Coming Home to Eat

Nabhan, Gary Paul

Edité par W. W. Norton & Company, 2002
ISBN 10: 0393020177 / ISBN 13: 9780393020175
Ancien(s) ou d'occasion / Hardcover / Quantité : 0
Disponible auprès d'autres vendeurs
Afficher tous les  exemplaires de ce livre

Au sujet du livre

Ce livre n'est malheureusement plus disponible. AbeBooks dispose cependant de millions de livres. Ci-dessous, nous vous proposons une liste de livres pouvant correspondre à votre recherche.

Description :

First edition first printing. Signed by Author on the title page under his printed name, no inscription. Hardcover with DJ. Condition as new, square tight and crisp book, no edgewear, small name on ffep. DJ as new, no tears no chips no edgewear, Price Not clipped. 8vo, 330 pages. No underlinings no highlights no bent pages. Not a reminder. N° de réf. du libraire

A propos du livre :

Book ratings provided by Goodreads) :
3,67 note moyenne
(563 avis)

Synopsis :

A celebration of food and culture with a social conscience, in the tradition of M. F. K. Fischer and Frances Moore Lappe.

We really are what we eat. Eating close to home is not just a matter of convenience it is an act of deep cultural, emotional, and environmental significance. Gary Nabhan's experience with food permeates his life as a third-generation Lebanese American (with Irish and Lithuanian mixed in), as an avid gardener and subsistence hunter, as an ethnobotanist preserving seed diversity, and as an activist devoted to recovering native food traditions to promote the health of Native Americans in the Southwest. To rediscover what it might mean to "think globally, eat locally," he spent a year trying to eat only foods grown, fished, or caught within two hundred miles of his home with surprising results. In Coming Home to Eat, Nabhan draws these experiences together in a book that is a culmination of his life's work and a vibrant portrait of the essential human relation to the foods that truly nourish us, affirming our bonds to family, community, landscape, and season. 15 b/w illustrations, 1 map

Review: Does it matter where our food comes from? Do we, our communities, and the planet do better if we choose food grown by local sources we trust? Exploring these and other questions of dietary and spiritual subsistence, Gary Paul Nabhan's Coming Home to Eat presents a compelling case for eating from our "foodshed."

Nabhan, a subsistence hunter, ethnobiologist, and activist devoted to recovering lost food traditions, gave himself a task: to spend a year trying to eat foods grown, fished, or gathered within 250 miles of his Arizona home. His book, both personal document and political screed, details this experiment from the moment Nabhan purges his kitchen of canned and other processed foods ("If this year could resolve anything for me, perhaps it would rid me of the desire to ever again buy any packaged food that boasted of its homemade flavor....") to a final food-gathering pilgrimage. That journey underscores Nabhan's conviction that we have too easily believed "the vacuous nutritional promises of the industrialized food that has sold our health down the river." In fact, the book encompasses an ongoing pilgrimage, during which Nabhan explores, for example, the near loss of saguaro cactus fruit as a dietary staple due to saguaro's use for "local color" in shopping malls, golf courses, and retirement centers. Readers, converted, skeptical, or just curious, will find Nabhan's book a source of many simple and stirring truths. "Until we stop craving to be somewhere else and someone else other than the animals whose very cells are constituted from the place on earth we love the most," he writes, "then there is little reason to care about the fate of native foods, family farms, or healthy landscapes and communities." But care we must, as the book shows so enlighteningly. --Arthur Boehm

Les informations fournies dans la section « A propos du livre » peuvent faire référence à une autre édition de ce titre.

Détails bibliographiques

Titre : Coming Home to Eat
Éditeur : W. W. Norton & Company
Date d'édition : 2002
Reliure : Hardcover
Etat du livre : As New
Edition : 1st Edition

Meilleurs résultats de recherche sur AbeBooks

1.

Gary Paul Nabhan
Edité par W. W. Norton & Company (2002)
ISBN 10 : 0393020177 ISBN 13 : 9780393020175
Ancien(s) ou d'occasion Edition originale Quantité : 1
Vendeur
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre W. W. Norton & Company, 2002. État : Good. 1st. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. N° de réf. du libraire GRP2477838

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter D'occasion
EUR 3,04
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

2.

Gary Paul Nabhan
Edité par W. W. Norton & Company (2002)
ISBN 10 : 0393020177 ISBN 13 : 9780393020175
Ancien(s) ou d'occasion Edition originale Quantité : 1
Vendeur
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre W. W. Norton & Company, 2002. État : Very Good. 1st. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. N° de réf. du libraire GRP11751971

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter D'occasion
EUR 3,04
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

3.

