780007319244
Neuf Paperback Quantité disponible : 10
Vendeur
Book Depository International
(London, Royaume-Uni)
Evaluation vendeur

Description du livre HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2012. Paperback. Etat : New. Language: English. Brand new Book. A gripping account of the epic hunt for Hitler's most terrifying battleship - the legendary Tirpitz - and the brave men who risked their lives to attack and destroy this most potent symbol of the Nazi's fearsome war machine. Tirpitz was the pride of Hitler's navy. To Churchill, she was 'the Beast', a menace to Britain's supply lines and a threat to the convoys sustaining Stalin's armies. Tirpitz was said to be unsinkable, impregnable -no other target attracted so much attention. In total 36 major Allied operations were launched against her, including desperately risky missions by human torpedoes and midget submarines and near-suicidal bombing raids. Yet Tirpitz stayed afloat. It was not until November 1944 that she was finally destroyed by RAF Lancaster Bombers flown by 617 Squadron - the Dambusters - in a gruelling mission that tested the very limits of human endurance. The man who led the raid - Willie Tait - was one of the most remarkable figures of the war, flying missions almost continuously right from the start. Until now his deeds have been virtually unknown. With exclusive co-operation from Tait's family, Patrick Bishop reveals the extraordinary achievement of a man who shunned the spotlight but whose name will be renowned for generations to come. The book is a magnificent, accessibly written wartime adventure, perfect for fans of Ben Macintyre's 'Agent Zigzag' or 'Operation Mincemeat'. N° de réf. du vendeur AA89780007319244

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Contacter le vendeur

Acheter neuf
EUR 25,08
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
De Royaume-Uni vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

3.

Patrick Bishop
Edité par HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN 10 : 000731924X ISBN 13 : 9780007319244
Neuf Paperback / softback Quantité disponible : 1
Vendeur
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, Royaume-Uni)
Evaluation vendeur

Description du livre HarperCollins Publishers. Paperback / softback. Etat : New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. N° de réf. du vendeur B9780007319244

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Contacter le vendeur

Acheter neuf
EUR 13,36
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : EUR 13,42
De Royaume-Uni vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais