Image de l'éditeur

Speak of the Devil

Leotta, Allison

Edité par New York: Simon & Schuster, 2013
ISBN 10: 145164485X / ISBN 13: 9781451644852
Ancien(s) ou d'occasion / Hard Cover / Quantité : 1
Vendeur J. Jay Johnson, Bookseller (Great Falls, VA, Etats-Unis)
Disponible auprès d'autres vendeurs
Afficher tous les  exemplaires de ce livre
Ajouter au panier
Prix: EUR 32,58
Autre devise
Livraison : EUR 3,21
Vers Etats-Unis
Destinations, frais et délais

Mettre de côté

Au sujet du livre

Détails bibliographiques

Titre : Speak of the Devil

Éditeur : New York: Simon & Schuster

Date d'édition : 2013

Reliure : Hard Cover

Etat du livre : As New

Etat de la jaquette : As New

Signé : Signed by Author

Edition : First Edition, First Printing.

Description :

Signed by the author on the title page, not on a tipped-in sheet or bookplate. No inscriptions, personalizations, or remainder marks. N° de réf. du libraire 8236

A propos du livre :

Book ratings provided by GoodReads) :
3,96 note moyenne
(732 avis)

Synopsis : For readers of Kathy Reichs, Lisa Scottoline, Patricia Cornwell, and Lisa Gardner, a new thriller by former federal sex-crimes prosecutor Allison Leotta.


On the very night she gets engaged to the man she loves, sex-crimes prosecutor Anna Curtis?s professional life takes a shocking turn that threatens everything she holds dear.

While Anna is enjoying a romantic dinner capped off by a marriage proposal, a few miles away two separate groups are gearing up to raid a brothel. A vicious killer known as Diablo?the Devil?leads one group. A few minutes later, Anna?s own investigative team heads in to search the brothel, as part of the fight against human trafficking in D.C. Both groups are caught off guard, with deadly results.

As Anna investigates the bloody face-off, the boundaries between her work and home life begin to blur. Though eager to focus on her new fiancé, the chief homicide prosecutor Jack Bailey, and her soon-to-be stepdaughter, Olivia, this case and the search for Diablo are never far from her mind.

When Anna discovers a web of long-buried secrets and official lies leading straight to her doorstep, the truth about this case threatens to rob her of the happiness she seemed so close to securing. And everything Anna counted on becomes a question mark as Diablo moves in for yet another kill.

Allison Leotta draws on her experience as a D.C. sex-crimes prosecutor to take readers into the back rooms of the U.S. Attorney?s Office, the hidden world of the Witness Protection Program, and the secret rituals of one of America?s most dangerous gangs. Universally praised by bestselling authors from Catherine Coulter and George Pelecanos to Lisa Scottoline and David Baldacci, Leotta weaves fact and fiction to create her best novel yet.


Guest Review of Speak of the Devil

By Catherine Coulter

Catherine Coulter is the author of the New York Times best-selling FBI thrillers The Cove, The Maze, The Target, The Edge, Riptide, Hemlock Bay, Eleventh Hour, Blindside, Blowout, Point Blank, Double Take, Tailspin, Knockout, Whiplash, Split Second, Backfire, and Bombshell. She lives in Northern California.

If you relish hard-hitting, take-no-prisoner cops and a sharp committed prosecutor who doesn?t hesitate to face down evil, Speak of the Devil by Allison Leotta is for you. The Devil (Diablo) is the big kahuna in the MS-13 gang in Washington, D.C. Leotta paints him with terrifying clarity. He?s cruel, malevolent, power-mad, and you see him, feel him, and know that to him brutality and torture are the pleasures of his life.

Leotta handles the infamous MS-13 gang in an unexpected way. Rather than keeping them faceless, showing only their cruelty and violence, she takes the reader inside to see the ?home boys??most of the gang members are teenagers. It's chilling and deftly done.

As if prosecutor Anna Curtis doesn't have enough on her plate, she's also engaged to a man whose cop wife was ?greenlighted? (a sanctioned hit) by the MS-13, and murdered some years before. He is also her boss in the U.S. Attorney's Office. Anna is up to her eyebrows dealing with the gang. I'll tell you, as you watch both Diablo and one of his minions, ?Psycho,? in action, you really want Anna to bring them down.

As for the USAO?the undercurrents, the clashing personalities, the rivalries, all are painted with understanding and honesty by a talented writer who was herself in the middle of the fray for a number of years. She expertly lays out how and why the legal system works in the USAO in Washington, D.C. You see all the tangles, the losses, the triumphs of a group of people who just don't stop.

What I liked particularly were Leotta?s evocative descriptions of the courtrooms, the endless procedures, the waiting?the interminable waiting?and the calm, almost deadening efficiency of the judges.

When I finished Speak of the Devil I knew I'd learned and enjoyed and was pleased to have read such an excellent book.

Les informations fournies dans la section « A propos du livre » peuvent faire référence à une autre édition de ce titre.

Librairie et conditions de vente

Modes de paiement

Le libraire accepte les modes de paiement suivants :

  • American Express
  • Carte Bleue
  • Chèque
  • En espèce
  • EuroCard/MasterCard
  • Mandat postal
  • PayPal
  • Visa

[Chercher dans le catalogue du libraire]

[Afficher le catalogue du vendeur]

[Poser une question au libraire]

Libraire : J. Jay Johnson, Bookseller
Adresse : Great Falls, VA, Etats-Unis

Vendeur AbeBooks depuis : 15 février 1998
Evaluation du vendeur : Evaluation 2 étoiles

Conditions de vente :

All dustcovers are protected with removable mylar sleeves. Payment by personal check, money order, or cashier's check. Can also accept credit card payment via the ABE.COMmerce program and via Satisfaction guaranteed - all books returnable within 10 days if unsatisfied.

Conditions de livraison :

Orders usually ship within 2 business days.

Description de la librairie : J. Jay Johnson is a collector and dealer specializing in signed first editions, with a focus on genre fiction: mysteries, science fiction, fantasy. Want lists are welcomed.