Gary Paul Nabhan
Edité par W. W. Norton & Company (2002)
ISBN 10 : 0393020177 ISBN 13 : 9780393020175
Ancien(s) ou d'occasion Edition originale Quantité : 1
Vendeur
Better World Books: West
(Reno, NV, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre W. W. Norton & Company, 2002. État : Good. 1st. Ships from Reno, NV. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. N° de réf. du libraire GRP91927155

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter D'occasion
EUR 3,18
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

4.

Gary Paul Nabhan Ph.D.
Edité par W. W. Norton & Company
ISBN 10 : 0393020177 ISBN 13 : 9780393020175
Ancien(s) ou d'occasion Couverture rigide Quantité : 1
Vendeur
OwlsBooks
(Toledo, MD, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre W. W. Norton & Company. Hardcover. État : GOOD. Spine creases, wear to binding and pages from reading. May contain limited notes, underlining or highlighting that does affect the text. Possible ex library copy, that’ll have the markings and stickers associated from the library. Accessories such as CD, codes, toys, may not be included. N° de réf. du libraire 2666792990

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter D'occasion
EUR 3,19
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

5.

Gary Paul Nabhan Ph.D.
Edité par W. W. Norton & Company
ISBN 10 : 0393020177 ISBN 13 : 9780393020175
Ancien(s) ou d'occasion Couverture rigide Quantité : 1
Vendeur
Hippo Books
(Toledo, OH, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre W. W. Norton & Company. Hardcover. État : GOOD. Spine creases, wear to binding and pages from reading. May contain limited notes, underlining or highlighting that does affect the text. Possible ex library copy, that’ll have the markings and stickers associated from the library. Accessories such as CD, codes, toys, may not be included. N° de réf. du libraire 2832980099

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter D'occasion
EUR 3,19
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

6.

Gary Paul Nabhan
Edité par Norton & Company, Incorporated, W. W.
ISBN 10 : 0393020177 ISBN 13 : 9780393020175
Ancien(s) ou d'occasion Couverture rigide Quantité : 1
Vendeur
ThriftBooks - Yankee Clipper
(Windsor Locks, CT, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Norton & Company, Incorporated, W. W. Hardcover. État : Fair. N° de réf. du libraire G0393020177I5N00

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter D'occasion
EUR 3,40
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

7.

Gary Paul Nabhan
Edité par Norton & Company, Incorporated, W. W.
ISBN 10 : 0393020177 ISBN 13 : 9780393020175
Ancien(s) ou d'occasion Couverture rigide Quantité : 1
Vendeur
ThriftBooks - Silver Arch
(St Louis, MO, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Norton & Company, Incorporated, W. W. Hardcover. État : Good. Book has a small amount of wear visible on the binding, cover, pages. N° de réf. du libraire G0393020177I3N00

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter D'occasion
EUR 3,40
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

8.

Gary Paul Nabhan
Edité par Norton & Company, Incorporated, W. W.
ISBN 10 : 0393020177 ISBN 13 : 9780393020175
Ancien(s) ou d'occasion Couverture rigide Quantité : 1
Vendeur
ThriftBooks - Squared
(Dallas, TX, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Norton & Company, Incorporated, W. W. Hardcover. État : Good. Only lightly used. Book has minimal wear to cover and binding. A few pages may have small creases and minimal underlining. N° de réf. du libraire G0393020177I3N00

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter D'occasion
EUR 3,40
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

9.

Gary Paul Nabhan
Edité par Norton & Company, Incorporated, W. W.
ISBN 10 : 0393020177 ISBN 13 : 9780393020175
Ancien(s) ou d'occasion Couverture rigide Quantité : 1
Vendeur
ThriftBooks - Atlanta Book Co.
(Atlanta, GA, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Norton & Company, Incorporated, W. W. Hardcover. État : Fair. N° de réf. du libraire G0393020177I5N00

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter D'occasion
EUR 3,40
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

10.

Gary Paul Nabhan
Edité par Norton & Company, Incorporated, W. W.
ISBN 10 : 0393020177 ISBN 13 : 9780393020175
Ancien(s) ou d'occasion Couverture rigide Quantité : 1
Vendeur
ThriftBooks
(Auburn, WA, Etats-Unis)
Evaluation vendeur
[?]

Description du livre Norton & Company, Incorporated, W. W. Hardcover. État : Very Good. Book has appearance of light use with no easily noticeable wear. N° de réf. du libraire G0393020177I4N00

Plus d'informations sur ce vendeur | Poser une question au libraire

Acheter D'occasion
EUR 3,40
Autre devise

Ajouter au panier

Frais de port : Gratuit
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

28 autres exemplaires de ce livre sont disponibles

Afficher tous les résultats pour ce livre